The Reader

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.74 / 5

User rating: 3.74

Based on 712 votes and 42 reviews


  • User rating: 3.74 59.82%
  • User rating: 3.74 7.76%
  • User rating: 3.74 2.74%
  • User rating: 3.74 5.94%
  • User rating: 3.74 23.74%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 42 of 42

User review rating: 5 May 14, 2010

At first, I had no intention of seeing this movie until a friend recommended it to me. I am so glad they did. Excellent acting throughout the film. Really impressed with David Kross, although I don't think his full frontal nude scene was necessary, plus they edited out some really important scenes as well. I recommend viewing the deleted scenes on Youtube.

User review rating: 4 April 23, 2010

The movie was far better than what I expected. Very touching, emotional and dramatic. Great performances.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2009

It´s a moving movie that shows the human beings behing the massive wars.

User review rating: 0 August 03, 2009

Wasn't crazy about it. I'd give it 6.5/10.

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2009

Blah, It was good at first, One of those annoying, hate the ending movies!

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2009

What an amazing movie!!

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2009

A good movie not a great movie. It was worth the watch. Kate winslet is great and the ending is quite surprising.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2009

Great movie....just great. Had my attention the whole time.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2009

Excellent movie!! A little too much nudity at first but the movie over all was great! A must to see. I did not want to see this film and now so glad I did.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2009

I am a very opinionated film critic who sees most films these days worthy of being tossed into a local landfill site.This film,however, is an exception to the rule. Superb acting by Kate Winslet and Ralph Fiennes. A story that focuses on a boy coming of age and a woman who in herself is a victim for being caught up in the social and political ramifications of the Third Reich. A must see film.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2009

Such a unique love story with mad twists and turns. Very moving. The book is also a fine read. I'm happy to have watched this film.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2009

My favourite movie this year so far. You always hear about old men going after young girls but this story is different because it was a woman seducing a young man. Very interesting. It's sweet how they fell in love. I also enjoyed the book. The ending was a slight downer but how else could it have ended? Excellent film. Go and watch it if you haven't already.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2009

this movie was horrible how can somebody make qa movie that protrays the holcast to not be such a horrible event it was fake and everything about it was not releastic like seriously. point less see something that is excately good it was full of crap.

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2009

One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. To the guy three comments ago: the bathing scenes were intimately incredible! Who doesn't want to be clean before having sex?! (Obviously no one has ever bathed with him because he is heartless.)

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2009

Amazing movie. Very gripping. Intense and sweet at times. It reminded me a little about a younger ex-lover of mine. Take a lesson boys - slower is better - sometimes. (*sigh!*)

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2009

Very Very Good Movie... Worth the money!!!

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2009

I'm actually at the movies watching it right now So bored I couldn't find anything better to do other than writing this review S l o w S l o wwwwwwww Boooorrrrrrrriiiiing Pointlesssss WHAT IS THE DAMN POINT Can someone please enlighten me Ps. What's with all the bathing scenes

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2009

Excellent movie!

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2009

Kate Winslet is such a great actress and should win the Oscar for her performance in this movie. Ralph Fiennes, as usual, was superb. The movie is a bit of a 'downer', if there was a chuckle in it - I missed it!

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2009

Well acted drama that should be seen by P M Harper ,who might realize his mistake of cutting 17 million dollars from adult literacy programs.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2009

A movie of genuine substance, unlike much of what has been passing for great movies this year (e.g., Gran Torino, Slumdog, Mamma Mia). Brilliantly directed and movingly acted. A powerful treatment of the dilemma between what is moral and what is legal, and the cruel consequences of getting caught between the two. Kate Winslet ought to get Oscar for Best Actress.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2009

A movie of genuine substance, unlike much of what has been passing for great movies this year (e.g., Gran Torino, Slumdog, Mamma Mia). Brilliantly directed and movingly acted. A powerful treatment of the dilemma between what is moral and what is legal, and the cruel consequences of getting caught between the two. Kate Winslet ought to get Oscar for Best Actress.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2009

whoever wrote the comment... it was certainly NOT dull and tedious. The numerous sex scenes set the tone, dimension and clearly established the character foundations. What else is a 15 year old boy....ur my hero for not being close minded and dull like the others.....

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2009

thankes for the good filme

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2009

A slow start with lots of sex, but the story is amazing and Kate Winslett is deserving of the Oscar-rivetting acting of a stoic German!

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2009

This was certainly NOT dull and tedious. The numerous sex scenes set the tone, dimension and clearly established the character foundations. What else is a 15 year old boy who falls deeply in love fascinated by. And what does it conversely say about a 34 year old woman who would have such an affair. Only a narrow minded prude without vision would miss this. Also, most certainly the Nazis would hire people of her ilk. Illiterate, unquestioning, order following automons are exaclty who they needed to fulfill their warped mandate. 5 star Oscar winner for certain. Too bad some movie watchers live in such a shallow, one dimensional world. Thank heavens they can't vote for Oscar. Too bad they can v

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2009

Dreary, dull, tedious, 60min out of 2hrs the movie was about sex lessons with clear emphasis on a nude male. The story doesn't make any sense. Germany didn't have an illiteracy problem and SS wouldn't hire an illiterate. Hanna's answers at the trial were much to eloquent for someone who was illitarate. The history showed that the war criminals would commmit suicide as soon as the virdict was delivered. Why did she wait so many years to hang herself? Why did she learn how to read and write, to hang herself?

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2009

BORING!!!!! Don't waste your money

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2009

Great performances...an especially nice turn by Lena Olin...painfully slow however.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2009

meh!

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2009

Kate Winslet and Ralph Fiennes are an amazing duo. Sensational emotion and human impact. Kate deserves Oscar.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2009

THE BEST MOVIE I EVER SAW IN YEARS , I GO TO THE MOVIES ALL THE TIME AND I REALLY ENJOYED THIS ONE . GREAT ACTORS AND I KNEW SHE WAS GOING TO WIN BEST ACTRESS . IT WAS SO WELL WRITTEN AND THE ACTORS DID A GREAT GREAT JOB .CONG'S TO ALL THE STAFF AND ALL THE PRODUCERS AND ANYONE WHO WAS IN THE MOVIE AND PUT IT TOGETHER , GREAT GREAT MOVIE . WE NEED MORE GOOD MOVIES LIKE THAT . THANKS TO EVERYONE .

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2009

The finest film I've seen in a long time - it raises question after question - I will see it again.

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2009

these kind of stories need to be told more

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2009

kate winslet is an amazing actress

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2009

david cross and kate winslet are amazing they should win oscars

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2009

Intense, emotional and thought provoking. Best movie I've seen for a long time. Kate Winslet at her best. Movie and stars sure to receive many nominations. Highly reommend this one. Excellent movie.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2008

Excellent performances by Kate Winslet and Ralph Fiennes; David Kross is brilliant as the young Michael Berg-a thought provoking and inspiring movie!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2008

Kate Winslet was exceptional in her role. Ralph Fiennes is incredible anytime I see him on screen

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2008

The best movie I have seen all year. A sure candidate for the Oscar awards.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2008

Loved it... respects the book. The only problem I found was that Micheal did not age properly from 15 up to the trial.

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2008

Kate Winslat deceives to get and Oscar this year. It's her year. Excellent movie.

Change Location