The Finest Hours

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.09 / 5

User rating: 4.09

Based on 348 votes and 147 reviews


  • User rating: 4.09 31.58%
  • User rating: 4.09 53.29%
  • User rating: 4.09 10.53%
  • User rating: 4.09 1.32%
  • User rating: 4.09 3.29%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 147

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2016

Great movie!

User review rating: 4 March 03, 2016

I have spent much of my life as a professional mariner. This movie left me with chills - it was great! I thought the effects were quite realistic (more so than say The Perfect Storm).

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2016

Excellent action packed movie!

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2016

Great movie about true hero's.

User review rating: 3 February 14, 2016

Very good excellent cast a hell of a story makes you think about the ocean

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2016

Really entertaining.

User review rating: 3 February 11, 2016

The action scenes were good but a lot of time was spent watching boats being thrown about on the sea.The story line was a bit thin.

User review rating: 3 February 08, 2016

Respect to those who work at sea. Apart from the actual rescue mission, there were too many minutes of the film taken up with mundane dialogues that were well acted.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2016

YOU KNOW A MOVIE MAKES A STATEMENT WHEN PEOPLE REMAIN SEATED WHEN IT IS OVER. CHRIS PINE IS HONING HIS ACTING SKILLS.

User review rating: 4 February 06, 2016

Excellent special effects and photography. Captures the time period. The angry sea is terrifyingly real. That was one tough little rescue boat. Acting is good. Hardly a dull moment.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2016

Saw this movie on Tuesday. Read the reviews before i left, really an awesome movie that kept me in suspense from the first 5 minutes. This was so real without 3-D, the A-list actors were very polished and proficient. My deepest respect goes out to all who work on ships and even more to the very brave people who rescue those in life or death situations. Thank you Richmond Hill Silvercity...best theater ever...Suzanne.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2016

It is a very powerful movie. Great insight to living on a coast, and the peril of living, and earning a living off the sea.

User review rating: 3 January 31, 2016

The best part of the film for me was when the 4 man rescue crew were first heading out toward the break which they needed to get over in order to make it out to the open sea. I know that roar of the break having experienced it myself ( though not to the same degree ! ). Effects were terrific - the only downside for me were the somewhat stilted portrayals of the main characters. I just never felt they really gelled well. The musical score was also a little too predictable for me. But I'm probably being a little too critical here - it IS a good movie and definitely worth seeing on the big screen.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2016

Certainly not the finest hours I've ever spent in a movie theater, that's for sure. :(

User review rating: 4 January 30, 2016

Really good story and must see

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2016

Way ahead of anything nominated for an Oscar this year. Great story, well acted!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2016

Great movie!

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2016

Terrific portrayal of terrifying events during this heroic rescue. I was disappointed at times with the 3D effects though.

User review rating: 4 January 27, 2016

Great story and visuals! I would recommend watching this movie.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2016

I love true stories and this is a very good movie and everyone should see it.

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2016

I went in knowing little about the film and was glad because it turned out to be quite a fun, surprising action movie. Too, I'd never put these actors together in a film, and yet they were amazing together...so a solid 4 stars!

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2016

Very suspenseful and fairly realistic; went home and googled the actual facts about the true story depicted in the movie since I thought more people wouldn't have survived such an ordeal. Made me think twice about going on a small or large boat in the winter!

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2016

I thought the Finest Hours was a good movie and the 3D element made for stunning visuals, that made you feel like you were right inside the film. It had the elements of suspense and thrill which was contrasted with some humour and a love story. I also thought it was super interesting that it was based on a true story of the most successful rescue in US coastguard history.

