The Grudge

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Grudge Movie Poster

3.93 / 5

User rating: 3.93

Based on 18485 votes and 334 reviews

  • User rating: 3.93 69.19%
  • User rating: 3.93 3.76%
  • User rating: 3.93 1.94%
  • User rating: 3.93 1.22%
  • User rating: 3.93 23.88%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 334

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2007

Sarah michelle gellar is my favourite acter and i love her movie`s but this one sucked it was gross this is like the only sarah michelle gellar movie i do not like

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2006

the grudge was a real freacky! movie it was so gross i had to turn it off becaues my baby cousin was there.

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2006

I am a fan of Sarah Michelle Gellar since the Buffy days. So anything with her in it, catches my interest. But this movie was just not good. Myabe I just don`t like the directing style of Japanese culture, but I found it was lacking something.

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2006

Amazing movie. I dont really like horror movies in general, they`re mostly all the same and mostly crap, but the Grudge is in a league all its own. A solid story that is told incredibly well, and a horror element that is both scary and interesting. Just a fantastic movie all around. Two thumbs up!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2006

i think it was really good! seeing that i love movies like this,i was on the edge of my seat the whole time,because it isn`t the usual bloody murder,it`s all in the mind and this movie actually makes you feel the back of your head every time in the shower.

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2006

I think the GRUDGE was utter crap!!! It was a clone of the ring!!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2006

I thought the grudge was quite good. I bought the extended directors cut edition after i saw it in theatres. me and my friend watch it over and over again. I think the special effects and some of the mom coming down the stairs stuff was cheesy but in the dark you will be shivering under you blankets. cant wait for #2. 4 out of 5 .

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

A horror movie that actually has an interesting plot? Wow, you never see that in Hollywood, but Japan sure knows how to write a good horror flick (see also The Ring, Dark Water, etc). This movie was very true to the original (because it was made by the original director and crew). This movie has a great storyline, unlike most horror movies, and is well casted. I`m not a Sarah Michelle Gellar fan but she does a great job in this. I`m not a Bill Pullman fan either for that matter, but again, this movie is really incredibly well done.. even him. 5 stars, two thumbs up!

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2006

It was awesome in theaters!!!! It scared the heck out of me!!! When it came on dvd i rented it and all of my friends watched, they got freaked out!!!! ~~*Unknown Billie Joe Armstrong Lover*~~

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2006

This movie was sooooo very boring it was so was a waste of just kept dragging on and on and on... And it made no sense at all.????

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2005

It scared me soooooooo much!!! I love it!!! The actors were really good!!! I`d watch it again and again cause it really made me jump like 300 times!!! lol............I can`t wait for #2!!!

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2005

this movie was the most stupid, boring and confusin movie i have ever seen...i thought catwomen was the worst movie ever made..but this one is far worse...hour into the movie and i was soo bored id rather watch the weather..and i did! To the people who made whatever money you made and find a house and stay there

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2005

The Grudge really gives you shivers and is really creepy. It is an awsome movie. The acting is great too. I love Sarah Michelle Gellar and she did a fantastic job in this movie. The sounds that the ghost make are not cheesy despite what others might say, they are actually a little disturbing. The movie isn`t full of cheep scares with scenes where things just pop up, the scares build on each other to create one of the ultimate chilling and scary movies made. I can`t wait for the sequel!!

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2005

Boring...put me to sleep. It wasn`t scarry, it was just plain boring. If you want a thriller then get your hands on a copy of SAW. Now that movie actually entertained me. The Grudge on the other hand was a waste of my time.

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2005

The scariest horror flick I have ever seen and I have seen horror.

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2005

the movie was not scary at all it was more pathetic if you want a real horror flick watch the exorcist.

User review rating: 0 June 08, 2005

it was so scary and to make it worse when i saw it it was late at night and there was surround sound

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2005

c full cool lo le film tk jespere qui va avoir un rage meurtiere deux

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2005

When I saw The Grudge in theaters It was scary, but after that you know what happens so its not anymore. I really like this movie still though.

