The Book Thief

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.43 / 5

User rating: 4.43

Based on 448 votes and 198 reviews


  • User rating: 4.43 51.85%
  • User rating: 4.43 39.81%
  • User rating: 4.43 7.87%
  • User rating: 4.43 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.43 0.46%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 198

User review rating: 5 June 02, 2014

This thought-provoking drama was perfectly cast .

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2014

Having lost most of my family to the Polish/Jewish holocaust, anything below a five for this film is total disrespect and an insult to a phenomenal humanitarian film.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was in turns sad, lighthearted, painful, touching, uplifting and more. Solid performances by all. geoffrey Rush is always good, Emily watson's transformation was great- and I especially loved the scenes between leisl and Rudy.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2014

Excellent !!

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2014

wow ! go see this movie

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2014

wonderful-a heart warming/heartbreaking movie. one of a handful in my life I would watch again

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2014

Excellent story! Very well acted by all the cast. Really. Felt I was there. Never stops to amaze me how the people of this era thought so differently than we do. Don't think most people today would be capable of rising to the occassion in such a manner as so many of them.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2014

BRILLIANT - Best film I've seen this year and there have been other very good ones.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2013

A tragedie of the Second World War that presents a narrative from the German people's perspective....a reverse Anne Frank story....quite moving. A tail of survival at its best and the resilience of a person throughout the emotional obstacles thrown at her by fate....

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2013

I cannot recall in my life seeing a more moving film. The audience could not move at the end of the showing.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2013

An amazing movie! The last movie that I gave five stars was 'It's A Beautiful Life'. Movies of this quality are rare and so inspiring.

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2013

What a magnificent film! Beautiful story, well acted. It is slow moving but it is like a fine wine...you savour each sip. Not to be missed.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2013

This movie was excellent. The story, plot and the acting throughout was superb. This movie should win an award just for drawing in it's audience. You really feel for each of the characters, especially the heroine, Lizelle!

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2013

Best book I have read in years and the movie totally did it justice. Should be a contender for a number of Oscars. Just loved it!!!

User review rating: 4 December 09, 2013

A good story, a little slow at times. would make a good family movie as it depicts the Holocaust in a very mild way so to speak. All the actors were very good.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2013

Riveting film. Worth seeing

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2013

Compelling story and excellent acting

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2013

The best movie of the year!!!I saw 12 Years a Slave and thought there could not be any better acting then what was displayed in that movie. The Book Thief was as good, perhaps even better!!!

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2013

reminds me of anne frank,a great story

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2013

Well worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2013

Best movie hands down.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2013

Although the topic has been done time and again, being narrated from Death's point of view was a new spin. The film is beautifully shot, well acted, and held my interest right till the end. I really liked this movie.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2013

A well told true story with tremendous acting, covering a painful time in German/World history. Best movie I've seen in a long time. The whole theatre clapped.

User review rating: 3 December 01, 2013

It was the same old, old Hollywood story telling.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2013

Beautiful movie. Would absolutely see it again.

User review rating: 4 December 01, 2013

very powerful film indeed as i just saw it today November 30th, the girl acting was excellent as u don't see that much with somebody that young stealing the show, and the others where a good as well from beginning to end, if you luv drama and war movies go see this one for sure on the big screen as i would be surprise if this doesn't win a Oscar for best film of the year, my only Tim bit is death narrating it from time to time and the very end, rather from those beefs i would of give it a five star as it is one of my top 20 favorite movies of all time, enjoy this one for sure and you wont be disappointed :)

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2013

This is a very well acted movie with endearing stars.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2013

Awesome

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

EXCELLENT

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

Excellent and unpredictable. A movie that stands on it's own merrits. No need for special effects or extreme violence and sex. A realistic, heart warming jouney into a past that while violence was a part, it's overshadowed by the excellent storyline and characters.

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2013

For the most part, you will come out seeing this film with what you expect. "The Book Thief" takes place during the Holocaust, a subject seen in many other renowned films, but the beauty of this story comes from the perspective viewers get - that of a child's. There is an excellent blend of different pieces that move the film along well - the violence and the intensity of the time period, the touching relationships between friends and family, and the humor they all share. Though it's nothing new, the writing and lines are still great and make the characters very likable. Performances by the entire cast, no matter how small or large a role they play, are certainly deserving of praise. Even

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2013

This film followed the book fairly closely (important in my opinion), telling the story of what people will do for each other in order to survive. Acting was good, although I felt that the actors struggled a bit with the accents.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

absolutely fantastic movie

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2013

This movie is so incredible amazing. It is very deep, well made and acted, fantastic story line, and about one of my most favorite subjects in the whole wide world - literature. Plus, the scenery is wonderful and so are the outfits that people wear.

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2013

Was a very good movie

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2013

4 stars excellent movie

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2013

really good movie.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2013

Very good movie

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2013

Excellent movie

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2013

I saw this movie and i thoroughly enjoyed it especially getting to watch through their(my kids) eyes. i also enjoyed that the movie was narrated by the angel of death- it added a cool effect! thanks

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

Riveting, intense, emotional rollercoaster, well worth the time.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

omg....best movie ever! I laughed, I cried, I felt I was there....soo many emotions!

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

Great movie to watch !! Great characters, great story about a yound lady who wants to fight her illeteracy and she loses important in her life throughout the movie..her adaptation throughout her life!

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

In one word..."WOW". This movie was incredible. The historical content is worth seeing alone, but the beautiful messages that come from such a time of turmoil, mixed with the reality of the wartime they were all entrenched in, will warm your heart. Absolutely a must see - you will not be disappointed.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2013

loved it...a truly special movie

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Good movie

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

A great movie during Nazi days filmed in Germany, it was very emotional, a lot of drama, a little comedy and a story of a young lady who has to adapt to losing her family and friends because of several tragedies..excellent story and film!

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

It was so good, I want to purchase the dvd.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Excellent story, very moving, some humour, some tears

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

You follow the emotions and confusion of a young girl from the innocence of childhood to being a naive young woman. Her only escape and happiness comes from reading books. She has been thrown into a world at war and has to keep secrets that would get her and her adoptive family killed. The casting of the characters is superb.

Change Location