The X-Files: I Want To Believe

Thank you for rating this movie!

The X-Files: I Want To Believe Movie Poster

3.74 / 5

User rating: 3.74

Based on 655 votes and 59 reviews


  • User rating: 3.74 50.79%
  • User rating: 3.74 12.70%
  • User rating: 3.74 10.58%
  • User rating: 3.74 11.11%
  • User rating: 3.74 14.81%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 59

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2009

Gillian and David do what they do best.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2009

simply spectacular

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2009

Not like any other X-File but it still enjoyable

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2008

The best X-FILES movie since the first one.

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2008

Bravo This Film Was Great

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2008

This Film Is Number 2 On My Top Summer Flicks.Behind The Dark Knight But Before Get Smart.This Film Deserves To Be Nominated For A Couple Of Oscars

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2008

i am such a huge X-Files fan. when i saw the X-Files i was so happy. i really love Mulder-Scully scenes together. Gillian and David do such a great job. they have such great chemestry together. i love the bedroom scene more please. i finally get to see them share such a passionate kiss. i was looking forward to the kiss between Gillian and David. they are so perfect together and they get along so great. they should make another movie and have Gillian and David in it. i was hoping that we would see Mulder and Scully fight to get their son, William, back. but having them live together is great. now we need Mulder to tell her he loves her just like how she told him that she loves him. i rate th

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2008

Funny and heartwarming.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2008

Awful!!

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2008

They should have shortened the title to I Want to Leave. :(

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2008

WHAT??? NO ALIENS??? I always hated the episodes that veered away from the alien/government conspiracy cover-up theme, like the ones with Charles Nelson Reilly, the Ed Asner/Lily Tomlin haunted house, the elephant man Cher fan, Burt Reynolds in Vegas, "X-COPS, etc. Although somewhat entertaining it wasn't what I was looking for.

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2008

This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life! :) It is a must see by all.

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2008

A big let down.

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2008

OK, but it's lost the original "zip" of the series and other movie. Can't highly recommend it, but better than any B-grade movie.

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2008

While I was disappointed that the story itself wasn't as good as in the previous movie or even as good as any stand-alone episode of the series, I was practically jumping out of my seat at every scene with Mulder and Scully in it. These two are simply fantastic together, the acting is superb on Gillan Anderson's part, and as a hardcore x-phile, I got more Mulder-Scully loving (which I was so desperately rooting for in the past) than I did in the whole 10 years of the show!

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2008

As a hard core XFile fan i am disappointed. While it was compelling as a clever horror movie, it truly did not deliver that 'X' factor. It was basically just an extended [low budget] tv episode, unlike the last x movie... nice to see Mulder and Scully again but really worth only 2 stars.../m

User review rating: 0 August 05, 2008

To those who have posted reviews claiming this film 'ruined' the series, all I can say is look again. I Want To Believe is a film that requires a brain. It requires you to accept a slow-paced, horrific reveal of circumstances that only Mulder and Scully could truly tackle. The dialogue is good, especially if you are already skilled in M&S' style of non-verbal communication. Don't get me wrong, you dont need to have seen the show to get this - all you need is a brain. For fans, there are little kernels and 'shout-outs' throughout the entire film; secondary character actors were all people who had appeared, at one time or another, on the show. Even Chris Carter himself can be briefly

User review rating: 0 August 05, 2008

Folks may be inclined to ignore or not bother with this film - those are the folks who are missing out. Here is a great, paced, slow-revealing film that incorporates lore, science and relationships in a blend that only the X-Files ever truly honed. And excellent offering and I hope there will be more! Go see!

User review rating: 0 August 03, 2008

A really nice touch at the end, near the end of the credits. This is Carter's swan song, and while not on par with some of his best, it nevertheless satisfies. Go see it.

User review rating: 0 August 03, 2008

Dissapointin, what happened to true sci-fi series ? I waited throughout the whole movie for something to unfold but nothing happened, it was just another boring movie.Not even close to the series or first movie. Not a movie for true sci-fi fans...

User review rating: 0 August 02, 2008

As a huge Mulder-Scully shipper, this movie was what I've been waiting to see for years. In terms of their relationship, nothing is implied anymore, you get to see them interact as lovers and friends and the whole spectrum in between. This alone is worth seeing. I agree with a lot of the reviews on here. Besides the whole Mulder/Scully thing there's not much to like about the movie. The storyline is very dull, Scully is a little too whiny at times, and the movie pales in comparison to the first one. I can say one thing though, Scully looks goddamn hot!

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2008

Saw the movie. Lots of snow in it. Cars crashing in snow. Cars driving in snow. People poking snow with snow-canes while walking in the snow. Lots and lots of snow. Makes you think global warming is a conspiracy. Perhaps the movie should be called:"X Files: The Snow Is Out There." Go and see it, its a sleeper.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2008

Nice to see them going back to the way that the X-Files used to be like. Good job!

User review rating: 0 July 31, 2008

I cannot figure out why this movie is called x-files.. other than the same actors it has nothing to do with x-files... terrible... very slow.. not interesting or entertaining at all..

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2008

The X files was a great show!! Seeing Mulder and scully again was awsome. I personally expected ufo's and aliens but still, with there shows you never know what you're gonna get so be suprised. oh ya, and for the people who were dissapointed with the movie that had higher expectations.....you guys suck!!

