The Sum Of All Fears

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Sum Of All Fears Movie Poster

3.89 / 5

User rating: 3.89

Based on 1298 votes and 83 reviews


  • User rating: 3.89 55.42%
  • User rating: 3.89 14.24%
  • User rating: 3.89 7.74%
  • User rating: 3.89 9.13%
  • User rating: 3.89 13.47%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 83

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2004

INRIGUING.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2004

Sucks!!!

User review rating: 0 November 08, 2002

Ughhh... a world wide conspiracy by White Supremacists. Why couldn`t they have stuck with the Arabs like in the book? Political correctness is stupid

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2002

you Yankees think you`re so righteos don`t you? You happen to own the largest neuclear arsenal and are also the only nation to ever use it against human beings, civillians delibrately targeted if I remember truman`s words and now you shameless hypocrites have the nerve to make a movie trying to teach the world `weapon responsibility?`

User review rating: 0 October 29, 2002

Great movie. great plot and wonderfuly done. if you like action and suspence then you wont be diapointed

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2002

totaly kool~~~! amazing! awsome movie!!!!! luved it!!!!! der sum of all fears was a terrific movie!!!! absolutely luved it!!!1 #

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2002

AMAZING movie. Very well thought out and a lot of supsense and overall well done.

User review rating: 0 August 19, 2002

Great movie! Affleck was believable as a young Jack Ryan. Movie was maybe a little watered down and not as believable as previous Jack Ryan flicks. But then again, nobody plays Jack Ryan like harrison Ford!

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2002

This movie was ok...for a film its greatest failure was trying to appeal to too broad of an audience...the special effects were excellent but then again aren`t all big budget hollywood creations nowadays?..The storyline had potential but ultimately failed due to the unrealistic portrayal of how gov`ts would react to situations such as the one presented in the film...another one of those American and proud of it movies.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2002

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2002

The Sum of All Fears was a great movie. I think that Ben Affleck did a very good job as a younger Jack Ryan. This is a must see movie.

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2002

Though I did think that this movie was a little slow at times, I think that Ben Affleck and Morgan Freeman were excellent in their perspective roles. The film itself was very timely and it did manage to strike an emotional cord, but for the most part i was just squirming in my seat, waiting for it to end.

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2002

complex but interesting in a good way

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2002

This movie is a real wake up call to all those rationalists who would predict that the threat of annihilation is a deterrent to a nation on either side retaliating for the acts of any madmen (and there have been many throughout history, Nero and Hitler being examples that come readily to mind) who was to make the "first strike". Mankind has that terrifying potential to react and escalate the cycle of strike and counterstrike. A very good action movie and a grim reminder that the threat of terrorism is very real, despite what the pedlars of inate human moral good virtue and evolution to a condition of peacefull co-existence would have us acc

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2002

excellent movie,well written and the cast was just amazing. Ben Affleck was charming,convincing,and just wonderfull.Morgan Freeman played a strong supporting role although I thought he should have been more visible in the action scenes. All throught out the movie my sister and I kept jumping out of our seats and wanted to immediately join the CIA. They get a lot of action...I give it 5 Stars and more

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2002

The story was something like nobody knows wat he/she is doing..... there was no clarity in it, though ben affleck did a good job. They showed world leaders so desperate to crush each other... i hope thats not the case in real life.

User review rating: 0 June 29, 2002

THIS IS A MOVIE THAT IS A MUST SEE.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2002

1980`s Cold War plot with 2001/2 headlines. Messed-up the story line with the rest of the books/movies. Ben is a little off as Jack Ryan - better then Alec but not as good as Harrison.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2002

sum of all fears didn`t have the grasp to keep me interested for the 2 and a half long and tedious hours it took for the damn thing to end. michael da silva - toronto critic extrordinaire :>

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2002

this movie was absolutely amazing. exciting, good storyline, not too much of a romantic storyline. tom clancy novels are still the best, but the movie is good for those who are too lazy to read a good story. the only thing that i may doubt is ben affleck playing the role of jack ... i wonder if there is someone who could play the character better. any suggestions?

User review rating: 0 June 24, 2002

high budget TV movie

User review rating: 0 June 24, 2002

So predictable I could see all the "twists" before they occurred.. it was also very very VERY slow could never get into it my rating from 1-sucks completely is sucks completely

User review rating: 0 June 24, 2002

Yikes. This movie made world leaders out to be arrogant bomb crazy goofballs. I think the plot could have used some clever dialogue between the presidents. Leaders are a little more cautious when it comes to blowing up the planet or at least I hope so. Thank God a young handsome buff guy knows what`s going on ;-)

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2002

Good action flick. Good plot. Decent acting,. One of the best I`ve seen so far this year, and I`ve seen lots. 4 out of 5 is my rating.

