The Strangers

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Strangers Movie Poster

3.61 / 5

User rating: 3.61

Based on 1895 votes and 123 reviews


  • User rating: 3.61 54.06%
  • User rating: 3.61 7.42%
  • User rating: 3.61 6.71%
  • User rating: 3.61 9.54%
  • User rating: 3.61 22.26%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 123

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2009

BEST HORROR MOVIE EVER!

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2009

SCARY

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2008

Edge of your seat horrifying. Wonderfully simplistic and realistic. Rates with original Halloween, Hills Have Eyes, and TX Chainsaw.

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2008

Chilling, need more info on actual events

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2008

U WERE HERE

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2008

Scary & sad at the same time. Too many sick people out there...but a good scary movie, never the less.

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2008

As we live and die in a world where the minds of man are becoming increasingly insane, the tag line, "Inspired by true events" should try and cause some sort of resonant personalization with its audience. However, in the fim "the Strangers" we see nothing but a sorry excuse for a poorly done fictional horror. Although my i do give the film 2 stars. The first for its cinematography. Although it was by no means extraordinary, the subtlety in the camera work was fun to watch. The slight shaky consistency of the camera throughout created a sense of uneasiness, however at points became to overdone, allowing us to realize we are only watching a film. Also, the play with focus and the close ups thr

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2008

forget everyone this movie rocks!! I love it!!

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2008

freaken scary!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!it feels so real!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2008

the scaryiest movie EVER!!!! .. cause its sooo real.. it could happen!

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2008

this movie wasnt good at all. the ending was the worst. it was good until the ending

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2008

the worlds best movie it was asome and it is not really gory but i loved it

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2008

i enjoyed the simplicity of the movie. wasn't bad, wasn't good. btw... when a movie says it's 'based on true events' doesn't mean the events in the movie all really happened (hence the word 'based'). the story could have easily come about from (let's pretend) a true story of a couple hearing weird noises outside and stuff while on vacation and someone thought "hey, let's make a movie about this couple who are at a vacation home and are interegated by crazy people wearing masks and say it's based on true events" technically it's not false advertising because the story really was 'based' on something that had actually happened. this movie could have been inspired by anything if you think ab

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2008

Forget the tagline... obviously it's a horror fiction. It's scary as hell I can't stay still on my seat. I really don't watch horror movies anymore but I love watching Liv Tyler. So I'd make this an exception.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2008

give me back my money

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2008

Very good horror flick. Love the lack of torture and other far-fetched plot points

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2008

How can it be based on true events when no one really knew what the hell really happened?

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

Although it had some (overdrawn) suspense and a few jumps, this is a crap scare movie with no real plot or thought behind the thin story line. The tag line of "based on true events" is a pathetic attempt to appeal to the audience but is likely that the true events are so far away from the depiction it should be classified as no more than horror fiction. If at all based on any truth, it is a sad glorification of truly brutal events, and a poor subject for entertainment. Shame on the makers of this film, and shame on Ms. Tyler for involving herself with this film (and this is from a fan). Don't even bother renting.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2008

this movie should scare anyone who has a cottage or who lives in the country somewhere secluded its based on a true story.and since these people were never caught or some other crazies could do a copy cat idea scares the hell out of me.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2008

Overall excellent movie. Old school thrill the right way. No more than one or two scenes that were bad and they were short-lived (30sec-1min). Personally, loved it, and will be buying it on DVD.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2008

it was an edge on your seat thriloler

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2008

I guess I am dumb because I didn't know this was a horror movie. I hate horror movies, I thought it was a murder mystery. That being said, I was terrified the whole movie. Then I learned it isn't even true. I'm sure there are better horror movies out there, and for that reason I think most people would agree.

User review rating: 0 July 17, 2008

I can't believe people liked this movie, it's absolute drivel. I agree with another reviewer who said that young teenage girls have got to be rating this piece of crap with five stars. Avoid this movie at all costs...the only scary part of this movie is its utter waste of time and money. For shame Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman! I'd rather watch Felicity...even that show was scarier...

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2008

it was an edge of your seat thirrler

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2008

This movie was based on a few different events.Look it up! Look up the Kepper murders in California in 1983.It was filmed in Florence South Crolina so maybe that is one reason I lokes it so much.I know that we have so many houses out in the middle of no where and a bunch of freaks bored enough to try and do something so sick and evil like these evil morans did.the only thing that did not ring true for me besides answering the door at 4 am and not caliing 911 at the first sounds of banging,oh and Sb\cott speedman leaving Liv in the house without a gun to run to the barn.I would have sat my ars in the room with the shot gun and blasted those bit.... away.And the main thing,two girls? I am a gi

User review rating: 0 July 05, 2008

this movie sucks

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2008

this movie suck i left half way and watched Indiana Jones!!!!!

