Vanity Fair

Thank you for rating this movie!

Vanity Fair Movie Poster

4.17 / 5

User rating: 4.17

Based on 46101 votes and 56 reviews


  • User rating: 4.17 77.77%
  • User rating: 4.17 0.97%
  • User rating: 4.17 0.08%
  • User rating: 4.17 2.91%
  • User rating: 4.17 18.28%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 56

User review rating: 0 April 24, 2006

I think it was very good. I think Jonathan Myers is hot.

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2006

Gabriel Byrne did a terrific job with his role in the movie! "Bravo!"

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2006

Exellent! Reeze and James are perfect!

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2006

good!!!

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2005

it was marvolus and interresting

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2005

excellent except some parts were awkward.

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2005

The story in general was ... oh, so boring. Acting was just fine, costumes - beautiful, story? dull, dull, dull.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2005

Fantastic story great acting and a sort of poignant yet happy kind of a movie , reese was fantastic as she made you hate her yet feel pity for her lonely life.

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2005

Excellent, the writing alone is wrth the view but the sets, acting and shear brilliance of the ending is outstanding.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2005

My review will be somewhere in-between those who think it oscar worthy and those who simply disliked it. I enjoyed the movie simply because I enjoy "period pieces". I have not read the book so I cannot compare it to that. I believe the movie accomplished what it set out to do which is to tell the story of Becky Sharp`s use of her wit and beauty to rise to the top of London society and the price she paid to do just that. Whether the "belly dance" scene did or did not add to the movie, I did not like it. I found it distracting from the story except to point out what lengths Becky would go to, to be the center of attention. She was s

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2005

Very very good, well made decription of the book.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2005

It was all I could do to make myself sit through it to the end. I found it trite and boring...

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2004

A good movie for those who like period pieces. It had beauitful sets, costumes and actors. Resse was very good and she looked amazing in each scene.

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2004

These comments are absolutely unfounded. "This is an excellent movie for anyone interested in English history and literature." Are you kidding?? I adore English lit and this novel does NOT do Thackerey`s novel justice. Characters were not developped and what the HELL was with that belly dancing sequence?

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2004

I had no idea what was going on through the entire movie. It was all over the place and seemed to lack certain explainations.

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2004

This is an excellent movie for anyone interested in English history and literature. Women will find the story of Becky Sharp fascinating, most men may find it boring. Talented Reese Witherspoon is perfect for this character and unbelievably beautiful with those huge eyes. The story kept me glued to my seat for 150 minutes. Ladies, go see this movie, but leave your husbands at home!

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2004

Wonderful sets, costumes and acting!

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2004

The direction was lacking. Reese and Romolai, and basically all the acting was great, but things were left unexplained and characters did things that left you saying, "Whaaaatttt?" I really wanted to like it, and I enjoyed aspects of it, but overall, I was disappointed.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2004

This was an excellent film. Which people of affluent knowledge would appreciate.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2004

Boring and Reese Witherspoons character was horrible. I don`t recommand this movie to anyone!

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

James Purefoy is HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even though he is 25 years older than me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2004

VANITY FAIR WAS A TOTALLY AMAAAAAZING MOVIE!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!! Reese Witherspoon is a truly fabulously talented actress and should get an Oscar nod for her performance! Romola Garai and Reese were beautiful an this film, the acting was great, and George and his son are SOOO HOT!! This is a terrific mix of romance, drama, humour, and history!! A FANTABULOUS MOVIE! 10/10 :) **********

User review rating: 0 September 14, 2004

The Belly Dancing was a refrence to all the Harem and indian refrences that are in every chapter of the book. Since, the British at this time had power over India, and some parts of the middle east, they would know plenty. So having the dance in the movie was perfect.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2004

"I really enjoyed this movie. I felt that Reese Witherspoon played the character in a way that - refreshingly - did not make her so much evil and conniving as bright, attractive, and compelling. It was less a morality tale than a fun, long journey over the ups and downs of comeone`s life. It also made me proud to be an American. In this country, a woman with her background who made it would be esteemed and honored. Eventually her bio would be shown on t.v. Dear God, I`m glad I was born HERE!"

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2004

Wow what a sleeper

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2004

Costumes, acting and scenery outstanding

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2004

Overall, Vanity Fair was a delightful movie. There was, however, one truly horrific sceen involving "belly dancers." Why would someone use a modern Arabic pop song for a movie set in the early 19th century? I don`t even mind that the dance was poorly choreographed since chances are the English wouldn`t have a clue at that time about dance in the Middle East. I laughed histerically at the surealism of it for a long time. To end on a good not though it was a very visually stimulating film. The storyline was quite good as well although a little predictable at times. I would recommend this movie but if your not a huge fan of period films it m

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2004

Great story, beautiful cinematography and brilliant acting.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2004

It was pretty good, other than that fact the the sense of time was a little meesed up... "Didn`t follow the whole what year is it now?" thing... But other than that I liked it alot.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2004

It was one of the most disjoined movies I have ever seen. First of all you couldn`t hear Reese because of the thunderous background music. The story was so mixed up, it almost seemed like parts were cut to make to story shorter - which by the way was too long to begin with. The men in thos costumes all looked alike. Her husband was the only one we felt did a good job. As a movie lover- this one-awful. How could they give it 3 1/2 stars - A real loser.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2004

Brilliant film. Excellent acting. All of those who say it was bad, say it because they can`t appreciate intellectual cinema. This was a wonderful movie and it should win awards.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2004

A spectacular piece of film art that does justice to a great story....Reese witherspoon was truly Becky Sharp....Good Job... I think it`s time the academy seriously look at reese has a a great actress that can only get better.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2004

An absolute waste of time... Don`t bother to spend the money. I enjoy period pieces, yet this was absolutely horrible. Half the time I didn`t know what the heck was going on and when it did make sense, the scenes seemed to drag on forever... The only use for this movie would be as torture device.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2004

borrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnng!!

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2004

My girlfriend and I watched this movie and quite honestly I cannot even tell you what it was about. There was no prelude into anything. In some scenes, I didn`t even understand their purpose. Be your own judge but BEWARE.

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2004

VANITY FAIR IS OSCAR WORTHY. FUNNY,ROMANTIC,AND DRAMATIC AT THE SAME TIME!

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2004

Loved the movie. It was awesome.

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2004

Stupidist piece of junk this year! The genre is Comedy? It should have been "sleep".

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2004

Loved it! Second time watching and its even better. Go watch the film! Its really good.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2004

Excellent film. Truly inspiring. A great watch!

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2004

It was a good movie, great acting, and the plot was not all over the place, it made sense. I liked it. Reese give an award winning performance. Yeah the dances were so cooooool.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2004

OK movie...could`ve been better. Didn`t have much of a plot, everything in the movie just `happened`. Must say though that her husband in the movie was HOT!

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2004

Reece Witherspoon is from the Southern United States but should be an honourary Canadian.

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2004

Amazing visuals and great acting, I love the indian influence

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2004

Fabulous! This was great. I recomend it to anyone.

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2004

I love Reese

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2004

I loved the movie. The hall was packed and everyone clapped at the end of film. If you cannot understand what actual cinema is, then you`re not worthy of understanding the medium of film and acting. Whoever wants to understand real cinema watch the film!

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2004

I loved it! Its so beautiful.

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2004

Outstanding production values. Great Script. Excellent performences. Everyone should get an award!

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2004

Need more theaters to run Vanity Fair, everyone should see it.

Change Location