The New World

Thank you for rating this movie!

The New World Movie Poster

3.24 / 5

User rating: 3.24

Based on 663 votes and 77 reviews


  • User rating: 3.24 45.10%
  • User rating: 3.24 7.56%
  • User rating: 3.24 7.56%
  • User rating: 3.24 5.32%
  • User rating: 3.24 34.45%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 77

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2007

I don`t ever walk out of movies. Yet I walked out of this one. Slow, boring, and the few times a character actually talked, I couldn`t understand what was being said. Don`t waste your time or money on this garbage.

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2006

Loved it......................

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2006

ZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzz!What happened?I dozed several times during this film.Very slow paced and dull historical film that is beautifully filmed but the story is very boring..zzzzzzzzzzzz!

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2006

I have to say that iam shocked at the mixed reviews of this film, to be honest with u I love action movies filled with hot guys,fast cars and sleek guns. but this movie really captured me, not only was the cinematography brilliant, but the actors were incredivle...i guess u can say that u had to be an observant audience emeber in order to catch the fine details of this movie. It wasnt a waste of my time, i thouroughly enjoyed it!!! BEAUTIFUL, CAPTURING, PHILISOPHICAL, EXQUISITE FILM!

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2006

I will never watch anoter Colin Farel movie.Thi s movie is brutel!!!

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2006

Beautifully filmed -- but could`ve done without the chopping editing (a shot of someone would immediately switch to another shot of that person in a slightly different pose, but nothing had happened in the meantime.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2006

Needed subtitles for the British actors. Couldn`t understand a word they said due to mumbling of lines. And sometimes their mumbling was drowned out by the loud "background" music. Made it hard to follow what was going on.

User review rating: 0 June 03, 2006

Dull as dishwater, I left after the first hour.

User review rating: 0 May 18, 2006

A really good movie, only complaint would be the sound other than that I really enjoyed it.

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2006

Piece of garbage. Nothing happens. Colin Farrell and Q`Orianka Kilcher stare longly into each other`s eyes for about half the movie. The other half is just nature shots passed off as art.

User review rating: 0 April 17, 2006

One of the best movies ever cried like a baby! if you want quality watch this movie it will take your breath away!

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2006

Only watch it if you desperately need an afternoon nap. I was itching for it to end - seriously!! I finally turned it off when I woke up after passing out due to boring. I am so happy I did not pay to see this film....

User review rating: 0 March 25, 2006

Dull movie. I tried to watch it on DVD in real speed but found myself bored, reaching for the phone and checking my email. 3/4 of the way through I realized that I had wasted over an hour of my life so I couldn`t just walk away. So I zipped through the last 1/4 in high speed/fast forward just to see if anything exciting happened. Although I couldn`t hear the dialogue, I could tell by the images it was a boring ending. This is a brutally boring film and a complete waste of your time.

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2006

Wow, This movie was perhaps the best movie in five years. I am an avid fan of many types of cinema, but this movie transcends the trite commercial material that hollywood is now so fond of repeating. It is once again affirmed that hollywood is still capable of delivering art. The poetry coalesces beautifully with the films music and its broader philosophical themes. So subtle is its stark horror, and it says in a whisper what requires most movies a half-hour. I heard, however, many poor reviews subsequent to my viewing. To you, I recommend Big Momma`s House 2, or maybe Aeon Flux, as they have a quicker pace.

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2006

the most poetic american filmmaker producing work in hollywood today. terrence malick delivers the most beautiful film of the year and a nice follow up to the thin red line, but the new world seems a bit long when dealing with fewer characters then in a film like thin red line and the story seems to familiar (pochahontas has been told many times before). malick also get a nice perfromance from mediocre actor colin farrell, but i guess when you put in a silent performance it helps. if you find beauty in the moving image than the new world is for you.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2006

I am still "feeling" New World---Yes I m enchanted by Pocahontis!! Q` Orianka Kilcher is a "dream" !! Great praise for the producers and director for their tribute to authenticity!!! Sorry for those who wished for more "action" or "mindless dialogue!!!" The haunting beauty of the portrayal of the period and the characters is truly unforgetable !! Thank you for making this truly beautiful story come to life!!!

