The Royal Tenenbaums

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Royal Tenenbaums Movie Poster

3.85 / 5

User rating: 3.85

Based on 803 votes and 50 reviews


  • User rating: 3.85 61.08%
  • User rating: 3.85 8.83%
  • User rating: 3.85 5.63%
  • User rating: 3.85 3.33%
  • User rating: 3.85 21.13%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 50

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2004

This was an amasing film I watched it because I am a fan of Ben Stiller. Although he, Owen Wilson, Bill Murray and Danny Glover are only funny a few times, The Royal Tenenbaums was a great comedy-drama-fantasy. And yes, that`s Alec Baldwin as the narrator.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2004

The best movie in the past ten years.

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2002

A Excellent Film-***** Wes Anderson Has Proved Him Self Worthy Of Directing After An Estonishing Dabut With Rushmore He Make One Of The Top 5 Best Movies Of 2001

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2002

I dont` see why people are condemning this movie for not being funny. Dark comedy was only a single aspect in a work filled with emotion. Paltrow and Huston were excellent but it`s Hackman that really stole this movie. Never thought he had this much range as an actor. Along with Moulin Rouge and Waking Life, this was my favorite picture of the year.

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2002

I think the movie is the BEST there ever was and defenetly is my favorite one with,..shangai noon,the haunting,zoolander,meet the parents and also now the royal Tenenbaums!!!! owen wilson ans wes anderson are the BEST writers there is!!!!!!! LOVE JOLANDI

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2002

Its the worst movie EVER!!!

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2002

It was really uhhhhhhhhhh............weird? I would expect more from Gwyneth Paltrow and Ben Stiller!

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2002

Real stinkeroo. It,s what keeps us old guys out of the movie house

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2002

I thought the movie was the best dark comedy of 2001. I never laugh so hard at movie not catergorized as a comedy!!!!!! It was great.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2002

best movie fo the year

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2002

I think Billy Murray is the funniest human being on this or any other planet inhabited by human beings. I love him. I want to marry him.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2002

love hackman, just want to be entertained, a good movie is a good movie no matter if it is comedy or drama or horror or etc. this was crap,period.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2002

i think the movie was pure genius. i`ve seen it twice, and laughed hystarically both times....royal tenenbaum is teh greates character written by the way. fabulousfabulousfabulous.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2002

I think the director was quite confused. The storyline is confused and it seems some of the actors are confused as well. If the director`s objective was to present confusuion within a disfunctional family then I would say the film succeeds admirably. Whether this can be deemed as humourous, I dont`t know I`m confused. AB

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2002

This movie was a huge disappointment for me. People who like this movie are pretty arrogant when they say that people who think it was awful `don`t get it`. This movie was so bad it almost offended me. From start to end it was huge bore.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2002

a light at the end of the tunnel of hollywood brainwashing! This was indeed funny and a lot more. I think it`s also great that people don`t like it. Go and watch Private Ryan folks!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2002

It was a waste of time. The plot was so cheap. It`s not worth it to waste $10 on it.

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2002

It was a very odd movie, but for that reason I found it very interesting. It wasn`t very funny, but like I said it was odd.

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2002

I thought this movie was great! Anyone who thinks other wise can not see the smart humour that is present throughout the entire film. The acting and plot were both wonderful.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2002

This movie was different. Although I didn`t laugh a lot, it was good and had an interesting plot. I don`t recommend it to people who wanna see Ben Stiller`s humourous self but I recommend it to those who are up for a light humoured mature movie.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2002

Waste of celluloid. From the ratings and all the whooplah that this movie has generated I expected a lot more. The acting was not worthy of the talent that starred in this movie. The plot was garbage, and that`s giving garbage credit. I would NOT recommend this movie to friends or enemies - my enemies do not deserve to sit through this waste of time. The only comedy scene that this, supposed, comedy had was seen in the trailers. You could feel the silence of expectation of funny scenes that never came. My wife and I saw this movie for free, and we were tempted to ask for our money back when it was over. We both fell asleep during this m

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2002

This movie wasn`t funny at all. To contain such a great cast, I thought this movie was a failure.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2002

This movie is genius. I laughed uproariously, but at the same time it is really smart.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2002

Unbelievable! This film is fantastic. People who trash it, fail to find the humour in this film. Just because Ben Stiller isn`t getting his "thing" caught in a zipper, doesn`t mean this film is unfunny. Anyone with a respectable sense of humour will realize what a prize this movie is. Don`t go expecting to see in your face humour, rathre sit back and try to understand where each character is coming from. Geeeeeeeez!

