The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.91 / 5

User rating: 3.91

Based on 156 votes and 56 reviews


  • User rating: 3.91 48.65%
  • User rating: 3.91 18.92%
  • User rating: 3.91 16.22%
  • User rating: 3.91 6.76%
  • User rating: 3.91 9.46%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 56

User review rating: 3 December 10, 2013

if you've seen any Buffy, you've seen this. If you liked Buffy, you'll like this.

User review rating: 1 December 08, 2013

The degree of plagiarism contained in this is a disgrace and the fact that Hollywood was willing to adapt it into a film is a shame

User review rating: 5 November 30, 2013

just love it!! watched it 3 times!! never watch a movie more then once!!

User review rating: 3 November 14, 2013

PRETTY GOOD MOVIE. WOULD WATCH ANOTHER ONE.

User review rating: 1 November 11, 2013

Too bad the didn't follow the book a bit more,I felt they tried to rush the story(even though the movie seemed to drag)Not enough character developement and not enough of the side stories which in the book are very important to getting to know the characters and tying certain elements together.

User review rating: 3 November 10, 2013

The movie is enjoyable even if you are not a fan of the books, although it can be a little confusing at some parts. Again this film has vampires and werewolf's like in many other films. This is more of a teen film, older people might find it not to their taste unless they are fans of the book. I am excited for the next film, but I won't mind waiting to see it once it is out on DVD.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2013

An amazing movie. Keeps you entertained from beginning to end. Amazing graphics and special effects as well.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2013

I really enjoyed this movie the writing stayed close to the book.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2013

It was a great movie.

User review rating: 4 November 05, 2013

Excellent movie, cant wait for it to come out on DVD

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2013

It was the best movie I have seen in a long time,I loved it so much I went out and bought the books,I cannot wait for the second one to come out!!

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2013

It was a good movie. I enjoyed the plot. I would like to read the book series now.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2013

I liked the story and all of the specials effects.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2013

This movie was amazing. I'm a huge fan of the book series and I loved that they took a lot of the lines directly from the book. Before seeing the movie, I wasn't really sure how I felt about the casting but after seeing the movie I think it was perfect. Definitely go see this movie even if you haven't read the book.

User review rating: 1 November 02, 2013

I thought this movie just went on and on and was just hard to get into.

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2013

I thought I would be lost as I hadn't read the book -- I was wrong ... This movie was great..full of action with a great story..can't wait to see the others.

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2013

Great Movie. I can't wait to see the rest of the films.

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

The movie was really good. It had a couple of changes from the book but I really enjoyed it. I really hope that they do the sequel for the movie.

User review rating: 3 October 30, 2013

After reading the book, this was not at all as I imagined. I had too much of an expectation. I think I would have enjoyed it far more if I had simply watched it. But it was still a good blockbuster movie.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

It is an excellent movie and original plot.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

This was an awesome movie full of action and mystery!!!

User review rating: 2 October 30, 2013

Somehow manages to be more convoluted, and more unwieldy, than the source novel.

User review rating: 3 October 29, 2013

I was actually expecting much better. It was ok.

User review rating: 3 October 29, 2013

Little slow paced,but all in all fairly good.No solid lines,in the plot.Everything bends a little.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

This movie was excellent and action packed right from the beginning to end. I would even consider this a good family movie if you have children ages 11 and up. So glad I watched this one!

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

I honestly thought this was a good movie to watch and don't understand why crictics and people over look movies and have to tare them apart. Good entertainment

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2013

loved it i have read all the books and seen this movie, and i got to say i loved it! the preview was good it explained most of the movie and it looked like most of the book came alive and i got to say to those people that have a different view in the movies they watch, well it's alright to dislike it, it's not like we need your negative opinion but yeah there's the pro's and con's to everything so yeah that's all i have to say.

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2013

i loved the movie it was like the book came alive!!!! well most of it lol but other then that i loved it ^_^

User review rating: 2 September 14, 2013

Should have followed the book more closely.

