The Namesake

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Namesake Movie Poster

3.83 / 5

User rating: 3.83

Based on 364 votes and 19 reviews

  • User rating: 3.83 52.46%
  • User rating: 3.83 17.21%
  • User rating: 3.83 7.38%
  • User rating: 3.83 6.56%
  • User rating: 3.83 16.39%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 19 of 19

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2008

very nice movie

User review rating: 0 May 26, 2007

VERY SLOW MOVIE! Didn't like the direction of this movie. It's alright but not worth seeing in the theatre.

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2007

A very brilliant subject, handled very tactfully my Mira Nair. A situation that could be comprehended by any family - India or abroad. Brilliant acting. Overall a superb experience. - SM

User review rating: 0 May 17, 2007

You don't have to be Bengali to love and relate to this film. If you have any sort of other culture that you are trying to protect and pass on to your kids, SEE IT! If you are a parent and frustrated with your young adult's attitudes/lack of respect and or neglect, SEE IT; if you are a young adult who thinks they know all about life and that their parents can wait and be put on hold...SEE IT! It is beautiful, relevant and polished. I am encouraging everyone to see this fantastic and incredible glimpse into what life is really all about! The scenes in Calcutta and the Taj Mahal are magnificent. BRAVO!!

User review rating: 0 May 03, 2007

Absolutely wonderful!!!!!

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2007

A solid & instant classic. It has a good story,great acting & cinematography. I found it to be both engaging & touching in it's own unique way. It is a must see movie.

User review rating: 0 April 25, 2007

What a gripping, poignant movie about a young bengali who struggles to balance his traditional culture with American culture. Not only was the storyline amazing, but the acting was fantastic (go Kal Penn) and the whole movie was touching. I bawled my eyes out!! A definite must see!!

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2007

wonderful movie, great performance of all the cast. And of course, great director

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2007

I thought the movie was excellent, great acting by all.. but found the storyline to be slightly choppy at times

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2007

The Namesake is a definite must see movie for all South Asians. The movie does an exceptional job of confronting life’s realities for first generation youth who often grow up trapped between two diverse and often-conflicting cultures. Mira Nair showcases social and cultural interaction in a way that is highly entertaining for all audiences. Goldy

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2007

a very well made film.... worth watching!

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2007

excellent acting and vibrant story - a little slow in parts yet fully enjoyable ... a must see for the indian-pakistani youth...

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2007

I have`nt seen this movie but im going to and i love kal peen and its gonna be asome i just know it i will rite another comment after i see see it laterz dudes kal penn (L)\

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2007

This is a great dramatic movie. It is NOT a comedy. The movie was a realistic portrayal of the difficulties that new immigrants face when leaving their homeland. The adjustments and the compromises they have to make for their families is very real. Tabu and Irrfan Khan have real star quality. This story is really about their relationship and their son`s life choices. In the end, it`s about how parents sacrifice for their children to ensure they have opportunities to fulfill their dreams. It was very touching.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2007

I loved this movie, I want to buy it already! It should totally be released in more theatres, it was totally relatable for me since I am a bengali brought up here and it resembled my upbringing, but it was very moving for all audiences. I especially liked the performance by Irfan Khan. And I really liked the storyline and all the characters in general. A very sweet movie.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2007

excellent movie. it should be released in more theatres than just this one.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2007

WONDERFUL movie!!! Fantastic performances and a great adaptation of the novel. The theatre was packed when I went to see it and everyone seemed to love it.

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2007

wilmer valderama is awsome

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2007

I just can`t wait to see the movie. Sounds too interesting and maybe something we can relate to!

Change Location