The Lives of Others

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Lives of Others Movie Poster

4.18 / 5

User rating: 4.18

Based on 110 votes and 15 reviews


  • User rating: 4.18 56.14%
  • User rating: 4.18 24.56%
  • User rating: 4.18 7.02%
  • User rating: 4.18 5.26%
  • User rating: 4.18 7.02%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 15 of 15

User review rating: 0 August 07, 2007

great movie

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2007

The Lives of Others is an intimate look at the consequences of a country caught inside a trap of totalitarian surveillance. I say "intimate" because the maker of this film dares to personalize de-personalizing interactions between people on either side of the despotic divide - watcher or watched. But if this were merely what the film was about, it wouldn't be worth watching. The premise of the story is simple enough: take one character who is slavishly loyal to "the system" and then push that loyalty to the limits of human tolerance. The result is a powerful and gripping tale that poses a very important question for us all: what price freedom and just how far would you go in defence of it?

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2007

A great film!!

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2007

went in knowing nothing about movie. subtitles set be back a bit but a great movie. strong character development.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2007

a must see. great movie.

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2007

A very interesting story line, but could have cut out an hour out of the film. Go in with limited expectations, and you will enjoy it.

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2007

Too much hype: I haven`t seen a film as over-hyped as this since I had to endure "Cache"

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2007

It is a really good movie.. good acting, story line.. and very heart felt.. strongly recommand.. definitely a must see

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2007

My wife and I visited east Germany in 1978 when the communist party was still in power and the gap between the east and west parts of Germany was at its most extreme. We visited relatives in east Berlin and Dresden and ran into the state police(Stazi) several times as we moved through the country and neglected to register our new address as required. This movie perfectly captures the paranoia and fear that her relatives lived under and the terrible consequences that a remark or mistake could have on their lives. DM, Oakville

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2007

I saw this film at the Toronto International Film Festival and after the credits rolled, the audience erupted into a very well deserved standing ovation. A masterful screenplay, terrific acting and terse direction account for The Lives of Others as my pick as the best film of 2006.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2007

A well paced, insightful view of life under Erich Honecker`s GDR, and the gripping awakening of human spirit in a Stasi officer. A must see for anyone interested in politics, power, human spirit.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2007

An exceptionally great movie.

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2007

I really loved this movie.It was wonderfull.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2007

I`d say it was the best movie of the year. . .but, wait a moment. . .it`s only February! OK, the best movie of the 21st Century? Well, maybe not quite (Pan`s Labyrinth is pretty special). The Lives of Others is deep, engaging. . .beautifully scripted, wonderfully acted, with barely a false note. And the ending`s to die for!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2007

Excellent!

Change Location