The Martian

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.21 / 5

User rating: 4.21

Based on 142 votes and 50 reviews


  • User rating: 4.21 57.14%
  • User rating: 4.21 22.86%
  • User rating: 4.21 8.57%
  • User rating: 4.21 7.14%
  • User rating: 4.21 4.29%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 50

User review rating: 4 February 20, 2016

I thought it was an awesome movie! Matt was very genuine in the movie and as much as the movie is about his character you don't tend to get bored as you are routing for him to survive. Got lost in the technical jargon somewhat but I'm pretty positive I wouldn't survive on Mars without ketchup!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2016

I LOVE DISCO MUSIC IN THE MARTIAN

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2016

Matt Damon really brings this movie to life. I enjoyed it.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2016

Smacks too much science fiction. Hard to follow. Very poor

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2016

Brilliant movie! A must see for those of us who remain human! If you don't laugh hard and cry a lot, please get a pulse check!

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2016

Best sci-fi musical comedy ever!

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2016

It's rare to find a science-fiction comedy that can make you tap your feet; The Martian is just such a rarity.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2016

Loved it!!!

User review rating: 0 December 14, 2015

Look, now if you want to skew the general viewpoint about this movie, that is OK, you have the right to do so. In my point of view, this is an excellent movie, with plenty of correct references. I am not going to stop here: visuals are mainly great, acting crew is solid, although all these many familiar names are a bit of overkill for me, storyline is really top notch (nobody can trump a story about the victory of humankind over an obstacle), although some elements like the Chinese people cheering about an American NASA astronaut are a bit excessive. Science-wise, we are looking great, making great math from everything - food, water, calculating this, calculating that... although I don't know if I would have come up with all of the details of various science fields that the main character applied and displayed.

User review rating: 3 December 08, 2015

too long

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2015

Fantastic.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2015

Viewpoint of a psychologist: An unexpected twist made this film not only great entertainment but provided an extraordinary life lesson. When Damon staples himself together and absorbs the reality that he is there alone, one year of food and at least four years till rescue, rather than sink into despair he comes up with "I'm going to science the shit out of this!" and proceeds to do just that. This is restated in the final scene with the class of astronauts. The value of the central theme far outranks occasional stretches in believablility.

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2015

Great adaptation of a very good book. As I read the book I could picture Matt Damon in the leading role. Loved everything about this movie. Ridley Scott has a way of directing that makes everything seem so real!

User review rating: 2 November 25, 2015

I truly don't mind watching Matt Damon; but this movie was really out of this world - not much of a story; but lots of imagination.

User review rating: 5 November 19, 2015

Best one of the year

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2015

Very good a hell of a story and a great effects it blew me out of my seat

User review rating: 2 November 18, 2015

Waaay too long... predicable( save your money). Acting is great for the story line but story line but could have been over in half the time

User review rating: 2 November 17, 2015

Crappy movie. Boring, simplistic. No real action, nothing original

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2015

I thought this was about the little green guy on The Flintstones...

User review rating: 4 November 10, 2015

What are people talking about? It was based on a lot of scientific fact. I'd like to know how they got all that equipment up there and set up...but that's beside the point. It was witty and a bit scary. And it wasn't that the Gov or NASA didn't want to spend the money, I felt that was palpable because they explained it very well. At first it was leave him there. Then they were basically forced to do something..and fast because of public opinion. Then other countries and scientists had to think of the math and logistics (FAST!) to get him back alive. Sure it seemed some issues were a bit of a stretch but everything had a well explained theory attached to it, from creating oxygen and growing crops on Mars to using the rover to drive 3500 miles and to get the rocket back into space with no nose on the end of it. It's like the movie Gravity or Cast Away, but different at the same time.

User review rating: 3 November 04, 2015

after 25 minutes I felt like I was stranded on Mars. Nobody would spend the $$ involved to retrieve him. Got long and tedious very quickly. Decent acting but totally unrealistic.

User review rating: 3 October 31, 2015

If I have to watch Matt Damon eat again with his mouth open while munching on nuts and talking I'll leave the theatre! Not a huge fan of this glamour always happy ending and so predictable Hollywood movie. Don't waste the money on 3D and if you want wait for it on Netflix.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2015

An excellent movie. The scientific and technological research fabulous. Acting suburb. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.

