The Witch

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.82 / 5

User rating: 2.82

Based on 244 votes and 46 reviews


  • User rating: 2.82 32.65%
  • User rating: 2.82 10.20%
  • User rating: 2.82 8.16%
  • User rating: 2.82 4.08%
  • User rating: 2.82 44.90%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 46 of 46

User review rating: 5 July 05, 2016

Fantastic movie - as soon as it was finished, I began looking up the Plymouth Plantation, Calvinism and the director Robert Eggers. Very cool, very creepy, and it sticks with you.

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2016

GREAT MOVIE! I find it interesting that either people loved it or hated it. Has to make you wonder. It ain't a slasher movie or your typical Hollywood movie. But, if you want so see a good movie that creeps you out, then this did it for me.

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2016

Personally, I loved it! You have to have a bit of patience because it's sort of slow and drawn out in some places, and the old english was a bit tough to get used to at first. But it was beautiful and had a genuine 1960's old New England feel to it. The creepy parts were shocking and well worth it. If you're tired of the same old style horror from Hollywood, check this out.

User review rating: 1 May 22, 2016

The worst movie ever!!! A complete waste of my life!!! Literally... That BAD!

User review rating: 1 May 21, 2016

i think i died of boredom watching that garbage

User review rating: 1 May 20, 2016

This movie sucks !!!

User review rating: 4 May 13, 2016

A bit more mystery than horror, but definitely entertaining.

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2016

Worth a watch! Won't be everyone's cup of tea.

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2016

Amazing acting! Interesting premise not overly saturated with fake tricks of typical horror movies

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2016

Totally worth the watch if you're looking for something interesting rather than a cheap thrill ride

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2016

Definitely more for the mind than for the scare

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2016

Totally loved it!!!

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2016

Definitely not your typical horror. You will hate it if you've been programmed by Hollywood with the common slasher horror films. This one is more subtle. It's less about the scare and more about the thought behind it. "The Witch is a movie about the human condition and the effects of isolation on our psyche. It's a thorough examination that, without a doubt, is absolutely petrifying."

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2016

Not good.

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2016

Just DON'T GO. If you won't listen, at least take an air sickness bag with you and have it ready to deploy. This is undoubtedly the worst movie I have seen for many years....

User review rating: 2 March 04, 2016

was not great very confuseing so parts just didn't make sence at all I sure can t see it winning award

User review rating: 1 March 02, 2016

Walked out half way

User review rating: 1 March 02, 2016

Movie was horrible, no life to it. Parts were too dark. Overall waste of time and money, the whole movie can pretty much be sum up in a few sentence.

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2016

This movie was great!!

User review rating: 1 February 28, 2016

Not a very good movie. I was not one bit scared. The ending was pathetic.

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2016

The end credit song is a hymn by Isaac Watts who lived during this era. It is called "Alas and did my Saviour Bleed." A movie depicting a fierce battle between good and evil. The devil's subtlety and craftiness in drawing souls to himself is beyond eerie in this film

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2016

I really enjoyed this film. I didn't have an issue with the accents or the old English, but I'm weird like that. The costumes were impeccable, the acting and the art direction were beautiful. I got progressively tense/scared as the film went on. I enjoyed the story line as the family fell apart/against each other. Truly creepy.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2016

If you notice the reviews, every once and a while someone gives this movie 4 or 5 stars because of the intelligence behind the film. This should tell you something. The vast majority of people will not understand the sinister nature of this movie. If you understand the biblical aspect and puritan times it is set in you will see the brilliance.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2016

Walked out

User review rating: 1 February 25, 2016

This movie was so much a waste of time and money. Very boring.

User review rating: 4 February 24, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this but clearly not everyone in the theatre did, we heard some complaining on the way out. It seems very true to life for the time period they depict. The old English language was hard to decipher at times. Don't expect any cheap big thrills but a slow interesting descent into paranoia for the family to whom bizarre and unexplained events occur.

User review rating: 4 February 24, 2016

Good, scary and great acting! A smart horror movie for smart people. It's about time they came out with non conventional more movie. The bad reviews were made by your typical horror fans that have been dumbed down by popular horror movies. Go see the devil himself.....then decide.

User review rating: 3 February 24, 2016

Just saw it myself. Go see it anyways...it is freely then decide. I liked it.

