The Interpreter

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Interpreter Movie Poster

3.92 / 5

User rating: 3.92

Based on 895 votes and 84 reviews


  • User rating: 3.92 55.04%
  • User rating: 3.92 17.38%
  • User rating: 3.92 8.30%
  • User rating: 3.92 3.59%
  • User rating: 3.92 15.70%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 84

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2006

I`m not really sure if I liked this film or not. It didn`t have a lot of hype over it, for having two big stars being in it. It`s just the typical genre, you neither like it or you don`t.

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2006

Did not make sense at all. Why did she go to get on that bus unless she was part of the plot? And if that`s the case, why did she want the agents to know that she was getting on that bus (she had the one guy drive her there).

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2006

Awesome, thrilling plot! kinda dragged out, but i definitely will buy the movie! nicole kidman was perfect for the role, and sean penn was good too. the crying scene was awkward though. but overall, great movie!

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2005

Waste of time, wasn`t all that it was hyped out to be.

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2005

Just great. Very entertaining..it was nice to see Sean Penn in a movie without him swearing through the whole thing. I was worried I wouldn`t understand it because it was a political psychological thriller but they did explain as they went along.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2005

meh if ur bored and are looking for a thriller to kill some time, its decent. however if ur looking for a thriller to amuse u, The Interpreter only does 30% of its job

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2005

this movie was dissapointing. i thought it would be much better. i can`t tell if they were trying to work some kind of love connection in between nicole kidman and sean penn. their dramatic scenes together were totally dumb and the ending should`ve been better. ididnt like that she went back to africa. what`s up with that. oh well. i only paid 3 bucks

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2005

It was good a little...but who the hell made Sean Penn go in the movie?

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2005

great suspense... great symbolism... what can i say? i love kidman

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2005

The movie keeps you guessing till the end. Overall a good movie to see.

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2005

I really enjoyed this film. It kept me entertained, and the acting was really good.

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2005

Movie was very slow in parts, and difficult to follow - Perhaps because at times the actors sounded like they had marbles in their mouths. Sub-titles may have helped some scenes. At times I wasn`t sure that they were even speaking English. Although I continue to try, I am still not a Kidman fan.

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2005

Creative, exciting & cynical. This is a movie that requires high caliber acting & I think that was accomplished.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2005

The interpreter is a great movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2005

A powerful plot with intelligent twists and conversations. Viewers are also given more insight into the dark history of Africa. (Exciting and Educational!)In addition to the political suspense and moral issues, the acting talents of Nicole and Sean has most certainly brought forward a most thrilling 2 hour movie. Nicole Kidman, Sean Penn, both of you are the best!

User review rating: 0 June 01, 2005

This movie just made 3 stars. Another great performance from Sean Penn. Plot and story line were typical...

User review rating: 0 May 26, 2005

Very Good movie all around. It seemed long though. Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn were at their best. It`s worth seeing it at the cheap theatre($5, $2 Matinee here at Calgary) or for the regular price($10.95). The movie was only a little over 2 hours long but it felt like 2.5-3 hours long.

User review rating: 0 May 23, 2005

The plot was incredibly strong and very believable. Kidman and Penn were compelling in their roles. Added to that is the great cinematography. The Interpreter is a solid movie all around.

User review rating: 0 May 17, 2005

this is an amazing movie i have ever seen.the story is amazing though you have to think where is the message.i loved it.specially nicole kidman and sean penn was amazing.its truly entertaining and a good movie with good acting.i appriciate the directors talent and agaon penn and kidman.you are great.

User review rating: 0 May 16, 2005

goof movie go see it 5s

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2005

A very good movie until after the bus scene, then it falls apart. Scene involving Kidman, Penn and African President very Hokey, and should have been eliminated. Unfortunate.

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2005

The plot is definitely suspenseful. Overall I don`t regret paying that 7.5 bucks even penn underperformed in some scenes and made them kind of awkward

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2005

Excellent movie, great story line, however you have to pay complete attention or you may get lost!

User review rating: 0 May 12, 2005

I thought this was a wonderful film,great acting from Kidman and Penn. It seems that unless there is action every minute, people are bored, so I do not recommend this for(late teens and twenties). Hello!!!! there is a story here!!!! ADULTS ONLY PLEASE!!!!!

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2005

fanstastic, intelligent movie! Lots of suspense. Great role for Kidman. Nice to see an intelligente woman`s role. (PS for the person who thought it was a "chick flick" - if the person in Kidman`s role was a male would you say that?)

