The Last Samurai

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Last Samurai Movie Poster

4.40 / 5

User rating: 4.40

Based on 49090 votes and 330 reviews

  • User rating: 4.40 84.68%
  • User rating: 4.40 0.31%
  • User rating: 4.40 0.24%
  • User rating: 4.40 0.30%
  • User rating: 4.40 14.47%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 330

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2008

Dances with samurais. Cruise was disappointing but Watanabe really shone and should have had a larger role.

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2006

Katsumoto`s personality was awesome he was perfect and a true hero

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2006

Ken Watanabe and Tom Cruise were great in this movie. It has been on 16 times in the past month and I havent missed very many of the shows. I just love the movie.

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2006

I was fasinated by the depiction of a Japanese culture that is peaceful, beautiful and desireable in many ways. Tom Cruise and the rest of the "Samurai" cast display the true honor, diginity and respect that defined the life of Japanese individuals during this period.

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2006

I Loved Itand have watched it at least 12 times already...Ken Watanbe Should have won the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor...I have seen

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2005

The Last Samurai is a very great movie put well together, Tom cruise playing the role of a man who is lost in his life...pulling himself back together meeting a Master Samurai while at war with him trains to become a samurai. Such a great story and definitely a 5 Star movie without a doubt.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2005

exellent movie.tom was the best in the film

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2005

I fell asleep while watching this movie.. There`s nothing thrilling there...

User review rating: 0 June 16, 2005

Sleeping with the wife of the man you killed aint me.

User review rating: 0 May 25, 2005

I thought that the last samurai was a great film jam packed full of action and adventur. i also thought that the music for all the major battle seens and pease time scenes was amazing and who ever performed and composed it whants to be extreamly proud.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2005

this was an absolutely astonishing movie! Although an action movie, it has alot to think about, and is more about disappearing culture and finding who you are. the last battle scene was kinda gruesome.

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2005

it`s great and educational!

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2005

I thought it was a very welcomed Hollywood take of a very important time in feudal Japan. Finally, an American made film, where hurtful stereotypes are not used. What they have done is given a segment of Japanese culture, Bushido/The Samurai, the respect it deserves. What would have put it over the top for me was if they totally did away with the "pretty boy Hollywood" touches throughout the film. Such as, how Tom Cruise`s character manage to survive a savage beating from Ujio, in their "wooden sword" (bokken) fight in the rain near the start of the film. He was tagged several times in the face. Yet the next day he shows up with nothing bu

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

I loved how they brought Japanese custom into contrast with Americans`, showing differences and simularities. The way he gains trust is utterly realistic, and the lessons taught are impeccable. The scenery of New Zealand and Japan are amazing. Koyuki, who plays Taka, is a beautiful woman and an exceptional actress, and Tom Cruise was surprising in this film. His Japanese is spoken well. I would rate this a 5-star movie, because it is just that perfect.

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2004

A great lesson to be learned.

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2004

Didn`t think I would enjoy it, but I did. Ver captivating. Ken Watanabe--HOT! Every word was said with thought, feeling...Did I mention he is HOT! Should stick with the shaved head....oh yeah, HE IS HOT!

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2004

Watanabe - san (Katsumoto) was a Great Surprise for me, I discovered Japan for myself and just enjoyed the depth of the film

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2004

What a beautiful movie. Very touching, and very sad. A nice family movie about courage and believing in yourself.

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2004

People say "The Last Samurai" is a sad story. But when i saw it, indeed i felt sad but i love it because the story was touching and it made me cry...

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2004

I thought the movie was excellent simply because Katsumoto (Ken Watanabe) gave it his all, not to mention stole my heart and ok ok I admit, maybe made me sweat a little *giggles like a school girl*

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2004

This movie has one of the best plots in the history of movies. Ken Watanabe dose an amazing job as Katsumoto. 5 STARS!!!! A MUST SEE!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2004

Excellent! No need for any other words!

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2004

I`m angry... Academy`s neglecting Last Samurai was a huge crime... What kind of politics was that!? I`ve been a Academy fan for long time, but this crime totally changed my viewpoint. Last Samurai is work of art. I`ve never known "acting" can bring out such an impact on story. Not only Tom & Ken Watanabe but Koyuki, Hiroyuki Sanada and even children act so well...Just incredible...

