The Happening

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.18 / 5

User rating: 2.18

Based on 817 votes and 175 reviews


  • User rating: 2.18 18.09%
  • User rating: 2.18 8.19%
  • User rating: 2.18 6.14%
  • User rating: 2.18 8.87%
  • User rating: 2.18 58.70%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 175

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2009

I was expecting so much more from this movie. The storyline was stupid and almost unrealistic. I actually laughed during most of it. 1.5 stars.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2009

I loved sixth sence, unbreakable,the village and lady in the water. But this movie was a sleeper so bad. I don't know what else to say it was garbage!!

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2008

Oh man, This movie was so terrible I just want to punch M, right in his face. It was so stupid and the worst acting has to be played by the woman, wow I just wanted to punch her in the whole movie. Was it just me or did anybody noticed that even though people knew the sickness was airbourne they still kept the windows open and stood outside...? So stupid.

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2008

Good Movie Worth Watching 5/5

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2008

Very graphic, but no real story line, no substance to the movie at all.

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2008

Well it doesnt deserve 3 stars but I will give it because the idea being the movie was excellent and makes you think. Needed more to the story, the acting was poor, and really was poorly done. If it was done better this movie would have been great!

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2008

Garbage. Utter Garbage

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2008

Not as great as I had expected it to be. Great disappointment. Sadly a 2 star. Look for more of my reviews. E.B.A.

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2008

I thought it was great ! ! mind boggling thriller. I suggest you all see it !

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2008

FUNNY!

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2008

Cool

User review rating: 0 September 14, 2008

typically, I love M. Night's movies, but this one was a little silly, and boring. Also, Mary-Mark is better suited for action roles, then this type of role - - it was just a little stupid.

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2008

Did anyone notice how TERRIBLE everyones acting was. I think the best actors were the plants. They were on que and they seemed very realistic ;)

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2008

Smart. Nice to see a film you have to pay attention to.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2008

Such a bad movie.....I wouldnt watch it again. I suggest not going to go see it or buy it either.

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2008

horrible

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2008

horrrribbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbllllllllllllllleeeeeeee

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2008

I would never have wasted my money on this movie if I would have know how bad it really was....a big dissapointment :(

User review rating: 0 August 05, 2008

Here's to all the negative reviewers of this movie: IT WASN'T ALL THAT BAD!!! Sure you ACTUALLY HAD TO USE YOUR BRAIN during the movie, but that was kinda the point. The acting wasn't exactly Speilburg-level, but it around "The Shining" level. I'll admit M. Night has gone downhill since "The Sixth Sense" (which I loved), but if you saw "Signs" (which was a melodramtic movie about Mel Gibson's character's life with some aliens thrown in for kicks), what did you expect? This movie was ok so I rated it with 3 stars. If your a devoted fan of M. Night thrillers,go out, spend some $$$ and watch "The Happening." -Z. K. Y.

User review rating: 0 August 05, 2008

crap... this movie stinks

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2008

You know when you see an M Night film, there's bound to be twists, but this film leaves you guessing to the very end. Extremely graphic and not for the faint-of-heart or light stomach. Otherwise, interesting plot that makes you wonder. I bet it even has Al Gore nervous.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2008

wish i could give it -100 stars sucked worst movie ever

User review rating: 0 July 17, 2008

Just brutal

User review rating: 0 July 17, 2008

it's not a bad movie!!! It's what you've come to expect from M. Night.... not exactly how it's publicised. The movie isn't super violent ALL the time but when it is it's really violent. And I liked the outcome, although the last couple minutes were too corny for me

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2008

he really went down hill

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2008

So, so bad.....terrible movie, trailers looked awesome, but it was pure trash.

User review rating: 0 July 11, 2008

Wow !!! I was totally amazed. Yes...it was that bad. I never would have believed anyone would ever put out this type of trash. Let me warn you this way folks (for those fortunate enough to have not seen)...Say you're walking down the sidewalk and you see doggie doo....do you step in it or do you avoid it ? C'monnn...seriously. I can't say this movie sucked because I dont consider it a movie but whatever you may call it, IT SUCKED AND SUCKED AND SUCKED AND SUCKED. GARBAGE! Got indigestion and need to throw up ??? THENNN you should see this. Doctor recommended. th-th-thats all folks.

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2008

i wouldn't waist my money or time to even rent it.

User review rating: 0 July 09, 2008

Needs a climax...never happens, terrible idea for a film.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2008

Horrible story...could have been better but the story just did not make sense.

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2008

The movie was excellent. Mark's play was brilliant. You should just have enough brain to understand the movie's message. Many people may not like it because it does not have these all special fancy effects. But I think that the effects do not make the movie. The most important thing is its context and message. I think people should listen to the warning of this movie, and should think a bit more seriously about the future and how they will leave this world for their children and the next generations. The movie deserves more attention; and instead of so much negative critics, people need to think and absorb what the movie is trying to say. If some of us have expected to see horror, sex scene

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2008

best thriller in years ! Don't listen to people who don't like these types of movies! GO SEE IT!

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2008

The worst we have ever seen.

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2008

Maybe everyone was killing themselves because they were in this BORING movie!

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2008

Here is one act of kindness for today - I am warning all unsuspecting viewers about the horrific blandness of this movie. Walk away - turn around and walk away.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2008

I am a devoted fan of M. Night Shyamalan, but he really went "South" with this movie... Great concept, if it was developed a bit more, but poor dialogue, acting and to sum it up...the movie was just plain boring...

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2008

All of the best parts of this movie are the scenes that we saw in the trailers. It started off like a true thriller, but it went down hill from there. The acting was ridiculous. The best actor was Betty Buckley. Too bad the movie wasn't centered around her character..It might have actually gone somewhere.... Don't even get me going about the dialouge. This was even worse than Lady In The Water.

User review rating: 0 June 27, 2008

I was disappointed... I really like Mark Walhberg, but his acting was not so good in this movie. Zooey's acting was brutal...I didn't know if she was playing the part of a spaced out person or that her acting just sucked. In fact, the only good acting came from the little girl and the people that didn't have a big part in the movie. Sorry, but I wouldn't recommend going to see this movie...a waste of time (and I would have said a waste of movie, but I got lucky and didn't have to pay).

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2008

This movie was the most boring movie I have ever seen Save your money wait for it to be on Tv

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2008

this movie sucked. it had a really stupid ending, don't bother watching it in theatres.

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2008

Good concept, but badly written (especially the script), the acting was forced, and the entire theater laughed out loud at times ... but it wasn't trying to be funny.

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2008

a big wast of money bad bad bad movie 0 stars from my whole family we all hated it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2008

sucked didnt make sense

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2008

This movie was AWESOME!!!!!!!! I cannot wait to see the next Academy Awards ceremony to see how many awards this movie will get! I loved the plot. It was very deep and well thought-out. Two thumbs up!! Way UP!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2008

Acting was questionable, but I'm wondering if it was maybe meant to be a B Movie.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2008

-5 stars Do not waste your time! Worst movie I've ever seen! Wanted $$$ back before the movie even ended! Bigest regret besides going to see the movie is not walking out part way through.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2008

Bad movie and bad acting. Although the concept can be interesting... its like a wanna be zombie type movie with the violence. The acting was bad. And to top it off, Mark kept his shirt on the whole time. :(

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2008

An astounding waste of celluloid, money and time.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2008

after watching this movie I learned: 1. if 9 out of 10 people said it's bad. then it sucks. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. i should have listened. 2. don't let your curiosity control you. it kills your time and money. 3. don't even wait for DVD

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2008

People need to be open minded.

Change Location