User review rating: 4 January 25, 2016

The fact that this is based on a true story made the peril all the more intense. The characters seemed quite believable.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2016

The Finest Hours is a thrilling story, with great performances. It is a memorable recollection of the triumph of a group of simple coastguards taking on a mammoth, near impossible mission. Their humility contrasted with magnitude of their accomplishments is inspiring. The action is authentic and all in all, a sensational, intriguing tale, illustrating the embodiment of human resilience, love and a sense of duty.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2016

Great story of the human spirit. A tale the whole family can enjoy.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2016

I enjoyed the movie very much. Chris Pine was great in this movie and so was Casey Affleck. The movie was very well done and it was very good portrayal of the events that happened in 1952.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2016

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2016

..."THIS IS A TRUE STORY." Without these words onscreen,and then seeing proof as the credits roll,it would be impossible to believe what happened. THE FINEST HOURS is THAT amazing a tale. Heartbreaking and chest-pounding. Cast is crucial in this movie and couldnt be topped; each of them commit, and all pull together to carry the weight and make us feel the odds and the sacrifice that's in front of those who go out there, and those left behind. Smart use of 3D and seamless effects work make us feel that we're there as well. 4 STARS.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2016

great story but the outdoor scenes in the sea don't look real

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

especially good considering it is a true story

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

Lots of action. The subject matter was not what I would usually go see but the movie draws you in and before you know it, you are loving it. Great actors too.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

It was a great movie overall. It was intense, moving and makes you feel good after watching it. I recommended it. I like it especially it is regarding a true story.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

I enjoyed it

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. I highly recommend it.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

The Finest Hours is a great date movie, it has a little bit of everything, some romance and some action/adventure. It’s based on a true story that will really makes you appreciate the work the coast guard performs in saving the lives of people in distress on the water. The acting is good, I like Chris Pine he plays the main character really well. All in all you will enjoy the movie, while watch the movie you really hope everyone on the boat gets off safely.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

Beautiful tribute to amazingly brave men who remained stoic throughout a desperate rescue mission. Very good special effects with nail biting scenes. A movie for the whole family, another Disney quality production !

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2016

This film was Absolutely wonderful. It was heartfelt, jaw dropping, and seat gripping all the way through. The story was honest and emotionally thought provoking, a film I will definitely recommend.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

Great movie. Very well acted. A refreshing role for Casey Affleck. A gripping story made even more intriguing because it's true.

User review rating: 3 January 23, 2016

If these events had not occurred in real life I would have a hard time believing this story. The 3D experience seemed underwhelming but the ship scenes were exciting.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2016

I love this movie! Very intense with many "edge of your seat" moments. What makes it even more interesting is that it is based on a true story.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

I'd recommend going to watch this show. Unbelievable. Quite the story.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2016

Beautifully filmed and acted. We felt we were actually there fighting the crashing waves. What a ride! Thanks for the passes - this is a great movie to see in the cold of winter!

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2016

Beautiful shot period piece that tried very hard to be authentic 1952. Exciting and tense action. Modest hero. Somewhat cheesy love story with the beautiful and spunky heroine. I did not know the events of the story so enjoyed not really knowing how the incredible set events would end. Very entertaining.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2016

Going in I expected it to be more focused on the shipwrecked crew but I was pleasantly surprised. The action was well spread between three main groups of people: the shipwrecked crew, the rescue crew and the people waiting on land. Casey Affleck's performance was so believable as the silent, reserved tanker engineer who has to step up to save his crew. Chris Pine's character was also a silent, slightly aloft guy who just wanted to do a good and decent job. I loved Holliday Grainger's determined, feisty Miriam. She and Pine provided a sweet romance to temper the action/disaster aspects of the film. The graphics were well done, I felt like I was caught in the storm too. The movie spent just the right amount of time with each of the 3 situations so the pacing didn't drag in the middle. Definitely go watch it.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2016

I enjoyed it very much to me it was like watching titanic all over again lots of action my friend liked seeing afflack in the good role

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised. I really didn't think I was going to like it -- big surprise -- I loved it! I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see if they would be rescued, even my heart was racing. The 3D effects were excellent -- I tried to capture the stars/sparkles from the Disney castle and ducked my head to escape the water from the waves. The film itself is a nice feel good happy movie. We need to have more happiness in our lives these days. I would highly recommend this movie.

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2016

Well done sea rescue movie based on a true story set in the early 1950s.

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2016

Enjoyed this movie very much. Perfectly cast and well- acted. A touching tribute to the coast guard and the power of the ocean.

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2016

It was kind of scary, but exciting to watch.

Change Location