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2008

Great movie! Thrilling with great characters! Finally a summer movie that requires a brain!

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2008

The story dragged on and I found Dana just a bit too whinny!

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2008

Great movie and not just one for fans!! Suspensful - and not a little disturbing- everyone will enjoy how both the plot and the relationship between Mulder's and Scully's unfolds to an interesting and satisifing end.

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

If this had been a two hour movie special on TV I would have been very happy... but to await a hopeful blockbuster film with the name X-files attached to it, I was looking forward too so much more. Acting great, great to see Mulder and Scully together again - but the story line was just like one of the series episodes which have now been replaced with the likes of CSI and Criminal Minds. For X-Files to continue in the movie business (and I hope to see a third and fourth...) - I want aliens, flying saucers, theories of life outside of earth, etc. I want what X-files does best - sci-fi! Crossing my fingers for next time!

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

I am content. The dialogue was everything I was expecting, the UST between Mulder and Scully was wonderful, the UST between Mulder and Skinner even more so, and I thought it totally made sense with where the characters are today. Plus, creepy Russians and did you know the plot is based loosely on true facts? Yikes. I'm going again!

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

I introduced my girlfriend to the 9 seasons of X-Files and the first movie and she became a great fan of this series. As a huge fan of this series myself I was disappointed as was my girlfriend. It was not meant as a movie, but as an hour episode and not one of the best ones either. It started out great, but left you hanging and wondering what happened to the plot. It was amazing seeing Scully and Mulder back together again and leaving Skinner till the end; although a great surprise should have appearing earlier. After 6 years of waiting this movie doesn't compare to the first, but then again with both of them out of the FBI and the X-Files closed it would be hard to come up with a sustainab

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

Disappointing, but still a quality X-Files 'episode'. Not nearly as explosive and impressive as original film (1998).

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

This movie does not represent the show I watched 6 years ago. What the hell happened? Even the worst episodes of the series were better then this bore fest. It had some good ideas, like the frankenstein doctor, but didn't play them out. This could have been a great monster of the week movie. The Acting was fine, but the script needed some heavy work.

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

Very different from the first movie. Old fashion style thriller. Good story, good acting from the supporting characters. Great Look. But Skinner not till the end? Oh come on... he deserves more than that! Anxious to see what a thrid movie will look like

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

Moive was well done, it could have use a little more spook or scary seens, but then again that could have made it cheesy. It altogether was good, acting was excellent! loved seeing mulder/scully together again. Had a good story & wasnt over done. Hopefully there will be a third!!!! fingers are crosssed.

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

worse movie

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

horrible

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2008

Lame

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2008

First of all being an x- files fan I new before hand what I was going to expect. Firstly, THE FILM DOES NOT DEAL WITH ALIENS, if you are a die hard x files fan than you would know what the story is about. The story is about believing again in the unknown, which is explored in the film. Overall, great acting from David and Gillian, the script could have been tweaked a bit in some parts and could have been longer. P.S. leaving Mitch till the end of the film was just horrible. If they do make a third one I pray that it deals with the aliens.3/5

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2008

disgrace to the series

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2008

long extended episode keeps you interested story was good but could have been direct to dvd. best thing was how terribly sexy gillian anderson still looks. N.D

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2008

I consider myself I pretty die-hard fan of the X-Files and found myself very let down by this movie. "Fight the Future" was much better. I think the story was good for an hour episode on TV, but for a movie I anticipated a larger plot/conspiracy to unfold. It seemed different with them not in the FBI anymore and I thought it was silly to through in Skinner right at the end of the movie! Poor Mitch! I still loved though seeing Mulder/Scully on the screen again...just wish the overall movie was more interesting. If there is a 3rd movie (as rumoured for 2012)I hope it's all about the alien colonization/black oil story because that would be awesome!

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2008

Any fan of X-Files would certainly appreciate this movie. I did leave the theater wanting more.

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

Ok, like a two hour x-files show. Same script, same aura. It was ok.

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

ruined the series... 1st half wasn't that bad, kind of got you into the mood and the story... towards the middle to end it started to get sooo terrible. mushy love story. this is why you don't EVER bring two main, popular characters together like that on screen. ruins the whole movie. blah

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

It was an OK X-Files episode. Not worthy of a movie, but still great for X-Files fans. I think they made a mistake by not making a movie based on the Alien story line, but hopefully they will make one of those soon enough!

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

ZZZZZZZZZZ......

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

In the tradition of the X-Files, this movie has a lot of suprising twists and turns; some that make you squrim. It also examines the unique relationship between Mulder and Scully which I really liked seeing.The true X-Files fan knows that the series was just not about aliens and monsters, but it examines the secrets that we all have. This film dives right into the shades of grey that is ever present with life. It is not for the new or inexperanced, but the seasoned fan who knows the nature of the chracters and the series.

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

I'm a huge X-Files fan and this movie was crap!! I truely expected more from Chris Carter!!

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

Considering the amount of time all us die-hard X-File fans had to wait, this movie was a let down. It was as if I were back in my living room watching a long-drawn episode 10 years ago - although, it would have been a good episode, it did not make a good movie. Not what we expected at all, taking the finale of the series and the first movie. Still love the Mulder and Scully, though :)

Change Location