User review rating: 1 October 26, 2015

Liberal pablum. Realistic? they're going to spend hundreds of billions of dollars to bring back one astronaut? Really? and without a plan to actually pick him up from the planet, only to fly by?

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2015

Excellent from the beginning to the end. A really hopeful and positive outlook on the power of man to achieve greatness. I love the realism and felt like the story was not only plausible but technically possible. The acting was awesome. I could really feel this character's situation and that light touch of humor is just what everyone needs to survive in this world or .... on Mars!

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2015

The Martian had me captivated throughout the whole movie. It did not seem long at all - actually time passed by quickly. Enjoyed the space theme very much. Great movie!

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2015

It was good, not as good as I had anticipated, but not bad either. It was long, but I am not surprised because of all the time lapsing they had to do or else the film would have been 4 hours. I expected to spend more time on Mars with the main character, getting a good feel for the struggle of isolation and challenges he had to deal with, but he was so smart that things didn't seem as difficult as you might think.

User review rating: 5 October 18, 2015

Awesome

User review rating: 4 October 17, 2015

Loved it! Good entertainment! Humour and suspense!

User review rating: 2 October 16, 2015

Seen enough of Matt Damon in a suit..seems like just a continuation of Interstellar. nothing to write home about. was disappointed in the movie overall...science made little sense. I thin Damon is going down same rabbit hole and Tom Cruise did - doing only solo vehicles that make him look good. Hopefully he will work in a collaborative role next time!

User review rating: 2 October 16, 2015

it was cool.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2015

wow none stop entertainment

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2015

Inspiring!

User review rating: 5 October 11, 2015

I was skeptical about the length of the movie, but the time just flew by. It was really interesting, funny, tragic and heartwarming. Well worth seeing in the theatre.

User review rating: 5 October 11, 2015

Great

User review rating: 4 October 08, 2015

The movie was good, not amazing.

User review rating: 5 October 07, 2015

Without a doubt, worthy of recommendation.

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2015

Awesome movie, I loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2015

Xcellent...!

User review rating: 3 October 05, 2015

Pretty good movie. Science not as realistic as it was hyped to be. Slow as times. Doesn't compare with Apollo 13,

User review rating: 4 October 04, 2015

Five for Matt 4 on the rest. If you read the book perhaps some film is left on the floor so the film is missing some Wild West drama. Jeff Daniels role is very miscast which can only be overlooked by the rest of the casting

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2015

Loved it. I laughed. I cried. I was on the edge of my seat at times. Arms over my head in suspense. It was so great to be taken away in this movie for a few hours. Just enjoy it. Don't think too much.

User review rating: 5 October 03, 2015

I loved this movie! I loved the humour, the science , the ups and downs. I especially love when they take a movie all the way to the end and you can see what happens to everyone in the future. Minus a few sware words this would be a perfect movie for families!

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2015

I only would give this movie 3 stars...much too long..good performance by Matt Damon though. I was taken aback at the weight loss. Preferred Gravity and Castaway in movies with lone survivors...more substance.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2015

My husband and I saw this movie last night. I fell asleep after a few minutes. My husband was disappointed as well:(

User review rating: 5 October 03, 2015

Fantastic film. Matt Damon surprised us all. Dramatic but comedic, happy but sad. Definitely a Must-See for all who love the idea of survival and the costs of it.

User review rating: 5 October 03, 2015

This was awesome!! Even though it was totally unlike what the government would do - it was suspenseful and entertaining. Don't miss this one!

User review rating: 3 October 02, 2015

I really enjoyed this movie. Matt Damon was amazing, and despite anything seeming a little 'over the top' it was very entertaining. Even though the movie was 2 hrs. 20 mins, it didn't feel like it. Seeing this movie with 'Gravity' would be a great double bill.

User review rating: 4 October 02, 2015

I was thoroughly entertained. Unfortunately, the last 20 minutes of this excellent movie were so over the top regardless how hard I tried to suspend my belief I just could not buy into it. The shark was jumped so high it ruined the entire experience.

User review rating: 5 October 01, 2015

Totally enjoyed it ,a tad slow at times but that was part of what they were trying to portray...

Change Location