The Counselor

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.62 / 5

User rating: 2.62

Based on 162 votes and 63 reviews


  • User rating: 2.62 10.00%
  • User rating: 2.62 21.25%
  • User rating: 2.62 21.25%
  • User rating: 2.62 16.25%
  • User rating: 2.62 31.25%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 63

User review rating: 5 August 18, 2014

A story of greed and betrayal which requires an attentive eye and educated ear. It is visual, intelligent, and though-provoking with visual symbolism and humour that seems to sandwich the most vile of violent scenes. The cast is solid with Diaz playing the most off the wall character and Cruz in the background as the naive fall guy. We reap what we sow.

User review rating: 5 August 18, 2014

A story of greed and betrayal which requires an attentive eye and educated ear. It is visual, intelligent, and though-provoking with visual symbolism and humour that seems to sandwhich the most vile of violent scenes. The cast is solid with Diaz playing the most off the wall character and Cruz in the background as the naive fall guy. We reap what we sow.

User review rating: 1 April 24, 2014

Horrible. Garbage. Awful. Grossly bad. Waste of time and money.

User review rating: 1 April 08, 2014

Horrible movie, simply awful

User review rating: 1 March 31, 2014

one of the worst movies ever made

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2014

Terrible, waste of time watching these amazing actors being part of such a waste of money production. This movie was to long and hard to follow. SUCKS!

User review rating: 2 February 13, 2014

Yes this Movie is torture, it is so slow, a bit confusing and hello where is the action?

User review rating: 1 January 20, 2014

Worst movie I have ever seen, I wouldn't even call this a movie. It something you torture someone with.

User review rating: 2 November 23, 2013

I gave it 2 stars only because i like cameron and penelope - the movie itself is terrible

User review rating: 1 November 22, 2013

It was a terrible movie, waste of time and money. Only went because of the big name stars, Huge disappointment.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2013

very good.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2013

it is wery good

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2013

Cameron Diaz, email me on how you prepared for that car scene.DAMN. Javier Bardem, get a haircut. Penelope Cruz, you should've stayed home. Brad Pitt, go make sure your 56 children are fed. Michael Fassbender, shorten your name and make another Xmen movie.

User review rating: 3 November 15, 2013

It's boring.

User review rating: 2 November 15, 2013

So So movie. I didnt expect that much violence.

User review rating: 3 November 13, 2013

Hard to follow, but action filled

User review rating: 1 November 12, 2013

Movie was very hard to follow & a waste of our time.

User review rating: 1 November 09, 2013

Great acting scenes, sure. Diaz might have had the best role. But gosh - this movie completely lacked ANY ACTION. I almost fell asleep! I expected edge of the seat action from a gangster film with such a line up of actors. Total flop.

User review rating: 1 November 09, 2013

Though stylish, the story more resembles one that would be a 12-part series on Movie Central or AMC but compressed into 2 hours and missing a lot of detail to make total sense or enjoyable. Many scenes have details that lead no where. I was bored in the first 30 seconds and that is no exaggeration. Otherwise, not good at all and a candidate for the worst movie of the year for me, and, one that had the most potential.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2013

GREAT ACTING , VERY EMOTIONAL AND CREDIBAL IN ALL SCENES ESPECIALLY WHEN HE SEES HIS WIFE HILLED.WOW

User review rating: 2 November 09, 2013

slow plot, no character development, no climax. Script lacked. Huge let down considering the star studded cast.

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2013

very good

User review rating: 3 November 08, 2013

An alright movie for some people but it's not my forte ! I gave it three stars !

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2013

A very complex & convoluted storyline. This film is filled with big name stars, but the script & storyline is so difficult to understand that the viewer is left with a huge question mark at the end

User review rating: 0 November 07, 2013

Wish I had read the reviews before going....the worst movie I have seen in many years. Outstanding cast with nothing to work with. Rent it, don't pay to see it in the theatre.

User review rating: 3 November 06, 2013

The movie was okay, thought it would be better with all the great casting!

User review rating: 2 November 05, 2013

Big disappoint considering the amount of 'stars' in this film...left me confused...

User review rating: 1 November 05, 2013

I would rate this a 0 if possible... it had star power but it was terrible, one of the top worst movies I have seen

User review rating: 1 November 05, 2013

The Counselor is everything Cormac McCarthy's novels are not: badly paced and poorly written - with clunky exposition and cliched dialogue. It looks great but has no heart, no soul and no art. It is a complete waste of time that I regret paying to see. I'd give it 0 stars if that was possible.

User review rating: 1 November 04, 2013

I love the superstar cast but I hated it!!!

User review rating: 3 November 03, 2013

Although the cast was full of talent and potential, this movie fell short of how excellent it could have been. The script was wordy, filed with long winded conversations on life, death and even snuff films. Most of the time, I found it hard to pay attention to their conversations, and tuned them out. Luckily, they were never central to the movies plot, thus I did not miss much. Essentially, they script ruined the small chance this overplayed plot had at being anything good.

User review rating: 1 November 03, 2013

0 stars the worst movie I have seen ,never liked Brad Pitt and this movie just proved me right so is the rest of the cast bad bad bad acting...waist of time and money$$$$ Danielle

User review rating: 1 November 02, 2013

Worst movie ever and waste of time.

User review rating: 3 November 02, 2013

VERY ENTERTAINING . LOVE THE ACTORS!

User review rating: 3 November 01, 2013

If you like to see a story develop from the very beginning, don't see this movie. The plot picks up halfway through the promise of a drug deal, and cautiously winds through to the end. Random characters are introduced, popping in and out like groundhogs in a hole but are connected to the story. You have a huge ah hah moment at the end when you realize what has just transpired. Hang in until the end because there is a brief moment when you are transported back to Brad Pitt's days as a not so decent human character like his Fight Club days.

User review rating: 3 November 01, 2013

It could have been really good if the ending wasn't so abrupt. It was disappointing.

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2013

good

User review rating: 2 October 31, 2013

although I liked the acting ... the plot was strangely ... strange ... and not cohesive :(

User review rating: 1 October 31, 2013

The movie was all talk and no action, after an hour I gave up and left. As well, the talk hardly made any sense, all characters were talking in circles with inside conversations the audience knew nothing about as there was no lead into the characters or story.

User review rating: 3 October 31, 2013

Great cast in an average movie.

User review rating: 3 October 31, 2013

had good actors but the storyline was hard to follow

User review rating: 0 October 31, 2013

Very good

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

A different take on an old theme---crime doesn't pay and greed leads to destruction. Still, a very good movie tho I prefer happy endings.

User review rating: 2 October 30, 2013

One can say few words about the movie like what? and huh? I gave up early on trying to figure out what exactly was going on and when the actual story started. Thank goodness there were pretty/handsome faces to look at otherwise one would not be able to make it through this schmozzle of a story.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

I think it's one of Ridley Scott's best films ever made. The actors in it are very passionate, and yet did very well performences in their own way.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

I really enjoyed this one. It was very different not to have Brad in the lead role!

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

A stylish, chilling film with a strong, unsettling message and an ending that won't send you out into the night with a smile on your face! It's got some very good performances from a great cast. This is not a film to take your dear old aunt to!

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Very entertaining.

User review rating: 1 October 29, 2013

This movie would fall under my worst movies ever category and if if could give 0 stars I would. It was a total waste of time and money.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

Riveting, twisted, and astonishing - also with a hint of comedy, this film kept you guessing to the very end.

Change Location