The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.45 / 5

User rating: 4.45

Based on 270 votes and 85 reviews

  • User rating: 4.45 74.62%
  • User rating: 4.45 9.23%
  • User rating: 4.45 8.46%
  • User rating: 4.45 2.31%
  • User rating: 4.45 5.38%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 85

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2014

The Hobbit Is... 'AN INSTANT CLASSIC!'

User review rating: 5 August 02, 2014


User review rating: 5 August 26, 2013

Loved loved it!!!!!!!

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2013


User review rating: 1 March 25, 2013

Not for Tolkien purists. Jackson is banking in on his LOTR cred. Over the top, Transformer meets The man with the irons fists fight sequences. Flat one liners. Obvious character development with weak and predictable changes of heart moments. At one point, I was wondering if I had the 'The Hobbit, A musical' version by mistake. As Ignatius would say, 'What degenerate produced this technicolored abortion!'... An Epic failure from the man who brought us true classics like Braindead and LOTR.

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2013

Well done! I really enjoyed this movie, and look forward to the next two sequels. The beginning was a little slow which was necessary to introduce the life Bilbo Baggins had before he went on his adventure. From that point on, it was a hold-on-to-your-seat experience. For anyone who thinks this movie didn't have the intensity of the final Lord of the Rings movie, remember...JRR Tolkien wrote The Hobbit for his children. However, this is NOT for young children. Nuff said. Loved it!

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2013

Fabulous film! Enjoyed every minute.

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2013

Loved LOTR so I really looked forward to the Hobbit. Great movie! Well done!Good acting. I can’t wait for the next! Wouldn’t expect anything less.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2013

AMAZING Movie!! You should go in knowing that they've split this book into 3 parts so you're only watching the first part of the sequel here. I didn't know it was broken up and was getting a little tired near the end. GREAT MOVIE - going to watch it again this weekend!

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2013

I was really disappointed in this. I really disliked how it was filmed in HD, I felt it took away from the myth, fantasy, other world like feel the previous 3 had. It felt fake, like a soap opera. The orcs were different and looked faked, the wolves were different. It was like Jackson wanted to re-introduce what everything looked like rather than staying consistent with what had previously been done. As an adult, I felt the movie was geared towards children, and there was a lot of silliness and stupidity. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2013

Gollum, if you're reading this, I think you're a very sexy man. I'm an attractive, petite (5'5") blonde with blue eyes and a figure no man can resist. Let's hook up and live happily ever after! xox, Dwan

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2013

Love it!

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2013

Martin Freeman has never been better.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2013

loved the movie........can't wait till the next installment in December 2013. Better then the Lord of the Rings series.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2013

Wonderful with beautiful vistas, incredible in 3D good situational humour. I enjoyed it much more than Lord of the Rings

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2013

This movie was great. It made me want to go back and read the Hobbit again (haven't read it in 40 years). Good character development. Can't wait to see next movie.

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2013

I watched this movie yesterday with my family and it was really boring i just wanted to leave, i noticed some people in the audience were sleeping. This movie is by far the most boring movie i have ever watched in my life. Very slow, too long, no action, waste of money and time.... a disappointment.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2013

Very well done! Peter Jackson does it again!

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2013

Lately I quite going to big action flicks where the noise/background music rated 1 to 5 is 6 and all conversations is on the level of 2 and I leave with a headache. Only good news with these brain blasters is if you wait and rent them you can turn the sound off and enjoy the visuals since the plots are pretty thin anyway. My vote for worst ever was "Lincoln vampire hunter". Much better and cheaper to stay home and watch Turner classic movies.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2013

Very interesting and kids loved it

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2013

Slept through most of it.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2013

Loved, loved. Some beautifully filmed scenes. True to Tolkien's book and appendices. Perfectly cast. Music!

User review rating: 2 December 30, 2012

Very slow. No way it should be in 3 parts.

User review rating: 3 December 28, 2012

This movie looks much different than the LOTR trilogy. It is filmed at a higher frame rate that makes it look like a cheap daytime soap opera. Story wasn't bad, but they stretched it out and probably would have fit nicely into one film. Hopefully they make some changes to the film's look before it goes to DVD.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2012

Outstanding movie! Jackson was detailed in ths movie, ths setting up the next two!

