The Libertine

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Libertine Movie Poster

3.62 / 5

User rating: 3.62

Based on 346 votes and 31 reviews


  • User rating: 3.62 47.12%
  • User rating: 3.62 14.14%
  • User rating: 3.62 13.61%
  • User rating: 3.62 3.66%
  • User rating: 3.62 21.47%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 31 of 31

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2007

i was little confused by this movies right from the beginning, I LOVE JOHNNY!!!!. but that movie was a ittle to dark for me , but just because he was in that all that mattered. His performance was outstanding, no matter what he does, you won`t find an anctor that is as versitiale as he is and he will do a movie that he knows that is going to effect people. not caring for what people think.

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2007

Depp and Malkovitch! How can you lose??? You KNOW its going to be full of intense entenres, and you need to be sharp witted to drink it all in... Lavish and luscious!

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2006

i found this movie very interesting and deep. the performences were what is is expected when faced with excellence. i felt while watching this film, the way it was presented drew you into the kaotic state of the earl.. the morals and (if you like) karma were brilliantly explained. i thoroughly enjoyed this film.

User review rating: 0 August 01, 2006

Couldn`t make it through the first 45 minutes. Boring, boring, boring. Not at all thought provoking, nor providing anything of substance. Waste of a talented cast.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2006

Johnny Depp`s performance is intense, stunning and deeply profound. No actor today puts as much of his/her soul into a role as Mr. Depp. I sincerely hope that come Oscar time the Academy sees fit to nominate him for his wonderful portrayal in Libertine and honors itself by awarding him an Academy Award. Novody deserves it more.

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2006

Terrible movie. The talents of Johnny Depp, John Malkovich, and Samantha Morton are completely wasted. Not sexual at all, despite the build-up. Horribly edited.

User review rating: 0 April 26, 2006

In the words of John Wilmot:The people who hate you fall in to two categories the stupid and the anvious. I find this saying to be too true in the jugement of this movie. You such as hate it or love it. The people who love it will love it forever. It is usually a lack of understanding in the significance of this movie that causes some people to hate it. Given time they will understand the ethical and moral meaning behind Rochester`s actions and writings. Afterwards, whether they agree or not with the Earl`s way of thinking, they will have no choice but to appreciate this movie, not for the actors (though I must say Jonny did do a bang-up job)

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2006

The Libertine in my opinion, is a wonderful movie, its` genre and appeal reminded me a lot of Les Miserables, which I absolutely loved. Like Les Miz, The Libertine is at times depressing, excessively raunchy, murky, filthy (in more ways than one!) but also, like Les Miz, full of more "meat" than a 2 ton elephant. For those who consider themselves literary affectionados and enjoy a good "meaty" story that you can really get your teeth into-, this book is a veritable feast! There are so many plots and turns, relationships and little "stories" within the story that it is a treasure trove for those who may be looking deeper than just the su

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2006

All I can say is that any movie with Johnny Depp is guarranteed to be good.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2006

I can only think of one friend that I would recommencd this movie to. It is definitely not for everyone. However, I was enthralled from beginning to end. Johnny Depp is in a league of his own. It is a travesty that this amazing actor does not have an Oscar yet. What does he have to do?

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

I was so disapointed in this movie. If not for my need for a Johnny movie, I probably would have walked out. He was great as usual. But the storyline was weak. They really needed to show what this guy was like. It dealt a little on his drinking but didn`t really go into his decadent lifestyle. Oh well Jack Sparrow is coming soon ladies. Oh to dream!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

Ok I have waited along time to see this movie. It seems like there was alot of editing. I would have liked to see how the Earl(johnny Depp)got to where he looked liked at the end. I was expecting a really explicite movie. And it showed nothing.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2006

I was captivated from beginning to end. If you are at all familiar with the indifference excess knowledge of life can drive one into, then this movie is like a breath of fresh air. Johny Depp was Marvelous. I learned a lot!!!

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2006

OK movie. Difficult to follow the story at times.

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2006

OK movie. Difficult to follow the story at times.

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2006

Parents Beware ....Missed the sticker on the poster with the warnings. Didn`t last too long in the theatre with my 14-year-old. We left pretty early in the movie. If I hadn`t been so uncomfortable I know I would`ve found the rest of the movie intriguing and what I saw of Johnny Depp convinced me yet again of his awesome talent. This movie in my opinion should not be 14A but have a retricted rating.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2006

Meh, johnnys really hot but this was not his best performance ever. He is rarely a bad actor but in this he is. I mean he was okay, but could`ve done a lot better to his performance in this movie. He could of brought out his character a lot more and just widened his acting horizons. If you like johnny, see this movie because he takes a large part in it. But if you dont like him, then this movie is not for you, so dont waste your time.

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2006

This film is sort of a thinking-man`s Scarface. If you don`t "get it," then it`s just not for you. The Libertine is about the dangers of excess and one man`s spiral into the vortex that absolute indulgence creates. Dangerous Liaisons has been my favorite film these fifteen years. It now has competition. John Malkovich originated the character of John Wilmot on the stage, and ONLY Johnny Depp could fill his acting shoes in a role like this. This is Depp`s finest--no qualifiers, no bull--finest performance yet.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

This was one of the most powerful performances I`ve ever seen by Johnny Depp. He always chooses the most interesting characters to play, and this one is no different. I loved him, I hated him, I laughed with him, and I pitied him. It doesn`t get any better than that. An appreciation for the era is definitely an asset when you see this film, the story is much easier to understand if you understand the period. All of the actors did a fantastic job on this film, and the costumes and setting were as close to perfect as you can get without having been there yourself. I recomemend it to everyone, with the reminder that it earns it`s film rating...

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

This movie is attempting to disguise it`s disjointed plot, lack of character development and questionable subject matter as controversial. I`m all for movie`s about sex, but such an overt display of it where it means to be taken seriously...? I give Johnny Depp credit for being a good actor but it would be nice if this movie hd some decent lines for him to say, instead of relying on his Captain Jack Sparrow swagger.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

sweet jesus!! i have seen all of johnny depps movies (honistly i have, seriusly) and this is, if not his best, one of his best performances i have ever seen him do. he was amazing throughout the film but by the 3rd act his protryal was jaw dropping, everyone in the audience was amazed. who ever dosent like this movie only dident like it cuz they dont understand the art of shake-spearian language. the story made a big turn towards the third act that was un-experced and very well done, very orignal film. i have no doubt in my mind that if this came out during oscar time that he would of been nominated, i sware to god. please dont lissin to the

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

This is not a movie for every one. However, Johnny Depp sure knows how to pick his movies....he was incredible as usual. He can plan any role and make it interesting. He is probably one of the best actor of his era.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

Jonny Depp fans look out..... if you are into mid 1600`s soft porn, a weak story line and have nothing else to do - then this is your movie. But if you sit and think "I can`t leave the theatre, it must get better as it goes along" it doesn`t. Trust me.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

A strange story, one that only Depp could do. Well done!!

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

One of the absolute worst movies I have seen in years.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

I left the movie having learned nothing and not really knowing what the plot was really about.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

Johnny Depp gave an Oscar-winning performance... I hope the Academy will still remember him at Oscar time. The actual movie is difficult to judge, but I say it is worth seeing just for Johnny.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2006

this movie sucks what was jhonny deep thinking

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

Jonny Depp of course is brilliant, The story is long, But Depp delivers an award winning performance, but the story is still long

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

This was really awful. Depp sure does know how to pick em. He`s so strange.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2006

THE LIBERTINE IS BRILLIANT!!! JOHNNY DEPP GIVES AN OSCAR WINNING PERFORMANCE!!!

Change Location