The Day the Earth Stood Still

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.48 / 5

User rating: 3.48

Based on 900 votes and 110 reviews


  • User rating: 3.48 49.26%
  • User rating: 3.48 5.34%
  • User rating: 3.48 8.31%
  • User rating: 3.48 18.40%
  • User rating: 3.48 18.69%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 110

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2009

I was hoping for more..glad I didn't pay money for this film.The idea is old.I'm giving it 3 stars for the affects.

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2009

Stop and smell the roses. This movie was an eye opener, not far from reality.

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2009

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!<3

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2009

This movie wasted entirely too much time dabbling with the relationship of the bratty, ungrateful child and his adoptive mother. The human race is on the verge of extermination by aliens. Who cares about the tribulations of some child? Waste of time and money. I kept waiting for something more and then it ended suddenly. Bad.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2009

I kept expecting something huge to happen but it never did.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2009

is movie is a very very very good good good to watch and i watch again agian all the time .

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2009

see i didnt mind this movie.. it kept me entertained.. thats all that matters

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2009

Big disappointment. Yes the message is good but don't need this type of setting to get it. Expecting something big the entire time and it just never really happens. Jennifer C. as always great though.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2009

Predictable Hollywood movie. As long as you're not expecting Ben Hur or Citizen Kane it was very entertaining

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2009

Beginning was fantastic - then it went down-hill from there!

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2009

ok movie, Keanu always plays these type of roles well, he is not average/human

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2009

loved it

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2009

Background sound ie music, far too loud throughout the movie, very distracting, difficult understanding characters. Special effects were good, but not fantastic, and rather simple to todays standards. Keanu Reeves performance looked more like a man on drugs, totally spaced out. I appreciate the fact that the story line tried to keep to the original, but in this case, the child star could have been left out completely. Maybe this movie will view better on a smaller screen, but unfortunately a smaller screen can't change the performance of the actors. Too bad, I was really excited that this movie was being remade, especially with Keanu Reeves, too bad Mr Reeves let this viewer down.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2009

It was a ok movie but it wasn't good as I thought it would be.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2009

It was a decent movie, but I think I preferred the original. Keanu did a good job as the alien, with some hints that there was deeper emotion than he showed, but I really wish he would step outside his comfort zone and show us that he's capable of more, if he is. Jennifer Connelly was terrific, but in all, the 'humanization' of the alien didn't really happen as much as it did in the original. Worth seeing, but not necessarily on the big screen.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2009

It all comes down to what you were expecting. Look, the title didn't say "The day the earth stood still, then Neo returns" now did it? So wake up people, there weren't going to be any squidys, no agent smiths, no kung fu ok... ok, it got close though when Keanu got released from the gooey encasement eh? Easy matrix fans, that's where the similarities stopped. So assuming you knew approximately what the original movie was about, the modern day adaptation of this movie has done justice. Chill out, leave your expectations at the door and just enjoy a modern remake of an old classic.

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2009

IT was a Stupid Movie and I wasnt'd my time sitting threw all that. The Ending felt like it wasnt completed!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2009

the earth stands still. and time stands still because not a darn thing happens. except keanu proves he still can't act.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2009

Good movie. Time to wake up.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2009

Okay, not great. Pretty good special effects & true to the orginal (well almost)

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2009

loved it

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2009

Too many advertisements! Anti-climatic! Predictable ending. Enough said..

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2009

Keanu is great as a dispassionate alien. Jennifer Connelly is great as a compassionate scientist. Only Jared Smith shouldn't be allowed near a film again (cute kid, but empty eyes and lousy acting). Overall an entertaining sci-fi that is a decent effort considering its modest budget for sci-fi (good effects). Message: can humanity survive its rapacious greed and indifference to the earth.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2009

so pointless, wasn't worth the money or time spent

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2008

i really injoyed this movie

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2008

I actually walked out 1 hour into the movie and the theatre was very apologetic when they gave me my money back. I have only ever walkd out on two mvies my whole life. Well at least both father and son ( Will and Jaden ) each have an absloute dud in their movie careers. I nominate this and Hancock for worst movie ever.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2008

AWSOME

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2008

Filmmaking on a grand scale, with a surprise ending that's sure to spark lengthy discussion and debate. This is CLASSIC sci-fi!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2008

Neat movie with a really cool ending!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2008

flat & boring. save your cash

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2008

Followed the original movie quite closely with a modern injection. I love the original and this was great too!!!

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2008

most boring movie ever. you will not enjoy it. plz don't go

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2008

bad bad movie! the ending, what ending. save your cash don't watch it

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2008

poorly made worse remake in years!

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2008

Difference from the 1951 classic which really enjoyed. I think there was too much "Hollywood" in this version. But never the less, the movie as a whole was great and I highly recommend it to everybody to watch.

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2008

This deserves no stars! It was horrible. No action, terrible acting, and I would have left the theatre early but I didn't wake up in time. Please save your money!

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2008

This movie should be rated at around 3.4 as a final rating result! Horrible ending and boring storyline. Almost fall asleep during the movie, and whats with the part where Reeves is talking to a Chinese old man in Mandarin. For those people didnt understand Mandarin, they might think they were speaking Alien language at the restaurant! WTF man, totally!

User review rating: 0 December 23, 2008

yuck.

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2008

Loads of fun!

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2008

IF YOU HAD AN OPTION FOR ZERO STARS I WOULD HAVE SELECTED THAT OPTION. PEOPLE LEFT THE MOVIE BEFORE IT WAS OVER.

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2008

it was cool

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2008

Impressive spectacle with Keanu in what will no doubt become his signature role. Simply great.

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2008

The outstanding special effects never overwhelm the story.

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2008

A "message" movie to cherish. 10/10 (Perfect Score)

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2008

Horrible ending...

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2008

Lacklustre plot, acting, effects and remake. This film leaves both a lot of questions unanswered and a lot to be desired. Even a week later I am still not completely sure what the message of this film is meant to be, nor the reason they would remake such a phenomenal, timely film in such a poor fashion.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2008

Wait for the DVD or better yet watch the original. It's way better.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2008

A rare example of a remake thoroughly outclassing the original.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2008

A movie only Al Gore could love.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2008

This movie reminds us all that dreams really can come true.

Change Location