The Village

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Village Movie Poster

4.47 / 5

User rating: 4.47

Based on 105140 votes and 368 reviews


  • User rating: 4.47 85.97%
  • User rating: 4.47 0.69%
  • User rating: 4.47 0.31%
  • User rating: 4.47 0.66%
  • User rating: 4.47 12.37%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 368

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2009

this movie is really bad

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2009

this is the best movie ever

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2009

Watching movies is the second most important thing in my life and this film is is a must see for anyone that hopes that there is somewere that is better than the world we now live in.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2008

No scary at all

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2007

It was very entertaining. I loved seeing Michael Pitt. Eh heh.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2007

SUCKED

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2007

Unpredictably good ! LOVED IT !

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2006

I thought it would be better though

User review rating: 0 May 30, 2006

This is the most incredible and amazing movie i have aver seen in my life. Night is a briliant writer/director, and this movie has so much to say about the world we live in today. this movie is not a scary move, it is more like a drama. Night made the movie seem like it was a scary movie to deceive people and if you don`t know why he did it you are not intelligent and you need to question your knowledge.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2006

I thought that this movie was amazing. It offered a great romantic story as well as a mystery not fully solved until the end of the film. I encourage everyone to see this movie!

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2006

I really, really liked it. Some parts made me jump but I really liked it. The first time I saw it(I have it on dvd)it was a bit confusing but then when I watched it again I thought through it and I understood most of it. I loved all the performances! Very well done movie!

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2006

A master piece of both romantic and horror movies you can call it a movie from the victorian age.

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2005

A great concept! I didn`t expect it to be scary, but it was thrilling nonetheless.

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2005

By far, one of M.Night`s best work. Very emotional, I like how it`s about a love story. Great suspense once again. Great ending. Gotta be James Newton Howard`s best work. Great performances by Bryce Dallas Howard, William Hurt, Joaquin Phoenix...Unbelievable.

User review rating: 0 September 16, 2005

this was NOT SCARY. i thought it would be at least startling like the sixthe sense but it was actually more like a drama. although, this movie was still VERY GOOD. it really makes you think. ****

User review rating: 0 July 26, 2005

An excellent phsycological thriller about how your imagination can play tricks on you.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2005

not exactly a horror movie, had a good story about how the world is and how they wanted to get away from it, but definetly not a horror movie and not scary,a little weird,and boring.i saw it on the movie network so thank goodness i didnt pay for it.

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2005

M Night Shyamalon`s masterpiece

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2005

the village was unique and very creepy. the idea of the creatures was also unique. i loved it but the movie also scared me so i thought about it at night haha one of the few movies id actually buy.

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2005

it was a good movie up until the end.. i just didn`t like the ending..and the whole thought of the end of the movie just didn`t fit

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2005

i think this movie is one of the greatest movies ever!!! but its not one you would watch again and again. still, i love and think you should buy it!!!!

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

Absolutely amazing. This is easily one of the best movies I`ve ever seen. It`s often lambasted for not being scary, but Night`s intention was actually to film a drama, and in this arena, the movie soars. For the love of God, SEE THIS FILM!

User review rating: 0 May 16, 2005

Extremely imaginative. Would never have guessed the "secret".

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2005

Predictable. Lacking originality.

User review rating: 0 May 12, 2005

Domb people who think it`s about the red caped monsters, the mosters in the woods is just a tale to ceep them away from the real mosters. The people on the out side.

User review rating: 0 May 12, 2005

The best movie of 2004. Yes beter than Spider Man 2. M. night, are you going to make a movie thats out side pinnsylvania? Like Ohio or something.

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2005

Scary movies don`t scare me. I am just not wired that way. But a scene in "The Village" sent chills up and down my spine: that whole part when Ivy was in the woods all alone with just her fear--the stifling fear--and the sounds that inspired that fear; for me the climax, the spine tingling climax, of that scene came when **spoiler deleted**. Night did it for me then.

User review rating: 0 April 24, 2005

Absolutley awesome. I was literally stunned by the entire movie. This movie says a lot about society today. If you didn`t like it, it would be because you didn`t get it.

