The Wrestler

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.09 / 5

User rating: 4.09

Based on 602 votes and 52 reviews


  • User rating: 4.09 61.87%
  • User rating: 4.09 15.11%
  • User rating: 4.09 5.76%
  • User rating: 4.09 5.04%
  • User rating: 4.09 12.23%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 52

User review rating: 1 March 29, 2010

boring as hell! terrible waste of time.

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2009

i thought it was very good it showed the troubles wrestlers nearing retirement have adjusting to real life

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2009

Within the top movies of all time, in the top 5 of mine

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2009

Great movie!

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2009

Good movie, incomplete ending leaves you guessing. Had I known I wouldn't have watched it. **'s

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2009

Great movie and a couple of superb performances!!

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2009

Well acted and a great performance by Mickey Rourke.Ms Tomei does a very good job too!

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2009

Difficult to watch the wrestling scenes with him getting injured but overall a really good movie & worth watching. Acting was excellent from everyone.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2009

fantastic acting in a great movie

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2009

The most brilliant movie I've seen in years, excellent portrayal of a broken man trying to make it years after his prime.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2009

This is a brilliant movie, intense fight scenes, profoundly moving story. It draws you in -- if you have a partner you will feel closer watching the film together. Also, it depicts working class culture beautifully.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2009

The Wrestler: a truly amazing film with the spectacular return of Mickey Rourke and the redemption of both Evan Rachael Wood and Marisa Tomei. the direction is amzing and the film itself is just so great. for that it receives 5 stars

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2009

Depressing but great-this could have been Mickey Rourke's alternate life.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!..really stuck with me,realistic,sad,great acting...will remember this movie for a long time......RS

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2009

excellent comeback for Mickey, I used to be his fan during the good old days, no doubt for OSCAR!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2009

I wasnt really expecting much but I was blown away by Rourke's acting and Tomei's performance. One of the best films I have seen in years.

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2009

OSCAR WINNING ROURKE PERFORMANCE,,,, ROCK ON ROURKE

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2009

Best movie I have seen in a long time. Great acting and a heartfelt story, loved it!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2009

Rourke is totally believable as a professional wrestler. He has the right look, build, and voice. An amazing performance. Plot is fairly thin and not at all unique but Rourke steals the show. And Marisa Tomei is also excellent as a stripper with a heart. Not as good as Slumdog but a fine film and I hope Rourke wins the Oscar.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2009

Excelent performances.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2009

Depressing but great!

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2009

Great script and great performances. Rourke and Tomei both deserve Oscars!

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2009

excellent

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2009

best movie ever it has soul and human touch

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2009

Excellent acting and very down-to-earth movie. The actor portrayed the wrestler as an actual human being struggling to make ends meet and faces life's problems like the rest of us. I felt like I was part of the movie, like I was actually there.

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2009

Those that criticize this movie are probably part of the group of society that support wrestling and cheer when people get hit in the face with a metal folding chair. I know its hard for some of you to actually "think" when you go to a movie but give it a try pod people.

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2009

Feeble effort. Terrible acting. No plot.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2009

downright terrific

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2009

If there was a Zero star that would be it...IT WAS BAD...same story line as a gazzilion other movies..washed up actor gets a chance to make it big make amends..Micky is a bad ACTOR the plastic surgery he got makes him more apropiate for horror shows instead of watching his face on a jumbo screen...in all pass on the movie its a yawn.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2009

Fantastic film. It's raw, gritty, and has a documentary style feel to it. The wrestling scenes were raw and violent (as was the aftermath of the matches on Randy the Ram). Mickey Rourke is great in this film and deserves the Oscar nom and if he wins it would be a great comeback. Ya gotta see this film!

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2009

It`s no Rocky but it`s still awesome

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2009

just great

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2009

Mickey Rourke At His Greatest!

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2009

The past 10 or 12 years for the lead actor have apparently been spent living a wasted existence and about 5 of those years were spent actually boxing in the lower level pro's. Mickey Rourke played Mickey Rourke, so in that context it was no great leap for him as an actor. A simple, enjoyable story line. It was well executed and entertaining, but it was no Oscar winner. signed.........GWH

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2009

awesome movie, first time ive been interested enough to see a movie in the theatre in a couple years. look forward to seeing rourke in other upcoming roles.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2009

Stunning character piece. Mickey Rourke and Marisa Tomei are amazing.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed this movie! Mickey Rourke was excellent and I'm so happy to see him making movies again.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2009

the only other actor that could have possibly pulled this role off is Daniel Day Lewis....maybe.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2009

I saw this movie yesterday and I can't stop thinking about it still. Amazing movie. Mickey Rourke deserves the Oscar.

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2009

it was enjoyable, but nothing extraordinary. Rourke is good.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2009

Mickey Rouke still can not act,,,,

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2009

That Marisa Tomei is one hot enchalada!

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2009

It was good but it had a few slow parts which kind of made me bored. Of course that is just me. So, it is a renter in my books. 3/5

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2009

Mickey Rourke IS the movie. He understood the core of the character and never over played it. His honest simplicity and reverence for the character should win him best actor. Marisa Tomei was good also. I did however find the photography of the back of his head annoying.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2009

Rourke gives an incredible performance, is backed up almost too well from Tomei, and the direction is the icing on the cake for soon-to-be classic.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2009

What a great movie. Definitely go watch it. Amazing character development. You get really attached to him.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2009

Amazing movie - up there with Gran Torino, Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and Slumdog amongst the best movies of the year. The subtle acting, and realism make this the best of the bunch.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2009

simply amazing

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2008

it was ok but Mickey aint getting no Oscar

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2008

really hard to watch

Change Location