The Passion of the Christ

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.73 / 5

User rating: 4.73

Based on 181548 votes and 875 reviews


  • User rating: 4.73 92.63%
  • User rating: 4.73 0.59%
  • User rating: 4.73 0.13%
  • User rating: 4.73 0.29%
  • User rating: 4.73 6.37%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 875

User review rating: 1 December 04, 2016

Blatantly antisemitic. But even if the hateful elements were removed it would still be a bad movie. Jesus's life is a story. The end of his life is not a story. This is a movie about a man's torture and death. That is not narrative.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2014

Excellent! This movie was dramatic, and VERY deep. I advise anyone to watch this movie, if your Christian or of Catholic faith, it really makes you think twice about what Jesus has sacrificed for you.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2010

Thank you Mel for going against the tide.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2009

5 stars!!!

User review rating: 0 June 05, 2009

the best ever seen

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2009

shouldn't even be a star

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2009

I just watched this mnvie again. It is truly a fantastic movie. So hard to watch Jim Caviezel does a amazing job. I was in tears for much of it.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2008

Absolutely amazing movie.

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2008

good movie

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2008

life changing

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2008

As bloody and boring as the bible itself. It's obvious people are voting for this because it's about jesus, not because it's a good movie. It's not. Jesus never existed, the Flying Spaghetti Monster does.

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2008

The most true portrayal of this man named Jesus Christ. He did live. He did die on the cross and He is a part of history! Even if you do not believe in him it was a wonderful and by all account's this is how he died in HISTORY.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2008

this movie promotes antisemitism

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2008

The special effects were incredible and yet I know that Jesus' Crucifixition was NOT special effects, one can only imagine the torture Jesus suffered and yet, you seemed to portray that in a very profound way. Thank you, Mr. Gibson for creating an incredible movie for Good Friday. This is the only day I will watch this movie.

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2008

This was "crazy and super informative"

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2008

remeber when Jesus Christ Died on the cross he was thinking of YOU!! God Bless!

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2007

he did this for you!he really is loving

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2007

story line was kind of predictable... really no surprises or suspense.

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2007

love it what a good story line

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2007

this movie was in complete lack of entertainment the only people who like it are christians. it is horrible to wach, and borring

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2007

its da best movie eva

User review rating: 0 May 22, 2007

My favorite movie now and ever. Great acting, great script, great score, great directing.

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2007

COULDN'T WATCH IT...WHITE JESUS....AND THEY SAY IT'S SUPPOSED TO HISTORICALLY ACCURATE!

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2007

A very powerful film. The scourging of the pillar scene was so powerful and sad. The movie was very well done. 5/5

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2006

Preaching to the converted at its worst.Okay,Jesus suffered(if this is what you believe) for all of humanity but,do we really need to watch a two hour film of him being whipped and tortured?In reality a very boring film(I may incur the wrath of God for this),but, as a film, one star only.

User review rating: 0 September 14, 2006

how are you gonna say its a bad movie when Jesus is in the movie

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2006

it was terible it was basicly a guy being tortuerd for 2 hours two thumbs down

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2006

Blasphemy.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2006

I absolutley loved Passion Of The Christ. This movie broke my heart and the music moved me. Some say that this movie was too violent and gorey, but the truth is, if you have read the Bible, it was not a pretty picture. Mel Gibson made the movie exactly as it was. Great, great job actors, actresses and Mel Gibson.

User review rating: 0 June 21, 2006

way too violent,specially the part where they were whipping our dear lord,a good movie,very graphic,people fainted in the theatre,cause it was so violent,our poor lord,what he had suffered,good movie!

User review rating: 0 June 05, 2006

Christians believe that Jesus was truly God AND truly man, but the torture in this film was simply too far-fetched to show forth a belief in the true HUMANITY of Jesus. Dr. Frederick Zugibe, a present-day expert on crucifixion, wrote to Gibson offering his expertise so that Gibson could get "right", but got no response. Too bad. Zugibe is a devout Catholic Christian, and he found the violence in this film utterly unrealistic. This is what made me sad: to see the humanity of my beloved Jesus re-cast as some weird form of "superhumanity." I was moved by many moments in the film, but it certainly is not "as it was." Gibson missed a rare o

User review rating: 0 May 27, 2006

I hateed it, too gorey!

User review rating: 0 May 20, 2006

great movie, probably excactly what happened very moved by it

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2006

One of the greatest films ever made but it should not be compared to other films because almost all of them are meant to be entertainment, whereas this is a devotional film with a strong artistic character. I mean that watching this film is more like praying the rosary than like relaxing in one`s spare time or taking interest in a new story. It is not the sort of film that anyone would watch while eating popcorn. For those who hate Christianity, simply don`t watch it.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2006

The graphic stuff didn`t bother me at all, but I didn`t like the fact that there`s absolutely no storyline to the film. Nothing happens! A guy is crucified.. then it`s over? How about some context? Ever heard of a plot? A narrative? Anything? Yeah ok so this movie was obviously made for people who already know the story, but still. I know the story and I was bored to tears with this film. It`s basically just a way of making millions of dollars off of a religion and its followers.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2006

Extreamly funny I find it rediculous that everybody liked it so much and I have read the bible too

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2006

too cristian for me

User review rating: 0 April 04, 2006

Great film Loved the story and the truth behind it.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2006

great movie!!! a must see!!

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2006

yeah passion of the christ kicked serious but it was a real heart breacking movie tho really wel made

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

Awesome movie, but has some really graphic parts that make it realistic and disturbing. Great symbolism.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2006

Moved me to cry like a baby. I havent cried in 15 years!

User review rating: 0 January 17, 2006

I loved it !! the best movie of all time and it should have won every award there is but of course since it was about Christ it was shunned what a surprise ! anyway The best!!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2005

Really good movie!

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2005

I thought it was great and it was very moving!

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2005

I remember seeing this in theatres and it was pretty dramatic. It`s hard to sit through it, but you know what? It SHOULD be hard to sit through it. Even though it`s subbed I had no problem with it, and neither should anyone that can read. Furthermore, this is NOT a movie meant to "force anyone into a religion" -- last time I checked, it`s your choice whether you want to see something like PotC. Your choice is there to commit or not to commit; watching a "religious" movie won`t make you religious. (So simple, yet so complex...) This movie is powerful, some people in the movie were crying and praying afterwards, and I`m sure a lot of people

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2005

I thought it was a very moving movie... i cried at some parts and was mad at others... I thought Mel Gibson did an awesome job.

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2005

Really good and really good explained about the death of Jesus. It`s a really good must-see. Also, very sad at some parts....it`s defintely a must-see to watch on Easter!!! Also, Mel Gibson did very very well directing for this movie!!!

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2005

The Pastor of my church was asked why Christ suffered so much. He said because our sin was so great. The Bible just says "Christ was scourged and was crucified for our sins". Mel Gibson researched what scourging actually was and reduced the last 12 hours of Christ`s suffering down to two hours. Mel said in an interview that the Holy Spirit prompted him to do this film. Mel responded and the film was a blockbuster. I guess it pays (in more than one way) to listen to God. Excellent film!

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2005

The worst movie ever made. I should not be forced into a relgion. And I should be able to picture how this happened through my own imagionation.

Change Location