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2006

This movie cost me 2 hours of my life. I really was looking forward to seeing this movie based on the previews. I usually don`t believe what other people say and tend to want to see movies and judge them for myself. But please save your money and save yourself from boredom. My poor husband even fell asleep. I wouldn`t even recommend this as a rental. Just do yourself a favour and forget it even exists. I wish i had...

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2006

Let me in a poetry context.I blame the promos for misleading the story but really it is a beautiful piece of wonder when you see this movie the landscape of it is truly breathtaking for the 1st hour.Then it is in repeat mode which made me sleep abit and maybe you can say it was a disspointment but I cna understande why people would hate this film if you dont love art. This movie is Boring but I can fully appreciate malicks approach and his desire explore different avenues.Colin farell was a joke in this film while Christian Bale has more sense and compassion as a character. And the 14 year old pocahontas did her job well. Overall No

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2006

I realize this movie has been in the theatre for a while now, thisis just a sign that I should start reading reviews before I go waste my money on this artsy trash. I have never seen a movie this bad, and have had a more exciting time watching grass grow (don`t worry, you will be doing alot of that in the movie). Please listen tothe 40+ reviews that are on here... we should all lobby the movie studio to get our money back and also for punitive damages suffered during this horribly boring ordeal...

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2006

A movie that was really a poem and a painting. It was lovely and haunting and the pacing that many think was too slow was to me beautifully hypnotic. It didn`t spell everything out for you, it let you feel your way through the story using the music and cinematography as signposts. I am so happy I got to see this film on the big screen.

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2006

I actually thought this moving was pretty brilliant. Yes, it was slow, but Terrence Mallick has a knack for beautiful visuals. The cinematography was stunning, the music was unique, the acting was good. I think everyone was expecting some kind of action movie where Englishman and Native Americans would run around and kill each other for two hours, but I found this movie to be a much more thought-provoking and tender story. Worth seeing in theatres for the visuals alone.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2006

The first mistake of this movie was putting in Nationwide release when you probably think this movie will do less to achieve any kind of praise.Yes it was boring and bland,The slow plot was a nonexisting road to nowhere it was just bad directing and really the actors couldn`t save this movie one bit. The critics are a disgrace and I can`r still figure them out giving this movie and SYRIANA praises when actually both were dull,bland and had so many unanswered questions.Ebert to who I respect really sre getting old or being paid off by movie companies. Like I said I love movies and tend to want to follow a movie when it is slow in running

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2006

Save your money - this one doesn`t even rate as "rentable". People left the theatre, conversations broke out due to boredom. I would have left, but I kept thinking "It`s got to get better than this!". I was proven wrong. The highlight by far was when the laser pointer came out from someone in the audience for some much needed entertainment.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

Excellant movie to catch up on your must needed sleep, I would have left early, but I fell asleep. When I opened my eyes near the end of the movie, most of the movie-goers had already left. One word to sum up this experience "BORING"

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

The movie was quite a departure from the comic book genre that I suspect many in the audience had hoped for. After the showing I attended, the comments I overheard from some of those who had attended, and while they were filing out, lead me to believe that that was the case. In my opinion,the high praise from many of the crirics seemed justified. My complaint was that this movie suffered from poor sound projection quality.Dialogue was difficult to follow because of this.I might add that too often the sound quality is relatively poor. Background music often tends to drown out dialogue and speech is indistinct.

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2006

If a film could be given a negative number of stars, this would be the one. The New World was without a doubt the worst film I have ever seen. The sound track was pedantic. The endless narration by the lead characters was enough to make you scream and when some-one finally did have some actual dialogue the poor sound quality made it almost impossible to understand. Lets not even discuss the subject of historical accuracy. About the only positive thing I can say about this film is that "Pocahontis" was incredibly attractive and I really liked the "native american" costumes. I hope this piece of #@&!#$ doesn`t have a detrimental effect on her

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2006

This movie was great...not!!! Half the theater walked out before the end. Maybe it was a "gem of a film" if you like to watch National Geographic! Im sure its one of those artsy type movies but really how much of an audience does that stuff appeal to? Obviously not much, seeing the responses.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

The music was like fingernails on a chalkboard. Watching people shuffle about in the background was pathetic. No direction, no purpose, pointless. Yuck !