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2002

The Sum Of All Fears was like no other movie I have ever seen before. Half love story, half action packed thriller, this movie is an amazing watch. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys diplomatic thrillers. Has nice twists too it also.

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2002

It was pretty slow at the beginning but finally picked up. Overall it was an okay movie....

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2002

With a little political instability and a couple of misunderstandings this could be a very real event. Looking forward to the next Tom Clancy movie.

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2002

pretty good....the nuke stuff was pretty scary

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2002

I liked the movie. However as a thriller Insomnia is better. Many leaps of logic here.

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2002

The moment when the nuclear bomb expole & when U.S. Government and Russia Government prepare to have a war against each other!

User review rating: 0 June 18, 2002

Terrible movie. Anyone who thinks it was not predictable is an idiot. Special effects were practically non-existant. Ben is no Harrison. And once again the Americans save the day. I was really looking forward to this move, but it was just terrible.

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2002

I`m still waiting for a Clancy movie that does his books justice. I thought Clear and Present Danger was bad, but man--this one is worse. Affleck is wooden and unbelieveable as Jack Ryan: Harrison Ford should get this role in perpetuity. The plot is not even close to the book (fine, it`s an "adaptation"). The special effects were a huge disappointment, particularly the nuclear blast: lots of blowing sand and close-ups, and little to convey the true magnitude of a nuclear weapon`s impact on a city center. A big, fat disappointment from end to end.

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2002

Ben sucked. I wouldn`t let him talk to my answering machine never mind the Russians. Harrison Ford has been insulted.

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2002

it was an excellent movie. ben affleck was surprisingly a great jack ryan. i enjoyed this movie from start to finish. would recommend it to anyone.

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2002

Overall a pretty good ride. I would recommend it for sheer entertainment value. I tend to find Tom Clancy`s overt and shameless militaristic Americanism humourous rather than inspiring, however. I didn`t fully understand why they took the movie out of the "Jack Ryan" sequence which for me took away from the movie. Why to American movies always need to add a romance to the plot????

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2002

good movie ... started out like a typical Clancy novel ... slow and sometimes boring but the build up is well worth it ... one of the better adaptations of the Jack Ryan novels!

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2002

Starts slow, but overall a great film. Makes you wonder just how secure our borders are.

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2002

Morgan Freeman was spectacular in this film!! He commanded the screen. I thought Ben Affleck made a good Jack Ryan, Harrison Ford really was too old for the role. Good movie, great acting.

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2002

i love it.....

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2002

I thought that Star Wars Episode 2 was more realistic than this movie.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2002

A great movie. fun to watch. A believeable story line and excellent action sequences. Ben Affleck`s Jack Ryan was good but not as good as Harrison Ford or Alec Baldwin. Definitely watch on the big screen.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2002

a film for the times.

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2002

it was a great thing + it was goind to thr fosn

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2002

interesting movie, but ben affleck waw definetely not the right actor to play the role

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2002

Oh my god where do I start? There are so many obvious holes in the plot, it flows about as well as frozen pop from a can - Not at all. How Affleck exactly managed to save the world from nuclear disaster is still a mystery to me, or maybe I stopped paying attention my then already. Maybe this movie should be called sum of all CONFUSIONS. Even in the end some people were shot I had no idea they were even in the movie. Props to the acting though, which was really well done. Characters certainly make this movie better than it deserves to be. Still, in my eyes, one of the worst movies I have seen.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2002

it was great!! it was funny yet serious, it was so much better than i expected!! fantastic! it was unpredictable..just great!!! i loved it!!! the sum of all fears was amazing! go see it if u haven`t already!

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2002

Not bad. Obvious strategic errors, but overall one of the better movies out. Great to finally see a movie in which both the Russians and the Americans end up being the good guys....

User review rating: 0 June 08, 2002

It was awesome one of the bset movies this year

User review rating: 0 June 08, 2002

The Sum Of All Fears is a very important movie. It makes us more aware of what is going on in the world today at this very moment, and the threats that we all need to be aware of. Morgan Freeman puts on yet another incredible performance and Ben Affleck makes a perfect Jack Ryan. The chemistry between the two is truly magnetic... and often humorous. I found the movie very captivating to watch and was fixated to the screen for the entire duration. Beautiful film work raps this movie up in to one very powerful blockbuster package.

User review rating: 0 June 08, 2002

Best movie this year, great script that, couldnt predict the ending, many twists and turns. Great plot and conflict. Acting was good, great suspense.

Change Location