User review rating: 4 February 23, 2016

So just saw THE WITCH... It's a creepy film. Lots of people hated it when we saw it, but I loved it. Unconventional for sure. I don't think a lot of people understood the complexity of what was unravelling and when the ending happens, it's subtly creepy. Disturbing in the way that hasn't happened to me since first seeing the Blair Witch or the Exorcist. Go see it, it's not your typical horror movie. It's not paranormal activity, it's much quieter, much more detailed. Now I'm just rambling on. If someone had told you it's shitty, go see it anyways. Then discuss it with others after watching.

User review rating: 3 February 23, 2016

I found this movie interesting. The only problem was the dialogue was too difficult to make out and important details were missed. You don't need a whack load of special effects to make a good movie. It had its eerie moments.

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2016

I don't think I've ever been to a movie where people were actually walking out and for those like me who stayed did nothing but bitch on the way out about how stupid it was. Not to mention a complete date killer and also a piss off. DO NOT SEE and I would have done you a service. Like do theatres not watch movies before they screen them? Any idiot would have know it was not landmark or Cineplex worthy!! Is I'm going to second guess every movie they play.

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2016

Way way way to much hype for this movie. I expected a horror film and I got something I could have done in my back yard. Actually... Worse, there will always be those people who vote for the underdog and say it was good but please please please do not pay to see this. 99.99999% of you will be extremely disappointed and wish you would have waited for Netflix or streaming that way you could sh*t it off half an hour in and not be forced to watch this bullshit in order to feel like you got your money's worth!!!

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2016

I was kicking my self for even booking the tickets ahead of time, let alone waste a Friday night. I would rate this movie zero stars but that wasn't an option.

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2016

stupid, not scary, no plot, can't understand. Do not pay to see this sh*t. Every single person in the theatre was pissed and did not have a single good thing to say about it.

User review rating: 1 February 22, 2016

Hands down the worst movie I have ever seen! I actually checked my phone to see what time it was because I was stunned how much time I had wasted on a Friday night. I will say the actors did a great job with what they were given but to call this a disturbing horror film?? Come on now. I can honestly say the blare witch project looked amazing compared to this rubish.

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2016

Boring, no action, hard to understand the language. We left half time, couldn't stand it any longer.

User review rating: 4 February 21, 2016

Well to start off , great performance from the acters , but really hard to understand what they r saying, so half of the time I was lost :( but a unique movie, something difference from what we are used to seeing lol so 4 stars out of 5

User review rating: 4 February 21, 2016

An intelligent movie which intelligent people will enjoy.

User review rating: 1 February 20, 2016

If i could rate it less than 1 star i would. A total waste of money. It was funny how bad it was. The theatre was actually laughing

User review rating: 1 February 20, 2016

Saw the screening of this film. The entire audience was in disbelief about how terrible 'The Witch' was. Do not waste your time & money.

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2016

Brilliant. Oscar worthy performances by all. Don't go in expecting a typical horror movie.

User review rating: 1 February 20, 2016

sad to say this was a waste of a Friday evening

User review rating: 3 February 19, 2016

The Witch is a well-crafted spine tingler with solid acting, especially by female lead Anya Taylor-Joy as a young woman who must move to New England outback with her parents and younger siblings in 1630. This horror movie didn't make the audience scream at the advance screening I went to, but it does provide some chills and tension. And it could prove to be a breakout film for Taylor-Joy, whose performance is awesome.

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2016

This movie is incredible. The acting, cinematography and direction are top notch and the score is phenomenal. The director has paid attention to detail and constructed an incredibly accurate 17th century world which is carefully built up into a terrifying and devastating ending.

User review rating: 1 February 19, 2016

The Witch is extremely disappointing. The build up doesn't amount to much. The dialect is also difficult to understand at times. It also unfortunately doesn't offer many scares past the initial allure.

User review rating: 3 February 11, 2016

My wife and I got advance screening tickets. At first we thought (like everyone else), W...T...F!!! Then the more we talked about the movie, the more we think that the disclaimer at the end of the movie about it was taken from folklore and diaries etc.. We thought about it and there were breadcrumbs all throughout the movie which could totally have been the origin seed for Hansel and Gretel or Billy goat Gruff, or Snow White and the apple, or The Witch tale. It was difficult to understand some old English speak, but I gotta hand it to the cast, they were exceptionally committed to their roles. The kids straight up to the adults. Strange, but thought provoking. We did not enjoy it at first but with more discussion, we are finding it interesting. Worst part is the fades to black lasted wayyyyyyy too long.

Change Location