User review rating: 3 December 27, 2012

Beautifully crafted but bloated. The pacing of this movie crawls at a snails speed. With tighter editing, this could have been a much enjoyable experience but it felt more like watching an extended edition with unnecessary scenes. For a stand alone movie it's "OK" but compared to its predecessor, it's mediocre.

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2012

Great movie

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2012


User review rating: 5 December 25, 2012

Loved it. The effects were amazing and the Gollum scene was hilarious. All the actors were perfect. I can not wait for the rest of the movies.

User review rating: 3 December 23, 2012

Pitt has received four Academy Award nominations and five Golden Globe Award nominations, winning one Golden Globe. He has been described as one of the world's most attractive men, a label for which he has received substantial media attention.

User review rating: 4 December 23, 2012

This is no Star Wars prequel trilogy! As high as the extended LOTR movies raised the bar for me, I was admittedly skeptical about the prequels being able to live up to the hype. This movie was not a disappointment, but I did feel like something was missing by the end and I'll wait for the next two movies to see if it gets sorted out. I have only read "Fellowship of the Ring" so this opinion is strictly based on the movies. It is worth seeing at least once if you liked the original trilogy to form your own opinion. I would also encourage an IMAX viewing to see the extended sneak peek of the Star Trek movie which looks EPIC.

User review rating: 2 December 23, 2012

long, boring and no ending

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2012

Its hard to please everyone. This movie is fantastic. The visuals and the acting was great. I love the movie cant wait for the next one.

User review rating: 4 December 22, 2012

Freeman steals this just as he had Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves.

User review rating: 3 December 22, 2012

Extremely slow introduction to the movie. Do no expect any action in the first hour. There is far too much narrative and unnecessary backstory, ok if naive to Tolkien but I don't suspect that is the majority of the audience. Movie improves once the action starts in the 2nd half but doesn't quite redeem itself. The villians are displayed a bit comically which made some scenes more silly than suspenseful. The scenery is beautiful just like in LOTR, but overall the movie was disappointing.

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2012

Morgan Freeman proves what an outstanding actor he is yet again.

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2012

We all loved it. Just saw it in 2D matinee and avoided the line-up. Will see again in 3D. Whoever was complaining about lack of action - there is a lot more to come - lots of giant spiders, etc. The name, being the title of the first chapter is perfect. It couldn't be called There and Back Again when they don't get back until the third segment. And whoever said there was no ending - of course there wasn't - it's a third of the way into the story, but showing Smaug's eye opening up was a good preview of what's to come. Those who left near the beginning must have ADHD. Don't comment if you walk out before anything happ

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2012

OUTSTANDING! Martin Freeman deserves an Oscar nomination!

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2012

Really loved this! Hard to imagine anyone but Martin Freeman as Bilbo now...

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2012

very well done. the beginning was a bit slow but then picked up. Saw it in IMAX 3D and it was breathtaking!

User review rating: 4 December 20, 2012

I really enjoyed the movie. My only complaint is I felt it was dragged out a bit. I love Bilbo, Gandalf & the dwarves!!! 4 out of 5!!! I was pleased since this is my favourite all time novel!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2012

It's WHOSE, not who's.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2012

To the person who's only concern is the title, why even comment on it. The Hobbit-There and Back Again is the name of the entire story. An unexpected journey is the name of the first chapter in the book so it makes sense the movie should start with it. Please don't try to undermine the genius of J.R.R.Tolkin unless you have written an epic story that has endured the last 80 years.

User review rating: 1 December 19, 2012

Boring, LOTR knockoff. I dont need to learn all over again about the shire.Let's FF a bit and get to the good stuff.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2012

Would love to see an extended edition!

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2012

The whole story might be good..but this movie is ending..nothing..what a dissapointment :(

User review rating: 4 December 18, 2012

In the long run, the slow start will be worth it. So many movies neglect character development. After the first hours things got rolling and it didn't disappoint. It is a must see in the theaters.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2012

Best of the best Peter did it again¡!

User review rating: 0 December 18, 2012

Actually guys, it's THE BALLAD OF BILBO BAGGINS, and yes, it was a nice surprise. I much prefer Nimoy's song to the one Annie Lennox did for ROTK.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2012

My only complaint is it wasn't long enough!

Change Location