The Ruins

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Ruins Movie Poster

3.05 / 5

User rating: 3.05

Based on 190 votes and 37 reviews


  • User rating: 3.05 30.68%
  • User rating: 3.05 15.91%
  • User rating: 3.05 10.23%
  • User rating: 3.05 13.64%
  • User rating: 3.05 29.55%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 37 of 37

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2009

very awesome movie like watching it over and over but the last thing I couldn't figure out was how did the ruin get into her body???? Awesome scary MOVIE

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2009

Average. The first half is not bad but the rest is more gory than scary.

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2009

I wish I could have the last hour and a half of my life back.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2008

WOW!!! GREAT!!!! AWESOME!!! So unexpected!!! I really loved it!! I'm scared of plants now!!!

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2008

I thought this movies was awesome, I even went out and got the DVD. You must like blood and gore movies though.

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2008

I thought that all four actors gave a fabulous performance. Laura should get an Oscar for her performance.

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2008

i thought it was worth the rental for a bit of a creepy, survivalist type of movie.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2008

A strange, non-campy take on killer plants. Phenomenal!

User review rating: 0 July 11, 2008

good movie

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2008

good movie, but i couldnt help but see the one comment about some dad who brought there 14 year old son to this movie....LOL u really fail at parenting

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2008

Explain to me how having vines grow out of a person is scary. This movie was comical, and even then it was boring.

User review rating: 0 June 03, 2008

Excellent movie. Loved the gore and the grossness. Mind you, I also loved the 'Hostel' movies, so if you don't like the gore, don't go for it. Excellent! Great job!

User review rating: 0 June 01, 2008

It's all a matter of taste. Personally really liked it. Everything can be imporved, but thought it was great.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2008

Within the first half hour we were all feeling nauseous, and I mean sick to our stomachs. I had expected a "Mummy" type movie, as in ancient Aztec spirits and a curse and a means to defeat the curse, etc. but this was a gorefest. There was blood and exposed muscle and bone and tissue. My 14 year old son kept saying "Let's leave, I have to leave!" so finally we left the theatre. My 16 year old daughter stayed to watch to the end. My son made it to just outside the theatre doors then he had to sit down with his head between his legs. He felt like he was going to faint and throw up at the same time; his face was drained and chalk white. I helped him out to the car and drove him home. It

User review rating: 0 April 21, 2008

The movie succeeded in making me uneasy. I remained 'in the story' because nothing was explained to a point where I began to question it. This movie is worth seeing for Laura Ramsey . She was responsible for the majority of the suspense, unease and emotion. The movie would have been nearly unwatchable without her but she also has the majority of the screen time. (worth seeing at a Matinee)

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2008

I plan to see the movie tonight... I just finished the book, and it was amazing. For those of you who think it's a weak plot, try reading the book; it's a lot more difficult to express and convince people of this sort of concept through film than it is in a novel. I don't expect the movie to be as good as the book, but I'm looking forward to some wicked scenes.

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2008

If you are a fan of raw human suffering, go see this movie. If you would prefer some mystery to the grotesquery in your films, and this does not include barely seeing the "monster", don't go see this movie. I am not an easy irked person, but this movie was on par with Hostel for foulness.

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2008

this is a pathetic excuse for a movie. Not scary ,ridiculous plot, boring and stupid.

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2008

The content of this movie is alright but the end is not well done thats why I give 4 star

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2008

Terrible.........I'd rather be forced to listen to 20 Slim Whitman tunes.

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2008

One of the worst movies I have seen in a very long time. Basically it's a movie about 5 people trapped on top of a hill. No background story, no explanations, no nothing. Terrible plot, even worst story. Save your money, this movie isn't even worth renting!

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2008

Very disappointing! Only good if you like watching an hour of excuses for creating gore.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2008

The title says it all about this movie. Your day will be in "RUINS" is you waste time and money on this movie.

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2008

Great acting, great gore, and an awesome plot.

User review rating: 0 April 07, 2008

I seen this movie last night and im still thinking about how great it was!It doesnt explain to much about the ruins but that doesnt matter!It has an amazing cast!Amazing script and amazing suspense!The gore scenes are pretty disturbing to!this one definitely kept me on the edge of my scene!I left this movie amazed!Id say this is the best horror movie period so far!5 STARS HANDS DOWN!

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2008

Interesting movie, a head above the rest of it's type. It is not particularly scary - you won't be jumping out of your seat, but it is intense. You do relate to the characters and some scenes leave you biting your knuckles and wincing at the disturbing sights. Overall feeling is that which you get when driving by and witnessing some particularly horrific car accident or a house burning down next door. The "monster" of the movie is barely present, the horror is the situation that the city-slickers find themselves in, alone in the unknown. THE RUINS starts and ends rather fast, and you're left thinking: Premise aside, could that happen to me? Best line: "Four American tourists don't just dis

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2008

There comes a "stupid" factor in all horror movies.In the ruins it comes later than in most of this type of movie.Overall much better than Cloverfield for a B movie.

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2008

This movie was fantastic! I saw it lastnight and was impressed!! I would not mind seeing this movie a second time. It keeps you at the edge of your seat the whole time! I LOVE IT.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2008

It has its moments but it's more of a DVD rental; male teens will be happy. The motives of the Munich guy is a bit mis-leading.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2008

It was OK. I liked the story but I found it draged a little. I expected to see more activity inside to ruins not just on top. It could have been so much more, but they lazed out!

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2008

The only scary thing about this movie was the fact that it was actually made. Does no-one know what a 'horror' movie is anymore?

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2008

LOVE IT

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2008

SAVE YOUR MONEY! You would rather have a root canal than watch this movie!

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2008

Great horror film and it was so well done.

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2008

That was the worst movie i've seen in a very long time. It was gory. That's fine. But I would at least like to know the story behind the ruins and why they were the way they are. No plot. Two thumbs down.

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2008

it was really bad, gross, this girl was like cutting her flesh off her leg and then she stabs her friend whos trying to help her and all she says is : "SORRY" and then she continues to cut her flesh off. VERY BAD!

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2008

pathetic!

Change Location