User review rating: 0 May 08, 2005

Good movie but could have been cut down a fair bit. Sean Penn`s acting was very good.

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2005

Wonderfully suspenseful. Writing was a little strained at times. Overall great movie. Entertaining.

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2005

Very well done. The suspense builds throughout the movie and is not just thrown into one`s face. People...you have to wait for it... that`s what makes it suspenseful! Good performances by Kidman and Penn - I was glad to see he can be just as effective and engaging when playing a `quiet` character as when he goes all out and over the top! If you think a movie should be like an amusement park ride.. don`t see this film ... you`ll be disappointed.

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2005

The world has been going through hell. The movie represents the fact that we should always stand for the things that we support. It`s important to be on our own way. Lastly I want to say no more kepela....

User review rating: 0 May 05, 2005

Great film.. Intersting and gripping. Nicole Kidman and Sean Penn are really good!!!

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2005

Well rounded film that kept my ineterest despite the slower pace. More of a thinking movie than simple action. Younger crowds may find it boring, but for fans of The Firm, Pelican Brief, Patriot Games etc, you should find it to your liking. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

User review rating: 0 May 03, 2005

I would not buy or rent this movie when it comes out. It was very long and drawn out. Previews made it look like it should have been a really good, fast-paced movie, so beware.

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2005

This movie wasn`t that great ... I don`t know what most people are saying in the fact that it had "suspense" ... to be honest, there hardly was any suspense and was quite boring ... overall, not enough action and was a waste of my money ... 3/5 stars

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2005

Nicole was not an eye sore. She held the movie together, but there was hardly enough action and the movie got quiete boring at times. Not worth the money to go and see unless you are part of the +35 crowd.

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2005

Wow, Wayyyyyyyyyy better than I imagined it to be. Full of great suspense, and it also keeps you thinking as well. The best movie I`ve seen in a while. I highly recommend it!

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2005

Great movie, definitely worth seeing. Nicole Kidman gave a stunning performance. The only problem is the end, it truly feels as if something is missing, but otherwise fantastic political thriller!!!

User review rating: 0 April 30, 2005

Funnier than Cable Guy and Das Boot put together!!!

User review rating: 0 April 30, 2005

I did not take this film as a protest against the war, or a negative view of American politics, as some other views have stated. It was not the American government that was the issue in this film. If it was, I would have taken offence, and I did not. So do not be afraid of seeing this movie if you are pro-American. Over-all, well done, if slow in some parts.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2005

I found the movie to be politically charged. The story was impressive none-the-less. Worth seeing.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2005

Yikes, another stinker to be aware of. The editing of one scene with Nicole goes back and forth with two entirely different hair styles which made me dizzy. What a waste of talent in this movie...

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2005

What an excellent film. Some parts, especially the opening, really bring forward some of the atrocities that are a fact in the present day world. The inner politics of the UN, and the arrogance of the American culture is also pronounced, which makes this movie not only a good investment of the admission to the theatre, but also allows the viewer to walk away with a better understanding of politics both inside and outside of North America.

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2005

kick a$$ movie

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2005

YEAAAAAA GREAT MOVIE

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2005

Great movie

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2005

It was slow at times but, overall not a bad movie.

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

At last a political thriller that examines the essence of how power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely; Nicole does a profound job of demonstrating how time can elude an individuals intention.

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

It was so boring i almost fell asleep

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

The movie is so awsome, like come on i am 12 and i loved the movie. Nicole is exellent Sean is awsome and of coarse Catherine also did a fine job. All three need a academy award nomination and hopefully win. I would say the best thriller i have ever seen. It has suspense, action in a different way and it has a lot of thinking. You have to be awake from the begining to the end or you wont get nothing.

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

this is my favorite political thriller of the year......the acting was superb(i think nicole did one hell of a job), the story grabbed you from the beginning and lets you guess until the very end.....just a good movie....ohh and if you need another reason to see this movie,lemme just say Ashton Kutcher is NOT in it....

User review rating: 0 April 27, 2005

I had the pleasure of seeing this movie in New York city last friday. I enjoyed it totally. Nicole Kidman gave a stuning performance and although I have only seen Sean Penn in "The assasination of Richard Nickson", which I did not like, I thought he did a spendid job of his part. All in all a riviting story very well done! Just go for the fun of it!!

Change Location