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2005

Dumb movie. Stupid story. Idiotic.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2005

The movie is not for idiots. It is a great movie with a heavy message. It is not suppose to be a scary movie. The creepiness was to decieve everyone. I thought that was well designed. People who can`t get past the outer shell of an egg shouldn`t bother watching this movie, they should stick to their shallow Vin Diesel flicks.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2005

Bah! I don`t understand the negative reaction to this film. I thought it had quite an original plot (that is, until my husband pointed out that the story bears a frightening similarity "Running Out of Time" by Margaret Peterson Haddix). The acting was good, and M Night Shyamalan is the master mood: he so effectively communicates the creepiness of something, as yet unseen, creeping around the periphery of The Village.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2005

Two hours of my life I will never get back! I went into this movie thinking that it was a horror fick - How wrong I was!!! Sure it makes you think but did it have to be so dragged out?

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2005

I think this movie is terrific! It brings back that special something that M. Night Shymalan first showed us in "The Sixth Sense". The movie really is very provocative and has a very important message if people can just get over the disappointment of it not being a "scary" movie.

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2005

it`s stupid i would say. ending was wasting

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2005

People!! What does intelligence have to do with liking this movie or any movie? I thought it was a good move.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2005

Lots of people would kick me for this but I think that this is Shyamalon`s best movie because the message is that the true monsters are mankind.

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

Well, if you think you just wasted two hours of your life- there`s help for you- it`s called school ! Brilliant film that makes you think, if that is what you normally do...

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2005

I found the village rather scary. I held on to my boyfriends hand so tight i nearly cut of the serculation 2 it! My friend named jess got soo scared she held on to her boyfriend,jacob, and he dumped her straight after the movie!! Even though scary movies are an excuse 2 cuddle up 2 boys who you fancy, i think you should make them a little less scary so i don`t get night-mares!!!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2005

This is a Great Great movie. People... remember ..the point of a movie is not only about how is made, or the actors, or the custom... those are minor things compared to the sense of a movie. that`s why, the village is a movie that makes us think about the whole world, even about us, the innocense that we have inside but we fight with it so we could confront the world that is out there, the innocense that the history has taken away from all of us and the innocense that kept us in peace for a long time, the innocense that the movie talks about is the one that we need to love, to be in peace, to enjoy life as it is, to help the others without th

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2005

One of the best movies of the year!

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2005

This is not a horror movie, people. Those who gave this movie poor ratings are those who expected a horror film. I didn`t want to see this movie because I thought it would be some retarded horror flick, I`m glad I was totally wrong. 5 stars

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2005

it was a good movie... it does make you think about society, and the flaws in our world. It reminded me much of the book "Running out of Time" by Margaret Peterson Haddox... joaquin pheonix is remarkable!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2005

It was a horrible movie. A great disappointment to M. Night Shyamalan fans. The video store gave us our money back! but I can`t get my 2 hours back!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2005

a total waste of film and talent.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2005

This movie was NOT meant to be scary IMHO. It was mean to be make us think. When it was over, I immediately reflected on the Cold War of my younger years. The forbidden color was RED then also! Manufacturing fear as a means of control is alive and well and used everyday by goverments. **spoiler removed** Look at our own society and take note if not caution. I think this movie was brave and magnificent.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2005

This movie was TERRIBLE! The dialogue was awful, Judy Greer Cannot act, and the director totally ripped off this story from someone else!

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2005

What a unique twist to the ending of this movie. A great film in the traditional Hitchcock style.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2005

As an M. Night fan I must say this was a BIG disappointment. The plot just did not add up and the `twist` was very predictable.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2005

Absolutely rubbish film. Not scary!! more like a period romance drama with a predictable naff twist at the end. Waste your time on something else... This does not stretch anybodies intellect (apart from comatosed goldfish perhaps!!)

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2005

I story that says much more than you might think. If you look into the real idea in this film you discover all sorts of emotion, fear, beliefs and things to keep you thinking. Not advertised well as it made the film look like a a scary/puzzle/horror type which it is not. I highly recommend this as a thoughtful and entertaining film.

Change Location