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2004

excellent movie. great story. fantastic acting. tom cruise best one ever. ran out and bought the DVD

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2004

It Was such an awesome and touching film the end was so sad and to think what my japanese ancestors went through

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2004

Absolutely breath taking.. I would really like to let Edward Zwick know how much I loved this movie. I think most people underestimate this movie.. Sure a lot of people think it`s a really good movie.. But it`s much more than just a `good movie` it isn`t a good movie, its the best of all good, great and amazing movies.. it tops them all. I honestly cried at the end I got so attached to these characters I honestly felt when Algren-san (Nathen Algren) `Helped` Katsumoto preform Seppuku... It was so sad... I am a big Japan freak And I`ve been studying Japan and it`s language for Seven years now. I love it!

User review rating: 0 May 10, 2004

it was sooooo good. Not as good as lotr but close competition . Reallly good a must see!!!!!!!!!!!! Godd job you guys!!!! GKR

User review rating: 0 May 03, 2004

I think it was a well done movie and Tom Cruise deserved a lot more credit for his role then people gave him. Definately one of the years best films!

User review rating: 0 April 24, 2004

An inspiration film about the human spirit...reminded me of Braveheart. Quite suprised it didn`t receive more nominations at the Oscars.

User review rating: 0 April 22, 2004

Very powerful and moving. A definite must see, if you enjoyed Gladiator and the like.

User review rating: 0 April 17, 2004

Best movie of all time

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2004

Extremely good story and acting

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2004

It is not an acting .

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2004

Incredible film! Tom cruise should have at least been nominated for an oscar!!!

User review rating: 0 April 01, 2004

Ken Watanabe is great!!I love this movie.Nature,the last battle scene,make-up,Japanesse actors,costumes...and Ken Watanabe:-)I have enjoyed this great movie!Really great!!

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2004

Last Samurai is one of the best movies ever seen, very emotional story, excellent director,excellent actors, thrilling sequences and sensitive scenes and powerful music, Thank you to Hans Zimmer. Wonderful pictures. Best role of Tom Cruise, but most congratulations for his performance has to go the great Ken Watanabe as Katsumoto who gave this film his depth and character. I am so sorry that he didnt get the oscar He really would have deserved it. I remained most moved, too after having seen this film five times, or better, always more moved. ****** stars for this extraordinary motion Picture. Gabi from Munich/Germany

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2004

One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. i am not a Tom Cruise fan, but this movie is terrific. There were so many moments when the movie could have been ruined by the usual hollywood garbage. I was so happy when it was not.

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2004

very well done, great action

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2004

It was awsome! All the actors were superb, espeacially Ken Watanbe (Katsumoto). It was violent but not at all unnessesary. I am a Japanesse freak and if your like me, you have to see this movie!

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2004

DO NOT see Last Samurai if you like animals. The treatment of horses in the last battle scene is atrocious. Shameful.

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2004

Tom cruise is great actor.I like this movie. This movie is great.

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2004

I hate Tom Cruise but the movie itself, for someone who lived in Japan over 10 years, was a triumph. It was a rare tribute to the transient Meji era where the old and new of Modern Japan merged in a path deserving of its heritage...a violent martial joining.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2004

The film felt authentic but occasionally trotted out a few well-worn visual cliches. Tom Cruise has had his day as a film star.

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2004

very well done, great action, interesting plot, ? if a true story or based on any hearsay?

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2004

I loved Tom Cruise`s portrayal of this tormented character adn the backdrop of NZ as the setting was sheer brilliance

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2004

Best movie! Fantastic! I love it!

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2004

The movie was very very good. There is no doubt that some very good solid acting took place and recent academy awards of best supporting actor were very close but Tim Robbins unfortunately did a fantastic job with Mystic River. This movie showed a truth about how progress and technology can momentarily sidetrack our values with regards to spirituality or materialism. In the end....well I can`t really tell you the rest of the story can I? I strongly recommend it for the reflective person. Enjoy....

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2004

I absoloutly loved this film, great action sequences as well as a diverse plot that I have come to expect from Tom Cruise. This is another addition to the GREAT movies he has done.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2004

Brilliant cross cultural film making. Paying homage to the old japanese samurai films. Powerful acting and battle scenes yet elegant. I was expecting another potentially great film fall short and be tainted by Hollywood but no it was not the case here. Hope to see more films like this in the future

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2004

Pretty boring. Tom Cruise needs a hit. Usually I like his movies but he`s trying too hard for an Oscar. Good costumes. This film had good potential but it fizzled quickly.

Change Location