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2005

the grudge is the best movie. if your a dare devil watch the gudge at midnight .door shut and locked with lights off. know i dare any one who is a dare devil to do that. you`ll see how cool it is

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2005

age 13. This movie is so scary me and my friend screamed loud. We watchded it at 12:00 at night. THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME. What I don not get is what happend to Karen????

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2005

all my friends sayed "The Grudge is terrible"and it is

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2005

this movie is mest up and that is cool

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2005

I thought it was boring, and only a couple of creepy parts. 2/5

User review rating: 0 March 27, 2005

This movie was soooooo stupid. i laughed through the second half of it. when the "things" are about to kill (or watever they do) someone they make a sound that seems like they need a throat losanger.ending was diapointing im not recommending this movie unless you can see it for free.DON`T EVEN RENT THIS.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2005

This movie was so cool...It`s been a while since I last saw a movie like this...I love it!

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2005

Not so scary, but... it was entertaining.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2005

Absolutely scary. There is no way out!

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2005

i think is was perfect and scary i love the movie it was perfect................

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2005

One of the scariest movies I`ve seen since I was young. This director takes everything that scares us and puts in in one movie. My teeth hurt from gritting them. I am a horror movie enthusiast, and have been for 40 years. This one I would suggest you don`t miss regardless whether you are older or not. (absolutly not for children) I would not recommend it for the faint of heart or if you have a history of heart disease. Stormy

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

This movie was awesome!! It was better than The Ring. Much scarier to! If you make a sequal (please do) make it even more jumpy and scary than this one and you will have alot more people scared out of their wits!! IT WAS AWESOME!!!

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

Scared the absolute daylights out of me. I still think about it and get a cold shiver

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

It was scary in the moment but other then that it was kinda pointless!

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

I think The Grudge was an awesome movie I loved it. I`m a real thriller type of person. I love and look 4 scary and thriller movies and that was definitly was one of them. I love movies like this. It was a great movie. there should be more movies like that out there!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2005

scary very scary

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2005

the movie was could have been better it seemed rushed to get to the end.

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2005

Definitley a great thriller movie and should earn a 5 star rating in all ratings charts. Awesome!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2005

"Simply quiet characters" with complicated horror situation. The flashback kind of story is a clever plot.

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2005

Pretty awful. I saw the original ("Ju-On") a while back, and while it was really lacking in story (I mean REALLY lacking) it was at least creepy, moody, atmospheric and chilling. No real jumps, very sombre, but there was dread. It wasn`t great, but it did its job. This was horrible. Almost exactly the same (even by the same director) but it wasn`t creepy, wasn`t atmospheric and had lame "jumps" with the music suddenly going loud. And even though it moved faster than the original (which was slow) this movie was also unbelievably dull. The original, while not great, was infinitely better.

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2005

I enjoyed the movie, spooked me good, but it was worth it.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2005

I thought it had a very total different taste in the horror field in movies. It made it more of a bit interesting. Also Some parts made you jump more than others. In being this originally from Japan I was very interested. It wasn`t a waste a time at all. But just another way to get into another cultures way of thinking of what is true to them in being scary. So in being true to it I really think they did a very excellent job and all.

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2005

It was alright, but the plot/story was not great.

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2005

I realize that is long been out. Out to video now though. The truth is the movie makes little sense. I think I would have been very scared if I wasn`t taken a back by the lack of story. So many questions I was left with. I`d like to add that there is no way in hell that house would have made it. It`d be burned. I just felt there wasn`t enough reason for anything. The kid had no reason to be there, it was just weird. They tried to copy the strange occurence kind of thing from the ring, and this time I didn`t buy it. I tried to be as fair as I could.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2005


User review rating: 0 February 09, 2005

the movie is the best

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2005

What a bad movie. A total waste of time and money. If I was like 13 or younger maybe it would have been a bit less boring but not by much. Warning to anyone 14 or older... DON`T WASTE YOUR TIME.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2005

Good scary entertainment!! Better than the Japanese version.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2005

it was excellent i usually don`t get scared but this movie really scared me. the need to make more movies like the grudge

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2005

Not bad, not great. No real story, just a string of scary scenes

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2005

I don`t know what people are talking about when they say "the Grudge isn`t a good movie".Not only did the movie severely bother me(in a good way) but it was very well done and a huge improvement on the original Japanise version.

Change Location