The Impossible

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.13 / 5

User rating: 4.13

Based on 168 votes and 50 reviews


  • User rating: 4.13 41.46%
  • User rating: 4.13 42.68%
  • User rating: 4.13 8.54%
  • User rating: 4.13 2.44%
  • User rating: 4.13 4.88%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 50

User review rating: 4 February 21, 2014

A great family movie everyone should watch. A little movie that gets across the trials and tribulations and helplessness when Mother Nature comes calling. Least when you expect it and unprepared....what would YOU do? Makes you think real hard. The eldest boy's acting is a star in the making, most definitely.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2013

Great and interesting movie.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2013

Overwhelming, and emotional, but definitely worth it.

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2013

Kept me on the edge till the end !

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2013

This is a movie that can make you cry, very amazing acting by those kids, though do not see a oscar nomination in Naomi Watts performance.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Very well-made, touching film about life and how it can be so drastically changed in an instant. Shows the true struggles and joys of life. Very emotional film. Would recommend for sure because of stunning filmography and great acting.

User review rating: 4 November 12, 2013

Very realistic depiction of the 2004 Tsunami in Thailand. The story of one family's struggle to survive the tsunami and re-unite.

User review rating: 4 November 09, 2013

great visuals -

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2013

Very emotional movie, great choice of actors, amazing play. Very touching and felt like i was in the movie. For sure will watch it again.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2013

Riveting movie. Loved how all the actors played their roles. The writers were able to show the compassion everyone had in looking out for one another while dealing with their own pain.Great movie about survival against all odds and about strength and love in a family.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2013

This movie has you in tears almost right away and it doesn't quit until the end...it's terribly sad and eye-opening to the traumatic event that happened that day. Amazing movie! Great actors especially the kids.

User review rating: 4 November 05, 2013

This was a very good movie made all the more captivating by the fact that it was based on a true story. It held my attention all the way through. The acting was great especially Naomi Watts.

User review rating: 3 November 04, 2013

Another movie that tell a story based on the tsunami in Thailand. Sensitive, and sad at times. The ending felt somewhat strained and unreal. But was still a good watch.

User review rating: 4 November 03, 2013

We saw the screening in Vancouver and the crowd response was positive. Good performances from the cast involved, and the film showed the sheer force and devastation brought about by natural disasters. So very devastating.

User review rating: 3 November 02, 2013

Amazing cinematography as able to "experience" what it is like to be engulfed by water & debris. A real sense of helplessness and loss during and after the catastrophe. It was sad that the family were only slightly scarred and were able to leave but locals were left with insurmountable devastation.

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2013

A touching movie with a lot of drama & suspense.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2013

It is impossible to be as realistic as this film! It is impossible that this film does not touch our hearts!

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2013

Great film. If you cry easily while watching films, prepare the whole box of Kleenex for yourself. Very emotional and acting was fantastic in this film.

User review rating: 4 November 01, 2013

A story about surviving a catastrophe and beating the odds, The Impossible justifies its title in every way. There are no glossed-over effects or melodramatic exchanges here. This is the true story of a family torn apart by the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami and brought back together by love and determination. Watts and McGregor shine in every scene, particularly Watts, who journeys through the physical and emotional ringer. Tom Holland is also fantastic as the eldest son. A film to watch if you are looking for courage and inspiration.

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2013

Wow, an amazing movie...My husband and I had shivers and watery eyes...

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2013

This movie is a heartwarming and heart-wrenching tale of human survival. Break out the Kleenex and prepare to be inspired!

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2013

academy award material

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2013

What a movie. Love seeing movies based on true stories. Amazing how they survived and all the near misses of finding each other. The strength of a family love striving to be together once again through a devastating disaster.

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

An incredible story presented well!

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

I don't think I've ever felt so much distress or cry so much while watching a movie. The Impossible is painfully good. One of the best movie I've seen this year.

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

I thought it seemed realistic as I've seen numerous movies on this subject.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Very Emotional,keeps your attention throughout the movie.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

A film that is completely carried by it's outstanding cast and their emotional and beautiful portrayal of this real life amazing story. Ewan McGregor and Naomi Watts are in top form, as are their onscreen children.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

This movie was gripping. I was crying and scared at several different moments in the film. Excellent watch.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

Great movie

User review rating: 5 May 15, 2013

When I went to see this at the local theatre, everyone in the theatre was moved to tears. Your heart reaches out not only to this family who actually lived this, but the many who suffered. Tom Holland did an outstanding job in portraying the real boy. And so did Naomi Watts, and Ewan McGregor. I will be buying the blue-ray as one to show friends. Can only say this was really underrated, but will be an unforgettable classic.

