The Flowers of War

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.67 / 5

User rating: 4.67

Based on 36 votes and 14 reviews

  • User rating: 4.67 83.33%
  • User rating: 4.67 11.11%
  • User rating: 4.67 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.67 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.67 5.56%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 14 of 14

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2013

Excellent movie! The movie had a great cast and the story was well put together offering a heart wrenching and multifaceted glimpse into the suffering and pain the Japanese inflicted upon the Chinese during that war. It broke my heart and at the same time illustrated a touching heroicism. Zhang Yimou is an awesome director.

User review rating: 5 September 06, 2012

my favourite bale movie period. and that's saying a lot because i loved the dark knight trilogy.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2012

excellent movie, great plot, outstanding action and acting.

User review rating: 5 July 17, 2012

well done movie but so painful to see such anguish the japanese caused. war is a terrible thing. soldiers are meant to die in wars but to see civilians devastated is so very sad.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2012

we won't see a better movie from bale this year. 5/5

User review rating: 5 July 11, 2012

amazing movie! must see.

User review rating: 4 July 10, 2012

as a child my parents used to tell us about the monstrosities committed by the japanese: chinese would line up, kneel in front of a pit, get beheaded and the bodies would be kicked into the pit; a neighbor had his ear chopped off; women were raped; people were forced to leave their babies on the streets because others feared if they cried, they would be found in their hiding places and killed. so many other stories that have not been told. even though the japanese have not been portrayed to the fullest extent the horrific jackals they are, i am happy bale decided to be in this movie. thank you.

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2012

a great movie... highly recommended for those love war & history !!

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2012

great movie indeed ! too bad, north americans aren't keen on watching foreign films ! these chinese movies always have a lesson of the past for the present+future. this movie will win many awards in the far east, 2013 ! we and friends saw this movie 2x; each time we wept!

User review rating: 1 March 02, 2012

boring movie with god-awful acting. by far bales' worst acting ever. this movie could have been great, but the acting and terrible shaky-cam cinematography kills it. no wonder it's playing in so few theaters. do yourself a favor and skip this.

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2012

an excellent movie that touches your heart ! it makes you feel the wrath of war & the cold-blooded japanese soldiers, during these 8 yrs of invasion & occupation on china (1937-1945). many wept while watching this film; we did, too !

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2012

a very difficult movie to finish cos it can really take you right into the heart of a war where cruelty is normality, yet it's beautifully made cos it shows no matter how weak and scare one individual can be, one somehow can rise up to match the occasion.the prostitues, the children, the priest, who..and who's the most courageous of all

User review rating: 5 February 25, 2012

very touching movie.

User review rating: 4 February 04, 2012

cant rate the movie yet but it looks good and i hope it is more than just the trailer

Change Location