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2008

scarry

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2008

If i could have given it 0 stars i would have, i have to admit it was pretty bad, and it wasnt even that scary, not at all worht the price i paid.

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2008

stupid movie. just made for money and that's it

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2008

Pretty creppy. I enjoyed it as did the other three people I was with. Scary because it could really happen AGAIN. To you. This is based on a true story people. Think about it!

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2008

Very good movie...5 stars, the only bad thing about it is you never actually get to see their faces. At the end when she said 'Dont worry, it will be easier next time' That was so sick. What is wrong with Jenefer and James? Why didnt they just abandon their house? It was scary as hell, but I would gladly see it again.

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2008

THIS MOVIE IS LIFE SHATTERINGLY AMAZING! This movie brings back all the good old stlyed horror movies from back in the day. All the new horrors are just about gore and not about that Xfactor that builds up suspense and holding on to the edge of your seat so tight!

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2008

Crap Crap Crap ... this movie blew chunks. As bad as Open Water only that movie at least had a plot - story line - and an ending.

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2008

Oh my gosh! That movie was so scary! It made me scream two times for every thirty seconds there was a scream! My favourite part was when it said hello everywhere on the window! I said hello back but no one said anything! Anyways that boy on the left on the bikes...WHOA HE WAS HOT! Oh yeah and when the girl said becuase you were home the dad was like "WHOA! She can talk!" Well anyway talk to my fans later! Bye! <3 [Look I figured how to do a heart!]

User review rating: 0 June 20, 2008

I am so sick of seeing seemingly scary movies that never deliver. This was NOT one of them! I have never seen such a scary movie and one that makes me feel so erie after! 5 Stars!

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2008

It was like they had an ending to the movie and filled the rest with crappy camera work, and people screaming and running around, it was alright i guess, but would not recommend anyone pay for it, thats and hour and a half i will never get back.

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2008

sooo stupid...not even slightly scary. HATED IT. I dont even want to rate it because one star gives it to much credit.

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2008

As others have said, I too, am a horror flick fanatic..and this was simply..creepy. It made me look behind myself when I got home.

User review rating: 0 June 17, 2008

The worst movie of the year I had watched so far. If there is a rating of zero, I will give it. Don't waste your money!!!

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2008

im giving this movie one star, cause i have no other choice. the worst movie ive ever seen in my life. the characters are made out to be a little smarter than... a mouse! the only thing this movie did for me was to frustrate the living heck out of me.

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2008

WTF???? You call this a movie??? There's absolutely no story at all. The movie begins you have no idea at all what happened and what is going on. Characters out of no where starts to appear for no reason. A terrible, terrible movie. A 1 star only.

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2008

Three stars because as far as typical horror movies go, it's well made. However, the film falls into the same pitfalls as typical horror flicks, mainly the lead characters are incredibly stupid. At various points in the movie they know that the killers have been in their house surreptitiously, yet for some reason the idiots keep returning to the house and locking the door, as if that would give them any degree of safety. They also have a shotgun with plenty of shells and there is a really big field next to the house. Since it's pretty hard to sneak up on someone in the middle of a field, it's hard to imagine why they wouldn't sit in the middle of the field with the shotgun and wait out t

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2008

I never write out comments here. But i figured I should probably warn people that it is soo bad you might as well stay home and watch the grass grow. It would be more exciting. Worst movie I have ever seen in my whole life!

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2008

ABSOLUTELY THE BIGGEST WASTE OF ANY TWO HOURS OF ANYONES LIFE. I curse anyone who allowed this "thing" to be put in my line of sight. thank you... never again

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2008

I screamed till I cried. loved it.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2008

I absolutely loved this film, Being a horror fanatic myself, I loved the way they kept it classic and simple. Not too much blood and gore, not your usual angry frustrated sex scenes that we always find in horror films. But it served its purpose as a thriller. No explanation as to why, no real ending, no real plotline, just straight up jumping out of your seat. And the people saying it was the worst movie ever, were the ones that were probably on the edge of their seats the entire time.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2008

I'm going to go see this for a second time tonight. It was so good and it's scary from beginning to end. Great thriller.

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2008

Definitely worth the price of admission

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2008

Terrible acting, not realistic at all that when you think someone is after you...you don't go making banging clanging noises...you be quiet....Sorry Liv and Scott, you've done better.

Change Location