The Neon Demon

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.70 / 5

User rating: 4.70

Based on 140 votes and 16 reviews

  • User rating: 4.70 89.29%
  • User rating: 4.70 1.79%
  • User rating: 4.70 3.57%
  • User rating: 4.70 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.70 5.36%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 16 of 16

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2016


User review rating: 5 October 03, 2016

Intensely beautiful film about the ugly side of human nature.

User review rating: 1 October 02, 2016

it could be one of the dumbest movies ever, 1 star

User review rating: 5 October 02, 2016

Beautiful, troubling, and boldly original. Not everyone will get it or like it, but it's a wild, disturbing ride for those who can get with it. And Keanu Reeves is actually really good in this!

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2016

A sublime film with penetrating truths that many viewers won't be ready to accept. This one ain't for greenhorns.

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2016

Deeply satisfying horror drama with a liberal dash of Mario Bava thrown in to sweeten the pot. Fantastic.

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2016

Just watched this. Loved it! A bold and chilling film.

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2016

A truly visionary work of art from one of the most interesting filmmakers working today. If you're the kind of viewer satisfied with the current Hollywood crop of lazy sequels, remakes, superhero films and puerile chick flicks then you probably won't like this. But if you're hungry for innovative and original cinema, check this one out.

User review rating: 5 September 29, 2016

Surprising, stunning, disturbing, and suspenseful. I've never seen anything quite like it. A knockout!

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2016

A truly great film from genius filmmaker Nicholas Winding Refn. Don't miss this one!

User review rating: 3 July 01, 2016

This movie was...different. More psychological thriller than horror. I've never seen a film by Nicholas Winding Refn so I didn't know what to expect. Great cast and stunning cinematography. But I feel the storyline could have been stronger.

User review rating: 1 July 01, 2016

I like everything, so says my wife!, but it was very hard for me to like anything about this movie aside from the soundtrack and the pretty moving graphics. I really wanted to like it but... The best I can say is that it was interesting. I was really engaged throughout cause I was eager to see where the film was going. But it went nowhere.

User review rating: 1 June 28, 2016

Ugh, can I give this movie less than a 1? I'm sure some will argue that it's art and I just don't get it, but that's a total cop out. This movie was self-indulgent and insufferable. Moreover, it wasn't even original. Ooh models are catty? Competition is fierce? No kidding. That was already made clear in other, better films like Black Swan. This movie gives women too little credit. Apparently all women hate other women and can't possibly get along with them. This movie just reinforced those stereotypes. It went nowhere and was too long. I feel like this was made for industry people only. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 3 June 26, 2016

Although I truly enjoyed the style of this movie--the cinematography, visuals, colors and music--the story really fell apart in the end. Elle Fanning, whose acting is commendable, pulled off a believable first act, but then the script began to fail her. Her character's arc, going from a naive innocent to vain supermodel overnight, strained belief. Then the overuse of blood and gore and was both gratuitous and distracting. It The lesbian undercurrents were more successfully handled in "Mulholland Drive." Honestly, I had to muffle a guffaw at the shameless Bunuel-meets-Carrie ending. The filmmaker, writer and editor should have decided whose story they wanted to tell and which lessons they wanted us to walk away with. Too bad, because this movie had a lot going for it otherwise.

User review rating: 4 June 24, 2016

The horror moments elevate this movie beyond the visual bravado.

User review rating: 4 June 24, 2016

The case, the style of the movie is extraordinary.

Change Location