User review rating: 4 April 16, 2013

Most underrated movie of 2012

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2013

How did this get an oscar nomination? Bad acting dialogue and far too much of a hollywood feel. I went to see this with my wife last night, and even she didn't cry at all.

User review rating: 2 February 12, 2013

let down. emotions in the movie were too forced, it didnt do justice to the true story this is based on. still gave it a 2nd star for the story it was based on, which is still touching.

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2013

This movie was dissapointing. Considering the bad acting on the part of the male lead, the lack of showing many of the other survivors (instead seemingly having tunnel vision on the main couple), and the way they really tried to polish everything up dissapointed me greatly. No surprise here that it didn't get more than one oscar nomination, and that that one was for Naomi Watts.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2013

I am trying to become an professional actor like Tom Holland,as Tom has given me hope and made it more believable for me to become a actor like him, I aspire to achieve greatness and star in awesome movies like THE IMPOSSIBLE good luck to you Tom as I will be trying to be like you in a few years time! :D Thank You!

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2013

This movie is absolutely brilliant a master piece,especially the actor Tom Holland,he is a fantastic actor who I one day aspire to like,I just wish him the best of luck in his high potential future as a professional actor.I idolise Tom Holland as he has shown the true potential of a young teenager (like my self) and the great things you can achieve with hard work and belief.I one day wish I could have the opportunity to achieve greatness like Tom, as I know he will be awesome in his future movies, Good Luck! :D

User review rating: 1 February 07, 2013

to the person justifying only white folks in a disaster where they're a minority. imagine a movie about 9/11: an American (colored family; say Chinese or whatever else is invisible in America) featured but none of the locals (whites?) have much of a speaking part at all. maybe a few extras here and there [same scenario] except you might object that Asian (Chinese?) Americans can only be found in 'chinatown' (or they aren't important; or no one wants to see 'them colored' Americans, etc. seriously one sided. Red Dawn/Olympus Has Fallen 'anti-slant'

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2013

To the person asking if there is only white folks. Ummmm we all no it was not just white folks. However the movie does surround the events of that one family's story so I think it's fair to say there is only so many other people they could tell a story about in a just under 2 hour movie. We all know there was a lot more people that lost lives and were effected by this event.

User review rating: 3 January 30, 2013

It could it be better since was based on a true story,good effects but terrible acting of the boy, they missed to show more survivors when in the water, it looked as if they had been the only ones which took away veracity :(

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2013

Loved this One,kept me hoping for a Happy Ending!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2013

This was a wonderful, moving picture with amazing special effects. It should have been nominated for Best Picture!

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2013

Amazing film, I love Naomi Watts!! it was so sad and the acting was great !

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2013

An incredible survival story. Beautifully acted and directed. Definitely my favorite 2012 movie. Naomi Watts in my mind deserves the oscar for her performance. Gut & heart-wrenching to watch this tremendous loss of life. A must see!

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2013

Very emotional tense movie - awesome cast and acting was wonderful - hope this one is up for a nominee.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2013

Fantastic movie! Very emotional!

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2013

One of the best emotional movies i've seen in a long time ... definatly reccommend this one ... great movie for an older couple to go to together ... way to good not to get great reviews

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2013

One of the best emotional movies i've seen in a long time ... definatly reccommend this one ... great movie for an older couplt to go to together ... way to good not to get great reviews

User review rating: 1 January 01, 2013

tragic... no doubt... BUT... um... where is this really? Thailand? where are all the Thai locals... the natives... are they all white folks, with a few odd colored folks? who else were killed? is this... florida/caribbean/california/hawaii... Mars??? imagine doing a story on 9/11... and local Americans are 'somewhere' just as background 'extras'... [strange way to tell a story]

User review rating: 4 September 01, 2012

if the trailer of a movie can give me shivers and keep me wanting to see more and the fact that this really happened makes us want to see it.

Change Location