The Orphanage

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Orphanage Movie Poster

4.11 / 5

User rating: 4.11

Based on 54 votes and 13 reviews


  • User rating: 4.11 51.85%
  • User rating: 4.11 29.63%
  • User rating: 4.11 7.41%
  • User rating: 4.11 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.11 11.11%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 13 of 13

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2010

The Spanish have a way with horror films. They're bringing such a distinctive and creepy new dimension to horror, and I'm always excited to see more. This is such an unsettling film because it's such a departure from what we as North American audiences have come to expect from ghost cinema. Here's what we're used to seeing: a woman defending herself against pissed-off and malevolent ghosts that want to drag her to hell and bring her family misery (The Grudge). Or, an evil child has become a more murderous and insane entity after its death, and it's up to our precocious hero to find a way to send it away or, at the very least, survive it (The Ring). This is not what we get. In fact, I don't k

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2008

I just loved the movie. it was very sad at the end but the movie has a message.

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2008

It’s little kids that always provide the biggest scares in horror movies. The sound of a screaming small child pleading for his life is something that I don’t find easy to shake. Director Juan Antonio Bayona realizes this and milks the creepy The Orphanage, for all the prepubescent chills they could possibly provide. The Orphanage is an unnerving, tightly wound horror flick that keeps the audience riveted. It abandons the blood and guts displays, and creates a dark, tense atmosphere that’s just as scary as its crazy little characters. It’s an approach that creates an interesting horror film, instead of the cheap, thin, torture porn made popular by the Hostel and Saw series.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2008

admittedly was a very good movie but much too creepy and dark for my taste.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2008

Really fantastic movie. It was pretty scary without being too disgustingly gory like a lot of American horror movies that are made these days.

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2008

I walked in ... not knowing it was going to be a subtitled film... and as it turns out it was worth staying. I would have enjoyed it more if it were a bit more scary and if my attention wasnt towards the subtitles the entire movie. Nevertheless 4/5.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2008

Very good movie. I really liked it.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2008

As the title suggested, it is a ghost story of an old haunted orphanage building. The house is lived by a family of parent and an adopted child, the mother used to be one of the girls from this very own ophanage. It starts with the little kid making comments about seeing and playing with other kids in the house, which cannot be seen by the parent. The director has led us by peeling layers of clues in uncovering the mystery of the orphans who used to inhabit the house. The movie is quite scary comparable to the Sixth Sense or Others with a surprise ending. This film may resemble some of Del Toro's style (like in Devil's Backbone, Pan's Labrynth) as he is the executive producer. Orphanag

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2008

Great movie!

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2008

Wasn't as scary as it may be portrayed but a very good movie.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2008

OK,I jumped out of my seat three times!A classic ghost story that does not involve gore and dismemberment to scare you.Not perfect but a good antidote to the schlock put out by Hollywood!

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2008

Great movie. Not as scary as the media makes it out but there are a few spots to make you jump. Great story.

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2007

Great movie! Suspenseful and creepy without the guts and gore. A good old-fashioned "ghost" movie. :)

Change Location