The Magdalene Sisters

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Magdalene Sisters Movie Poster

4.19 / 5

User rating: 4.19

Based on 2178 votes and 19 reviews


  • User rating: 4.19 69.84%
  • User rating: 4.19 12.37%
  • User rating: 4.19 1.06%
  • User rating: 4.19 0.92%
  • User rating: 4.19 15.82%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 19 of 19

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2007

Anti-religion propaganda.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2007

this has nothing to do with where it took place, these types of things were happening all around the world this just depicts one place. this just shows how warped people who think they are divine or have divine power to do whatsoever really are. if this is how they were taught to express their religion and beliefs then im glad im an athiest woman born in canada.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2006

I was so shocked.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2005

It`s amazing how the principles of mercy and compassion taught by Jesus became so perverted and twisted by the Church in 1960`s Ireland. The cruelty of nuns in the shower scene where they ridiculed and humiliated the body parts of the girls is equal to what was done to the prisoners at Abu Grave. How did the sex drive become so feared?

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2003

My mother was a single when she had me in Dublin, in 1978 and luckily her family was supportive because the thought of her enduring even a minute of that torture sickens me. I was disgusted at the behaviour that went on in the movie. The Catholic church is so narrow-minded and power hungry it`s scary. What`s even scarier though, is the fact that the families allowed this to happen to those they love. I hope this movie makes people realize how corrupt the Catholic church really is. Magdalene sisters gave me the same feeling that Schindler`s List did...a feeling of innate saddness.

User review rating: 0 November 08, 2003

One of the best movies I have ever seen.

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2003

Without a doubt this is one of the best films I have seen in a long time. The story was very disturbing and left me emotionally drained. The acting was incredible and the presentation of the look of the movie made it seem like the time period of the 1960`s. It has made me want to learn more about aother ugly chapter of the Catholic Church. So much has been written and talked about concerning the evil doings of the priests with young boys, which is just in the past few years coming out to think there were additional horror stories of the abuse to young women as well is just overwhelming. The most troubling part is families and church lead

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2003

this movie was very sad and the worst part was that it was happening to girls same age as myself when I was enjoying life and growing up.It made me vry sad and angry to see girls and women treated as they were by people supposedly Christians and there to help them.If ever I doubted religion this movie helped me make up my mind about it.I was even calling for the girl to stab the nun at the end and I`m not even a violent person.i just thought that was what she deserved.

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2003

This is what happens when the church gains to much control over women. And this is what can happen when no one reacts to it. Evil Thing do not happen where evil men (women) rule, but where good men (women) do nothing.

User review rating: 0 October 02, 2003

The merit of this movie is found in Peter Mullen`s ability to tell a story. Every aspect of this movie,though well-crafted, came second to the story- and that`s just as it should be. Well done.

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2003

One of the REALIST Movies I have seen all year! With some of the most Oscar worthy performances ever! Controversial, heartrentching, real, Girl interupted meets Agnes of god. Not the most cheerful movies ever, so don`t go if your down. Go if you are a realist, regarding 1960`s Ireland & Religions hipocrasy! AAA++++

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2003

Being of Irish heritage, I was disturbed by learning this about Ireland. My whole family is devout catholics, and they have always spoke highly of the Irish and Catholic church, and yet I`ve heard stories of how abusive/strict/legalistic the nuns were. I could almost accept this occuring if it had happend in the 1800`s or early 1900`s, but it more difficult to accept knowing this was occuring in the 60`s to 90`s and America, being the freedom fighter that we are, allowed this to take place. It`s horrifying.

User review rating: 0 September 16, 2003

I left the theater angry, angry with a Church whose long history has been less than "Christian" and angry with the drunken fathers and sons of Ireland. Frank McCourt set the stage for me with his book "Angela`s Ashes."

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2003

Yet more evidence to show the pain and injustice done in the name of religion. I think it`s karma that many of the abuses and atrocities committed by representatives of the Catholic church are finally coming to light. At this rate, the Catholic church will be out of business in America within 20 years--maybe sooner. Why would we want to keep this kind of pain and abuse around?

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2003

Hi, I am sorry i am not good in english.. That was a wonderful movie, but it is really depressed and very sad movie. I love to watch true story movie. i am glad they made this movie so all poeple could learn and know about true history of what happened in past time... I really like this movie and I am giving 4 stars...

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2003

I was horrified and saddened to learn that these "Laundries" went on until the 1990`s. I am gladdened by the fact that Peter Mullan brought The Magdalene Sisters bleak story to light. God help those women.

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2003

A disturbing exaggerated and distasteful mockery of the Catholic church

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2003

Sadly, this is based on a true story. Even more sadly, the film makers have distorted the truth and neglected the whole truth for the sake of selling tickets.

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2003

Sad but true telling tale of how unwed mothers were treated in the 1960s. The telling of these stories are long overdue. Excellent story.

Change Location