The Fifth Estate

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.56 / 5

User rating: 3.56

Based on 276 votes and 113 reviews


  • User rating: 3.56 9.63%
  • User rating: 3.56 55.56%
  • User rating: 3.56 21.48%
  • User rating: 3.56 7.41%
  • User rating: 3.56 5.93%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 113

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2014

Anyone who says this movie "sucks" has never seen the tv show.

User review rating: 1 June 13, 2014

this movie sucked

User review rating: 1 March 24, 2014

horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 1 March 10, 2014

a horrible movie despite a very interesting subject matter. I feel the director really screwed this one up.

User review rating: 3 February 14, 2014

Expected more, very slow

User review rating: 3 November 15, 2013

Not a bad movie.

User review rating: 4 November 14, 2013

Really enjoyed this movie. Great cast & story. Check it out.

User review rating: 3 November 10, 2013

Intriguing.....good suspense

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2013

GRIPPING STORY BASED ON A TRUE STORY , LACKING ACTION AND DRAMA

User review rating: 3 November 07, 2013

Benedict Cumberbatch is great as Julian Assange. But it fails to create any tension in what should have been a riveting movie.

User review rating: 2 November 05, 2013

Great performances by Benedict Cumberbatch and Daniel Bruhl keep this from being awful. It is still unfocused and spotty, though.

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2013

Very interesting take on the story of Julian Assante.

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this film. I understand that the movie may be different from the reality, but it had the revolution the movie "Jobs" tried and failed. I thought the movie was very interesting and also it filmed in such an inspiring way.

User review rating: 4 November 01, 2013

pretty dry, not too impressive. opportunity for this to have been great.

User review rating: 3 November 01, 2013

Excellent and riveting

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2013

This movie attempts to make sense of Wikileaks and explores the moral issues involved. Very good acting. A mad race through current events.

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2013

This was an excellent movie. Benedict Cumberbatch and Daniel Bruhl were terrific in their roles. Very interesting to see some new facts that I didn't know about re WikiLeaks. I think Assange did the right thing (gov'ts should be accountable!)

User review rating: 3 October 31, 2013

This movie is really geared to computer experts as I found the speed much too fast and most of the content unable to follow. The actors were quite realistic and easy to relate to and the personalities believable.

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2013

Wonderful movie!

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2013

I thought this movie was really good. I love Benedict Cumberbatch and he was very believable in this role. Definitely worth watching!

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2013

very good movie

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

This movie was very suspenseful and exciting, however the camera work made me a bit nauseous! Overall great film though. I learned a lot and enjoyed the brilliant (as always) performance by Benedict Cumberbatch.

User review rating: 3 October 30, 2013

Not as solidly made as I wanted it to be but still good. The final third of the film was riveting as it dealt with the Bradley Manning case but would still have preferred a little more depth into that section. Bruhl was good and Cumberpatch was incredible ! If there is any justice at the Oscars he will be nominated.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

superb thriller

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

Director Bill Condon delivers an intelligent, dynamic, character-centered drama.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Some of the special effects were very good.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

Awesome movie, would recommend

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

A very compelling, informative movie and fast paced movie. I did not know that much about Wiki Leaks before seeing this movie.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

amazing acting. loved it.

User review rating: 3 October 29, 2013

How could such an interesting subject be turned into such a bore fest? I was really disappointed because I really wanted to like the movie.

User review rating: 1 October 29, 2013

This was a very disappointing movie for me...It was very slow and more like a documentary than a movie.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

VERY GOOD MOVIE LEARNED A LOT ABOUT WIKYLEAKS

User review rating: 1 October 26, 2013

No

User review rating: 2 October 23, 2013

So so movie

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2013

Good movie, a little slow at times but very interesting

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2013

It explained a few things that happened before and after this hit the media. Interesting.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2013

Loved the movie - informative and interesting. Knew the basic Wikileak story, but not much behind the scenes, the why, how many, reminded us of all the corruption and secrets surrounding us - definitely a good lesson that one person can make a difference/impact, but ego has to be kept in check. The story was fast paced, constantly moving never got boring. We also love Benedict - Sherlock, and it was good to see him in a role that was both so similar to Sherlock - the one-manship, the aloofness, the logic and thought process, the impatience with frivolity and general life, and then so opposite - the promoter, the marketer, the accent, going out to meet with people in different groups, liste

User review rating: 1 October 21, 2013

No good

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2013

The movie made you aware of the workings and thinking behind WikiLeaks. Was very interesting learning of the people who created the concept

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2013

I enjoyed learning some of the back story to Wikileaks, thought the acting was well done, sometimes the story did lag. Overall an enjoyable learning experience.

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2013

I enjoyed this movie as it was well acted by the stars. This movie should make us all aware of the moral aspects of secrets.

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2013

The Fifth Estate is an entertaining and informative movie. Much like The Social Network taught me a lot that I didn't know about the origins of Facebook, this film enlightened me on Julian Assange and the origins and workings of WikiLeaks; and did so in a most entertaining fashion. Benedict Cumberbatch shows why he is one of the most in-demand actors of his generation with his fine performance. Although the movie is slow in places, I enjoyed the journey.

User review rating: 4 October 20, 2013

Overall a great movie, it was really interesting to see the whole story and how it played out!

User review rating: 4 October 20, 2013

The movie was impressively showy with the banks of computers and displays of fast moving downloads - a tribute to the production team! The main actors - Benedict Cumberbatch and Daniel Bruhl - played well against each other, even as their feelings towards each other changed with time , and in turn, changed my opinion of Assange! I was pleased that whistleblowers were being helped with his group, only to discover he was the only one in the group, and used various noms-de-plume! His selfish aggrandizement through release on non-redacted files that could only increase casualties in a war, has left me with total disgust for Julian Assange, That a movie would change my opinion in a few

User review rating: 4 October 19, 2013

Benedict Cumberbatch is an awesome actor! This movie was fast-paced and kept me interested and engaged the entire time. Really really good!

User review rating: 2 October 19, 2013

I found it to be very informative concerning wikeleaks, but it was about as much fun as a PBS documentary.

User review rating: 4 October 18, 2013

The Fifth Estate revealed the inner workings of the government and all of the secrets it entails. Based off of real life events, it portrayed how easily a whole new world can unravel with just a click of a button. It was intriguing and thoroughly entertaining led by great performances by the two main actors, Benedict Cumberbatch and Daniel Bruhl. One of Bill Condon's best.

User review rating: 4 October 18, 2013

The Fifth Estate was very informative as to how the rich, big business and the government hide all kind of knowledge from the everyday person and to the extent they will go to keep it hidden. Very fast moving and interesting.

User review rating: 4 October 18, 2013

I really enjoyed this movie, Benedict Cumberbatch does a superb job. The movie left my friend and I wanting to do our own research and inspired us to review our own moral/ethical views and opinons

User review rating: 4 October 18, 2013

Whereas it is not quite up to the standards that ALL THE PRESIDENT'S MEN set in terms of movies about journalism, the performances by Benedict Cumberbatch and especially Daniel Bruhl propel this movie to great heights. I enjoyed it immensely

Change Location