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2002

it wasnt terrible, but it wasnt great. it was very weird and dragged on and on, i found. i think that my friend who i saw it with liked it better than i did.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2002

One great colossal bore. What were Stiller and Paltrow thinking? This is movie that didn`t have to made.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2002

I thought it was great! Worth every last penny!

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2002

While I usually appreciate the humour in a "black comedy", I found this movie to be truly unfunny. The premise has potential, but the Royal Tenenbaums failed to live up to that potential. Better luck next time!

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2002

Not funny at all. I don`t find humor in cut wrists.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2002

Four of us went to see this movie and agreed that this was one of the least entertaining movies we had seen in quite a while. We should have went to see a cartoon movie, they seem to be the only movies worth watching these days. I guess with so many top name stars, we got sucked into thinking that they will do at least something worth watching but we were sadly mistakened! Save your money and time for something better than this lame movie!

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2002

The best movie I`ve seen since Memento. Wes Anderson and Owen Wilson wrote a brilliant script that had me laughing from beginning to end. I loved they way each character`s story was told and how they developed throughout the movie. I also loved the set design, the use of colour and the early 80`s look. And Gene Hackman was the best I`ve seen him in years! For all those who said things like "The worst movie I`ve ever seen", you obviously had no clue what was going on in this movie. I think Orange County opened this weekend, why don`t you go see that.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2002

Waste of money, not one laugh in a full theatre.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2002

I really enjoyed this movie immensely - it was very quirky. I just can`t help thinking what a conversation with Owen Wilson would be like - he must have some really interesting perspectives on various issues to write something this odd, but this funny. Reminded me (quirky-wise only) of American Beauty - which I also loved. Don`t ask why, I couldn`t explain - but if you liked American Beauty, you`ll like this film too.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2002

A dark comedy. Gene Hackman was great!

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2002

This film is for those who are sick of the crap that Hollywood keeps pushing towards us. Chock full of interesting characters and moving situations...

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2002

i loved it 5*`s! sad to hear such negative comments about this movie; some people just don`t get it...

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2002

A guaranteed emmy for this one.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2002

Soooo good!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2002

Very Odd, Very Good! Sit back and relax and enjoy the misadventures of a tragic, funny, quirky disfunctional family. All at once hilarious, sad, deep and engaging!

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2002

Pathetic.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2002

Do not waste money on this movie. It is absolutely the cruelest hoax played on the movie going public in some time. No plot, no sense, a couple of hoaky laughs is all.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2002

I thought that the movie was well developed and entertaining.The movie was very funny and had great humour. The actors and actresses all did a great job and it felt that they played the character correctly.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2002

a movie that comes from the dark areas of owen wilson`s mind, great film

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2002

Quirky! The best movie i have seen in awhile and I love the feeling of seeing s flick that isn`t trash! Great acting, odd, but entertaining, and very funny (but not the kind of usual comedy funny). Go see it. -nicole

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2002

Wonderful. The movie was not made in the traditional way. If the style doesn`t appeal to you then you won`t like it at all. I rather enjoyed it. I wasn`t sure what to expect, seeing as practically no one has heard of it. But I`m glad I went, and found myself wanting to see it again, just a few hours after. The movie has underlying themes and meanings, and so if you don`t get those, you`ll see no point in the movie. If you like deep movies with a differnt style of humour, you`ll like this one. But maybe that`s just me.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2002

The most stupid movie I have ever seen. A complete waste of money and time - many people got up left half way through the movie. Ben Stiller was the only good thing about the movie.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2002

It was a strange movie, but I really liked it. Gene Hackman was great!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2002

Weird, really weird but kindof good. I wouldnt really suggest it but if you love Ben Stiller see this movie.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2002

It`s weird! Different kind of humour.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2002

I thought it to be the worst movie I have ever seen. There were no interesting issues and the dialog sucked! I would rate it the worst movie ever made!

Change Location