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

My friends and myself keep each other awake. If I had gone alone I would have had to walk out and ask for a refund or the ushers would have had to wake me up when they came into clean theatre.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

The only thing that kept me there was the hope of seeing christian bale do something interesting. but when he FINALLY showed up, he was just as BORING as the rest. we walked out, barely escaping with our lives!!! SO boring.

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2006

Disappointed left theatre Screen blacked out few times Action very slow Plot lacking

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

I liked it a lot, but I guess it`s not for everybody because a lot of people find it boring, which is a shame. I thought it was a beautifully-made movie that was pensive, poetic, romantic, and deep. I thought Colin Farrell`s performance was quite good, and in my eyes, he redeemed himself from the disaster that was Alexander. Q`Orianka Kilcher did a really good job as Pocahontas, and Christian Bale was great as usual. It was nice to hear his natural accent again.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

Don`t waste your time on this poorly produced movie. It`s boring, boring obviously produced by a bunch of amateurs. Jim

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER IT WAS GREAT!

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

This movie doesn`t deserve the critics hype. People want some sort of story to grab on to. Just a plain bore...Doesn`t even rate the status of `Chick Flick`

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

I waited , waited , waited , waited , nothing happened ! It wasn`t even suitable for a historical documentary. A lot of tree and sky shots with the heroine talking to sky momma.An annoying soundtrack to boot.On a possitive side; the paint makeup on the natural`s faces was well done.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

This was seriously the worst movie I have ever seen, and I see a lot of movies.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2006

BORING

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2006

Waste of time and money. Once again just like the Last Samurai (which was way better) it represents how western culture ultimatly always wins over any culture, and in this case the native culture. If you like a movie with blurred speech, no action, loud annoying noise then i highly suggest you see this movie. If not don`t waste your money, time or patience.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2006

This movie was boring, waiting for something to happen, could not hear the voices too well.The romance story line, is ok, but the rest very boring. I am aboriginal and was shocked that there was no aboriginal women to play pocohantas. Is this the true story of pocohantas? I myself have not done any research. Too bad, as I was waiting for months to see this movie, I wanted to leave also, but toughed if out just to see how this movie was going to go and end. Surprised Colin Farell did a movie like this..

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2006

The movie was a little scattered on what it was trying to say. It was rather boring and left you waiting for something more to happen that never materialized. Not even sure I would recommend this as a rental.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2006

it was tedious to sit through, because everyone was probably waiting for something intense or emotional to happen, but it never did, the scenery was quite beautiful though

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2006

pure poetry, film as art.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2006

The movie was just boring. The only highlight was christian bale.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2006

Awful awful awful - I wanted to walk out after half an hour but my friend wanted to see how it would end - what a waste of my time. Lots of people in the theatre did walk out - I wish I had joined them and gone stamp collecting - that would have been more interesting!

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2006

EVERYONE WHO SAW THIS EITHER WALKED OUT OF THE THEATRE BEFORE IT WAS OVER OR WERE DISGUSTED AFTER THEY LEFT....I`ve never seen so many disappointed people in one place

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2006

This movie was stereotypical, boring and a lame excuse to make yet ANOTHER romance movie....and sometimes I like romance movies, but this one is basically just the exoticizing of native women just as hollywood has done all throughout film history....I love how not one film is shown from the native`s perspective, even though "pocahontas" was the main character, it was seen more from the male leads, their perspectives, their lives... This movie is awful, it is boring, it is trite, the only thing redeeming about it is the visuals, and even then the harlequin romance-i-ness of the movie makes you want to hurl!!!! When I walked out of the mo

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

LOVED IT! It was amazing! will see it again and again!

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

This movie was awful. Halfway through it I felt like walking out. In retrospect, I really should have. What a waste of my time and money. One of the worst movies ever!!

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

A SCREEN GEM OF A FILM !!! Not many will agree though, but that`s okay. The New worlds Director - Terrance Malick, is a rare and truthfully out spoken visionary who say`s everything by the use of stricking visuals and exotic scores. Q`orianka Kilcher is a new leading actress to look out for. Her talent shines through, especially by the unique presence she has brought to the screen. This film is simply extraodirnary!!!

Change Location