User review rating: 5 September 10, 2013

Amazing movie! Its one of those movies you could watch over and over again. Jamie and lily are good actors. Cant wait for the second one.

User review rating: 4 September 07, 2013

Thought it was a pretty good movie, changed some parts from the book, no biggie. Thought the 2 actors for Jace and Clary were good choices. Looking forward to a bigger and better sequel :)

User review rating: 3 September 06, 2013

Not a bad movie but really bad casting. Jace and Alec very bad choices. Jace looked like he should have been cast in the Rocky Horror Picture show

User review rating: 5 September 06, 2013

Loved this movie hope they make a sequal

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2013

Awesome movie I really enjoyed it and the books were really good.

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2013

Awesome book series and too all the haters out there saying crap about this movie, get a life :) just saying.

User review rating: 1 September 03, 2013

This was one of the worst movies I have seen and I see a lot of movies. The acting and story was poor and pointless. Save your money and wait for it to come out on TV for free. Should be about 6 weeks.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2013

AMAZING

User review rating: 4 September 01, 2013

Actors, did a great job! But the choices could have been a little better. Other than that I thought it was well done lots of action, an such. But should be rated pg13 at least!

User review rating: 2 August 31, 2013

Not bad of a movie. But since this is one of my fav seekers I have got to say very disappointed in the choice of some actors and actresses and the fact that it was way off from the book. Valentine, Magnus and jace like come on u could of done better. Valentines hair isn't even brown in the book. If ur going to make a movie based on a book at least try to keep the characters looking the same as the book. Very disappointed and wish it could of been made better.

User review rating: 3 August 29, 2013

Some of the actors chosen for the characters were good, Clary, Magnus, Valentine, Hutch, Joselyn maybe and Luke perhaps but I could not for the life of me see Jace in the actor chosen and Isabelle looks much older than 17 as well as Alec so a little hard to delve in - but as ALWAYS Jonathon Rhys Meyers performs to perfection as He is scary good!

User review rating: 5 August 29, 2013

Loved it! Of course it's a little different in parts from the book but that is to be expected. Really really enjoyed

User review rating: 3 August 29, 2013

the casting was way off. Lilly Collins & Lena were great choices but that was it. other than being less than impressed with the casting choices I was totally thrown off by the music. really terrible. catherine harwick should have directed it.

User review rating: 5 August 29, 2013

Overall, it was a great film. There were some parts that didn't follow the book as closely as I would have liked. But, as far as book-to-movie adaptations go this was one of the better ones I have ever seen. The action was good, the demons were scary, there was lots of action and most of the casts acting was exceptional.

User review rating: 2 August 28, 2013

Didn't read the book and this movie does nothing to encourage me to read it. Bad story, I could write better. Poor timing in the flow and action of this movie. Worse that Twilight series if that's possible.

User review rating: 4 August 28, 2013

it was very entertaining at some parts but not in others. It was WAY off from the book and I think that it really skipped out on making the characters deeper; although I did think that there were some crappy actors but there were also really good ones. I also found that it was too fast moving and although there was lots of action I found that they did not portray the emotion as great as they should and could have.

User review rating: 3 August 27, 2013

Okay for a movie but if you've read the book, it is WAY off. I was highly disappointed. Ps...It should be rated PG13 at least.

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2013

Great

User review rating: 5 August 27, 2013

never expected it to be this good best movie ever!!!!!

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2013

Loved it!!

User review rating: 2 August 25, 2013

I'm a big book to movie adaptation fan but this one is not great. Valentine was portrayed like a 30 something tailor trash villain with anger management issues and don't get me started on Magnus and Isabelle. I found it strange that Simon had bigger muscles than Jace but maybe D&D is better at building muscles than fighting demons. The plot was changed drastically secrets that where kept till the end of book three where reviled and the ending is so different I question how they will make a sequel. If you loved the books save your money and don't see it. It was an entertaining movie though the acting was hit and miss and some scenes where awkward.

Change Location