The Gospel of John

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Gospel of John Movie Poster

3.75 / 5

User rating: 3.75

Based on 238 votes and 22 reviews

  • User rating: 3.75 62.03%
  • User rating: 3.75 4.64%
  • User rating: 3.75 5.06%
  • User rating: 3.75 2.95%
  • User rating: 3.75 25.32%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 22 of 22

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2011

I like it, it recounts the story exactly as told in the Bible. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the usual hollywood that they portrayed Jesus (handsome,distinguished from others by appearance), but it's to be expected nowadays in movies. It's my own opinion and does not take away from how well done the movie is. I do however really like the way that John the baptist was portrayed.

User review rating: 0 February 21, 2005

the movie is inspiring.

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2004

This is an awesome very well done! Cinematically beautiful, wonderful telling of the story (of course, the words were written millenia ago)...and Henry Ian Cusick is the best dramatic Jesus ever.! You`ve never seen a Jesus quite like this. This movie changed my life, it makes me cry, it is a masterpiece!

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2004

Fabulous...a very charismatic Jesus in Henry Ian Cusick. Anyone who is into the subject matter and has an open mind will like it! Never found it boring!!!

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2004

I am going to see the movie:THE GOSPEL OF JOHN on Friday here in Calgary. I saw: THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST on the first day that it was in the theatres. I was totally overwhelmed by that movie. Now, I will put together both and see the "whole picture". As a Christian who believes in Jesus Christ as my personal Saviour, I am thankful for the producers and directors that they step out of their "comfort" zones to produce and direct THE LIVING STORY of the only TRUE SACRIFICE FOR OUR SINS. I have great expectation of the RETURN OF MY LORD JESUS to bring it all to fruition. I will make my comment about THE GOSPEL OF JOHN movie at another time. G.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2004

If "The Good News Bible™" text is what the movie is based upon, then we have is an "Alexandrian Cult" Gospel of John portrayed. Thus, it is an "Alexandrian Text" based "Christianity" that people are either embracing or shunning. Have the rest of you ever cared to research what else you`ve might have missed in your so called Christian "encounter"? Look to those who declare a text that is sound for generations as is captured in the text of the AV1611 TR-based bibles. You will find "The Gospel of John" intact, along with true Christian believers who swear by it. This conflict of texts is not new. If you do not know what the issue is her

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2004

A very powerful movie. Very accurate portrayal of the Book of John.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2004


User review rating: 0 February 15, 2004

This was a very powerful portrayal of Jesus Christ. John Cusick did a marvelous job. One important thing to note is that the dialogue stuck very close to the book of John. I would recommend all to view it. Congratulations on a success!

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2004

This is a portrait of Jesus Christ you must see. His person, message and mission comes radically through to shake up any preconceptions you may have had of him. Producers have done an excellent job of bringing the biblical text to the screen with all of its limitations.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2004

Powerful, majestic, convicting, and humbling.

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2003

The best movie I`ve ever seen. It has literally changed my life.

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2003

Finally a movie worth the price of admission

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2003

An excellent movie. Henry Ian Cusick is the very best ever at portraying Jesus on screen.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2003

This is a one of a kind movie. This really portrays the life of Jesus Christ. I really really enjoyed it. I am glad that it is showing in other theatres too. Gospel of John is written by the most closest deciple of Jesus and the events are true to be true. Ian Cusik`s portray of Jesus is so real. He really brought out the part of Jesus. (But Jesus did suffer much more that we could ever imagine, and that would be not possible for a human being to go through)

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2003

I think it is a wonderful movie showing the life in one of the oldest books "The Bible" Great history docudrama and excellent actor, Specially "Jesus", this movie make me fell proud of being Christian (Catholic)

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2003

The movie is not entertainment. It is a lesson in biblical history with no interpretation or attempts at explanation. An excellent movie for those who want to blindly follow the text of the bible. For those who ask questions and want to try and understand this movie offers nothing.

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2003

This is an excellent docudrama movie, a must see for all Christians or anyone into biblical History.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2003

Excellent movie: faitfull to the bible, great acting, incl. narrator, C. Plumer. Henry Ian Cusick portrays Jesus so wonderfully, trully a masterpiece. In spite of 3 hrs, time went by so quickly. I would recomend it to all to see it!! Very pleased!

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2003

The movie reaffirmed my decision of long ago to abandon my faith in Christianity.

User review rating: 0 October 29, 2003

it was the best movie i ever saw

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2003

This movie is worth seeing and very imformative; offering the viewer a visual attachment to all that he reads and hears with regards to Christianity

Change Location