The Girl on the Train

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.14 / 5

User rating: 3.14

Based on 114 votes and 42 reviews


  • User rating: 3.14 26.79%
  • User rating: 3.14 28.57%
  • User rating: 3.14 3.57%
  • User rating: 3.14 14.29%
  • User rating: 3.14 26.79%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 42 of 42

User review rating: 2 December 04, 2016

Confusing plot. Timeline is all over the place, difficult to follow. Very slow throughout the movie.

User review rating: 3 November 15, 2016

Very good followed the book very well a hell of a ride from beginning to end

User review rating: 2 November 13, 2016

I only gave it two stars because of Emily Blunt - she is a great actress. But honestly... even she couldn't save it for me. I found this movie boring and depressing. The book was much better!

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2016

It had filthy language in it and was a total waste of money.

User review rating: 1 November 06, 2016

boring!!!

User review rating: 2 November 04, 2016

Could have been great. Acting was not great. Good twist at the end. Would not recommend.

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2016

It is hard to know who to trust or who to talk to that will believe you with a story like this. Definitely can make you insecure about trusting authorities.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2016

Amazing

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2016

Loved it.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2016

Good acting and a great murder mystery. I really enjoyed it!

User review rating: 1 October 28, 2016

Incredibly stupid dialogue and plot. Next to Johnny English, the worst movie I have ever seen.

User review rating: 5 October 27, 2016

I was grabbed by the story right from the start all the way to the end. I loved the suspense, as well how all the actors played each role. I just loved It!

User review rating: 5 October 26, 2016

Emily Blunt is outstanding!

User review rating: 4 October 26, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Excellent, followed the book very closely.

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2016

Storyline was great didn't need all foul language and sexual content.

User review rating: 2 October 24, 2016

This movie is a true grind to get through just to get the the decent ending, if you're expecting gone girl kinda movie you'll be disappointed , gone girl was gripping beginning to end this move is just only get at the end

User review rating: 1 October 23, 2016

I liked the book, but the movie was boring at best. Emily did the best she could with a script that had nothing to do with the book. Why do producers think that by putting in a lot of profanity, it makes a good movie. do not waste your money or time.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2016

Excellent adaptation.

User review rating: 1 October 20, 2016

Stay home and watch one of those stupid LifeTime movies. Girl on a Train is plodding bore in with a plot full of holes and an unbelievable story. This movie was no doubt created by the nutty man-hater hysterical third wave feminist hate groups.

User review rating: 4 October 18, 2016

I did not read the book so didn't know the entire storyline and thought that this was a good movie. Very entertaining and full of suspense. Emily Blunt was fantastic.

User review rating: 2 October 18, 2016

Very slow in the beginning and although the pace picked up a bit, my interest did not. It wasn't the worst movie I've seen, but wasn't worth a theater visit.

User review rating: 2 October 18, 2016

Hollywood has ruined an otherwise thrilling story written by the British author, Paula Hawkins in her novel "The Girl on the Train". The departure by Hollywood from the quality and authenticity of the book is a travesty for the sake of commercialism. These departures include the overwhelming use of the "f..." word and the "mother f..." words. This totally destroyed the movie for me and left me zoned out. As well, the setting of the film is a complete departure from the novel. Rather than the train moving through a working class suburb of London as in the novel, Hollywood has tried to glamorize the setting by having the train move through a New York suburb with multi-million dollar waterfront homes. As well, the chararacters in the movie live in these multi-million dollar homes and there is little evidence to support this lifestyle given that they are young and seem to have ordinary jobs. The casting of Emily Blunt is also another example of Hollywood trying to inject "glamour" in their movie. While she may be a good actress, she in no way resembles the overweight, somewhat unattractive, alcoholic main character described in the novel. Her red-tinted contact lenses didn't come close to establishing her as the same character as in the novel. The scenes are disjointed and the way the plot unfolds makes it evident about three-quarters of the way through the movie, what the outcome will be. So, for those of you who have read the novel, you may want to remember the novel as you read it rather than tarnishing your memories by watching the Hollywood version.

User review rating: 1 October 18, 2016

Not a good movie. Story line was not that good, acting not that good and a lot of inappropriate scenes of violence against women.

User review rating: 1 October 18, 2016

The most boring movie I've seen in a long time

User review rating: 4 October 16, 2016

Good movie, the book is so much more informative, I think if you watched the movie first you will be missing a lot about the characters slow moving in the beginning,but great acting.

User review rating: 5 October 16, 2016

Excellent murder mystery. A must see!

User review rating: 2 October 15, 2016

I didn't read the book but heard such good things that I thought I'd see the movie instead. What a mistake - I think. This movie is NOT a thriller, at least not what I consider a thriller. Not scary in any way; in fact, a little dull for the first 3/4's. I don't like movies that leap around in time - "6 years ago" "2 months ago" "4 years ago" etc. and that's exactly what this one did. I was confused and frustrated until things finally came together in the final 30 minutes. I just didn't like it. My friend said it followed the book pretty closely so I won't bother reading it now. Very disappointed with this movie.

User review rating: 4 October 15, 2016

I did like this movie. Had a surprise ending. All really good acting. My husband fell asleep but not surprising as there was not any super heros flying about or anyone being beamed up lol. He honestly said the middle to the end was very interesting. There seems to be alot of narrative movies lately.

User review rating: 4 October 14, 2016

I really enjoyed this movie! The female leads were superb, especially Emily Blunt. The story was suspenseful and keeps your interest throughout. If I were to criticize anything about this movie, it would be the unnecessary sexual content and bloody violence. I think the movie would have been great without all that. Still an enjoyable night out at the movies that lead to thought provoking conversation.

User review rating: 2 October 14, 2016

The acting in this movie was good, but the beginning dragged on for so long before it started to get better which was close to the end. It could have been a great movie.

User review rating: 1 October 13, 2016

Terribly acted, slow, non-sensical

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2016

Wow I can't believe people are only giving this a 1-2 star rating. Possibly you have to be an enlightened former victim of a misogynistic narcissist to appreciate it. The sisterhood will totally get it. Great movie and great acting!

User review rating: 1 October 12, 2016

Fine acting with nothing really to work with. Very boring.

User review rating: 1 October 12, 2016

Crap

User review rating: 4 October 11, 2016

I read the book and also enjoyed the movie. However, the transitions were hard to follow. Emily Blunt did a great job of portraying Rachel.

User review rating: 4 October 11, 2016

Having read the book I looked forward to this movie. I liked it a lot. Great acting by the major players. My friend had not read the book but he enjoyed it as well. There is some violence.

User review rating: 1 October 10, 2016

Please do not waste your money on this movie. I did and it is total garbage, nothing like the previews. Gone Girl is a good movie this is not.

User review rating: 5 October 09, 2016

emilyblunt <3 my girl killed it as always

User review rating: 4 October 08, 2016

It was a great thriller for someone who has not read the book. Emily Blunts' acting was realistic and she portrayed her character amazingly. Enjoyed the movie!

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2016

Not a good movie. Skip if you can or you will regret and cry.

User review rating: 4 October 07, 2016

I've had the book for over a year and haven't read it yet which is shame on me as I think it would be a really captivating read and I suspect better than how it translates to the screen. I enjoyed the movie though and Emily Blunt did a stellar acting job! Worth seeing a solid thriller.

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2016

Save your time and money and go watch paint dry, thats just as exciting as this movie. It was so boring and dragged out forever. If i didnt have to wait to drive my son home i would have left.

Change Location