The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.63 / 5

User rating: 3.63

Based on 122 votes and 27 reviews

  • User rating: 3.63 49.12%
  • User rating: 3.63 10.53%
  • User rating: 3.63 14.04%
  • User rating: 3.63 7.02%
  • User rating: 3.63 19.30%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 27 of 27

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2010

It must be really strange to live inside Terry Gilliam's head. But watching this film is probably the closest anyone else could ever come to being there. There is much of this film that is a little bit less-then-engaging, but the dreamscapes that Gilliam paints in the world beyond the mirror more than make up for the drab and ho-hum real world scenes. I am such a sucker for mental subjectivity on film, and I absolutely loved seeing how the imaginarium manifests itself differently according to the person whose fantasy it is. Within the world of the story, it makes perfect sense to have the Tony character played by different actors when he's on the other side of the mirror, and in a film this

User review rating: 1 July 16, 2010

I consider myself a real movie buff and very open minded about different types of movies. This movie, however, didn't keep me interested in the least. In fact, I turned it off about half way through and never finished watching it.

User review rating: 3 July 08, 2010

Well now, besides being completely stunning visually this movie wasnt really all that great for me. I mean sure like I said, the visuals and overall look was magnificent, but the story itself was just somewhat unengaging and slightly odd at times. It was kind of long and seemed to drag on a bit. It was alright and I'm glad I saw it, but it's not something I'll be talking about for much longer. What did this movie teach me? I love Andrew Garfield's accent!!

User review rating: 3 May 30, 2010

The movie was interesting and I loved they way Johnny Depp, Collin Farrel & Jude Law played Tony (Heath Leger) inside the imaginarium! It worked. 3 stars because the movie is good - worth renting.

User review rating: 4 February 25, 2010

Absolutely loved it. Not having ledger there to finish it was a shame, but i think they did an amazing job incorporating the different actors into his role, that it almost felt the movie should have been that way in the first place. Felt the movie was about 20 min too long story wise, but all in all quite happy I went to see it and gave it a chance! SPOILER: Anyone who doesnt understand the plot, i dunno what your watching, it was pretty easy.. hes trying to win a bet to keep his daughter!

User review rating: 4 February 20, 2010

Screwy! SUCH a screwy movie! Interesting, funny, absolutely gorgeous, a little predictable, and possibly too long (I counted twice when they could have ended the movie before they did) but totally worth your $10. Colin Farrell is especially fantastic!

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2010

what a wonderful way of examining the age old struggle between the powers of good and evil

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2010

I forgot to mention... boy, does that Lily Cole ever have the cutest face!!! She's such a doll!

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2010

I also have an insane and fertile imagination so I really enjoyed this movie. It was cute how they worked Johnny Depp, Jude Law and Colin Ferrell into the movie. I miss you Heath! Wish you were still alive and well!

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2010

wow what a trip. Beautiful, wild ride. Left feeling like what was that all about, but it sat well and I found I'm liking it more and more as the story sits with me.

User review rating: 1 January 17, 2010

feel cheated w the preview/ cameo/boring

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2010

Waste of time and money. Trailers gave it too much justice.

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2010

you have to remember they arent barely in it because they were covering the rest of heath ledgers role had he not died he would have done the whole movie

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2010

The story has a lot of holes. Characters arnt developed properly

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2010

WTF?! I could have stayed home and did homework and had more excitement the this! The plot (if there was one) is yet to be understood. Aside from the fact that it was late, it was a CHORE to keep my eyes open, waste of time!

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2010

perfection in film makinig

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2010

Had a slow start but I really enjoyed it. Definitely not traditional in any sense of the word. Quite a strange story and a strange (yet beautiful) presentation of that story. I thought it was excellent.

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2010

I would like that 2 hours of my life back. That movie was horrible, and I would recommend no one waste their time or money as I have.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2010

It was a waste of my time and money. Unless you are on some serious drugs, I do not recommend this movie!!

User review rating: 1 January 08, 2010

Those of you who like this movie are similar to the women who enter the door that seek liberation in their own fantasy.. Get a grip! The movie is terrible, character dialogue inaudible (both acoustic and character accent), story line is nonlinear.. i mean, movies should be entertaining, but with this i was suffocating

User review rating: 1 January 05, 2010

To bad there is no 0 Stars, DO NOT WAIST your time and money, there is no story, bad acting. Johny Depp and Jude Law were there only for 2 min. My friend wanted to make a joke and sad go watch that movie, its really good, NOT.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2010

This movie was beautifully mastered. Collin Farell, Jude Law and Johnny Depp gave a great performing homage to Heath Ledger. Lilly COle was beautiful and her acting well exceeded my expectation of a model breaking into acting. Terry Gilliam created an unimaginable movie.

User review rating: 3 December 31, 2009

This movie was...odd. Okay, but odd and far from what I expected. The story was really hard to follow too.

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2009

Amazing, absolutely amazing!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2009

Breaks away from almost all of the overused hollywood cliches. If you love mystery and wonder, then this is an absolute must-see. If you expect every little thing to be handed to you in a silver platter, in a nice linear progression in which everything is tied up with a little bow by the end, this movie isn't for you, and you'll probably be one of those people who can't find the plot.

User review rating: 1 December 30, 2009

I can't believe that I wasted my time and money on this movie! This was the worst movie of 2009. Great actors, and great attempt, but terrible movie. Like the guy in the commercial says, "Save your money".

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2009

This is a fantastic movie! Beautiful art direction from a true master (terry Gilliam) but not only that but the movie provides a beautiful story. Definetly one of my favourite movies!

Change Location