The Rocket

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Rocket Movie Poster

4.35 / 5

User rating: 4.35

Based on 2936 votes and 117 reviews


  • User rating: 4.35 69.82%
  • User rating: 4.35 15.57%
  • User rating: 4.35 4.06%
  • User rating: 4.35 0.59%
  • User rating: 4.35 9.96%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 117

User review rating: 5 May 28, 2011

this movie was a great tribute to one of the best hockey players ever and enjoyed it immensely. I've had the pleasure of seeing his son play for the canadiens this movie was so great Thank you for showwing it

User review rating: 0 November 08, 2008

the best hockey movie I have ever seen

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2008

Pure gold!

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2008

THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN!!

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2007

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2007

This is an excellent movie. Our whole family enjoyed it. Would recommend it. D. Graveline

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2007

THE ROCKET will have you cheering!

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2007

A hero's story and a love story combined into one. After seeing it the first time, I just can not skip over it when I scroll the remote control to find it playing on the movie station. I seen it more than 8 times and still become enthralled of many scenes including the love of children that he had, his standing up against bullies, his will of winning all within a self depreciative man who many of us have come to view as an hero. No wonder that in 1996, some 46 years after he retired from hockey, Maurice merited the affection of all during the last game in the Montreal Forum. Thank you Maurice.

User review rating: 0 June 01, 2007

I was impressed by the picture and the acting.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2007

If you are canadian and a hockey fan you cannot help but love this movie and what the Rocket stood up against.

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2007

I think its the best movie I have ever seen,My family also enjoyed it also. BOSTON

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2007

Best movie I`ve seen in a long time. I`m not even a big hockey fan and loved every minute. Roy Dupuis is riveting.

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2007

This is by far the best sports movie I have ever seen. As an American hockey fan who loves the history of the game, watching this movie was like seeing many of my books come to life. The acting, writing and cinematography were all exceptional.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2007

i was born in Montreal, but after all that occured in the movie. and i was sooo appreciative of learning about the TRUTH at that time, not only in my home town, but in the NHL.

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2007

It is awesome! I love it

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2007

The Rocket may very well be the best hockey movie ever made, but to merely call it a great hockey movie would be selling it short. It captured Richard as not only the great hockey player, but also as an icon for French-Canadians. A terrific, terrific movie.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2007

The movie underscored the Rocket`s impact on, not only the game of hockey, but on Canadian society. It illustrates his committment to playing a passionate game of hockey but also his willingness to stand up to brutal injustice.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2007

Authentic portrayl of period hockey. Real Canadiana.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2006

What a brilliant film! I am so proud that he was Canadian, that he was a gentleman to the end, and that he stood up for what he believed in. What an inspiration, and what a great tribute to our country. You go Maurice!

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2006

Fantastic! One of the 3 best hockey films ever made (along with "The Sweater" and "Slapshot").

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2006

Immediate cult classic. Best hockey flick ever.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2006

Well documented. Far from a boring bio.

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2006

Speeking of the "two solitudes", i think this movie is the first one that merges two points of view. Don`t forget that the director did all the advertising campaigns for the former prime minister Jean Chretien. So beeing french-canadian, he was able to give his point of view without beeing "cliche" or crooked. THIS WAS A GREAT MOVIE and even if C.R.A.Z.Y. won best quebec movie, THE ROCKET should of won!

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2006

For the true hockey fan this is history....

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2006

Was nothen but bill 101 all over again

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2006

I thought the history side of the movie was fantastic!! The hockey action was like riding a ROCKET!! The only downfall to the entire movie was it`s lack of menu options. I know it was a movie made in Quebec, but it should have more English speaking features. Still a great watch!!

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2006

How do I purchase this movie? Has it been released on DVD yet?

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2006

i think it`s a good movie about the marcurie rocket richard becase hes a legend

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2006

By the way, he WANTED to enlist/enroll/whatever and go to war! But the army refused him, that`s the true context as opposed to what I`ve read here! Even the movie recalls this, when his future wife`s dad asks him how the hell he could play for the canadiens while the army refused him because of his flatfoot... The fact is that during this era, we thought that flat-foot was some kind of abnormal difformity, thus was deminishing your resistance or "performance"... Actually we know that it`s far from true, and that actually many athletes are flat-footed. Myself I am, and I got to the point of the National junior ski team (but I am 5`7, too smal

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2006

I loved it! I`m willing to say it was better than Miracle!

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2006

THE BEST MOVIE YOU`LL EVER SEE IN YOUR LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2006

Wonderful i loved it!

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2006

it was a classy film and my self being a jr.a player it didnt look at all far fetched

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2006

As a former Montrealer who grew up with the Legend that is The Rocket, I was moved by the story and surprised to learn new things about the man and the time. It definately left me wanting more.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2006

5 STARS!!! Truly a great film & a wonderful story.I LOVE THE MOVIE SO MUCH AND I AM JUST DYING TO SEE IT AGAIN AND TO BUY IT ON DVD. WHEN DOES IT COME OUT ANYWAY???(STUARTLAMB10YRSOLDHOCKEYRULESANDSODOESSOCCER)

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2006

5 STARS!!! Truly a great film & a wonderful story.I LOVE THE MOVIE SO MUCH AND I AM JUST DYING TO SEE IT AGAIN AND TO BUY IT ON DVD. WHEN DOES IT COME OUT ANYWAY???

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2006

Unbelievable...This movie gave me chills. I have never been prouder to be Canadian. This is a wonderful film on many levels.

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2006

is a really good film

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2006

close to reality

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2006

This was a very entertaining movie, great fun for everyone.

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2006

This was an excellent movie. The acting was very good and the story kept me interested the whole time. Even if you don`t like hockey you will love this movie about this legendary man.

User review rating: 0 June 22, 2006

The Rocket lives again

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2006

You will love to watch this over and over

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2006

It was a canonating film

User review rating: 0 June 11, 2006

This is the best movie I have ever seen featuring a Canadian national hero. It was both entertaining and educational. It depicted the French Canadian reality of the 1940`s and 1950`s. My kids, who had only a passing knowledge of who "The Rocket" was, were enthralled. After seeing the movie, they both said " We have to buy this movie when it comes out on DVD, we want to watch it again and again." Magnificent!

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2006

great familly movie

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

I met a couple of times and had dinner with him and I found him a very quiet man I think he was shy with people. Henri ke is very friendly and likes to talk.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

rocket blasts off.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

THe storyline was interesting and the plot was good but missed out on details about his brother, the "Pocket Rocket", which would`ve been interesting to the story as well.

User review rating: 0 June 09, 2006

Learned a little more about the Rocket

Change Location