The American

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.30 / 5

User rating: 2.30

Based on 752 votes and 269 reviews


  • User rating: 2.30 14.18%
  • User rating: 2.30 11.00%
  • User rating: 2.30 10.76%
  • User rating: 2.30 18.58%
  • User rating: 2.30 45.48%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 269

User review rating: 2 May 27, 2014

Boring

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2013

Superior entertainment; Clooney is outstanding!

User review rating: 1 December 29, 2013

Worst movie ever, no plot, it's a movie about nothing.

User review rating: 1 September 16, 2011

BORRRIIINNNNGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 3 June 27, 2011

Very surprising ending!

User review rating: 2 March 17, 2011

Boring and predictable.

User review rating: 2 February 14, 2011

I was very disappointed in this film. While the acting was good, the story and direction were all wrong. The result: a below average film.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2011

Awful, awful, awful.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2011

this movie made me want to sue George Clooney for my 2 hours back!!Stay home and file your nails, you will be more entertained!

User review rating: 2 January 20, 2011

Agreed, pretty boring. Also kinda difficult to pull for Clooney to have a love life, after he shoots his first girlfriend in the back.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2011

slow, boring, and waste of time.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2011

most boring movie ever ..nothing ever happens.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2011

Nothing happens................ever................ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2011

Should be a zero star. Ive seen more action in a diaper.

User review rating: 1 January 11, 2011

i wished i was shot in the neck at the beginning of the movie.... yes, it was that bad. stay away.

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2011

it was so bad, i asked for a refund and i got it.

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2011

Worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Save your money don't watch this.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2011

Great movie! Deep, and perfectly balanced. Gives so much to think about. Oscar candidate.

User review rating: 1 January 06, 2011

and i thought "Green Zone" was bad.....

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2011

worst show ever. the the show "the american" should never be spoken again. your expectation of clooney as a hit-man are totally distroyed. not into looking at his gay tattoo, and watching him exercise. the only thing worth watching was the nudie scenes andnot of clooney. the plot, well there wasn't any.

User review rating: 4 January 02, 2011

This film was amazing in its own way. People who understand the true art of film-making will appreciate this film. It is slow, but sometimes a slow paced movie helps you pay attention to detail, I enjoyed it, Let the movie unfold how it does, don't rush it.

User review rating: 1 January 01, 2011

Throughout this movie you wre trying to understand what was going on and in the end the person who he was working for why did he want to kill him. Very dreadful movie what suspense was there.

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2010

If this is what Europeans consider a thriller, I feel bad for them.

User review rating: 2 December 31, 2010

I was so disappointed that I searched deeper meanings for the movie. It was so odd and slow that I figured there must be more too it. Apparently not. It was just an awful European style movie. It would have been better if the plot was more than just for nothing...

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2010

by himself, didnt make for an interesting movie.. thumbs down on this

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2010

Slow and just bad!

User review rating: 3 November 23, 2010

Its a italian movie that looks like a french movie, George Clooney is fantastic, but the director is more concerned with the photografy than directing the cast. Beautiful locations.

User review rating: 5 November 19, 2010

Not a movie for the mentally slouch. Great acting and understated. Brilliant movie.

User review rating: 2 November 15, 2010

not so much

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2010

This movie isn't even worth one star. Extremely boring, and the whole movie could be summed up in five minutes.

User review rating: 4 November 12, 2010

Beautifully acted simple story ... like a wonderful European movie. Not every movie has have constant explosions ...

User review rating: 1 November 11, 2010

I'm shocked that George Clooney would do this boring flick. It was dull, it was dreary, and his death scene was abominable!!

User review rating: 2 November 11, 2010

slow movie

User review rating: 2 November 10, 2010

too slow

User review rating: 3 November 07, 2010

Good technical reviews but couldn't relate to George Clooney and such a YOUNG female playing his lover.

User review rating: 4 November 07, 2010

i really loved the movie

User review rating: 1 November 05, 2010

Movie was extremely slow. Clooney showed no emotion.

User review rating: 3 November 05, 2010

Love George but did not live up to the kind of movie he is usually in. Not as much action as previews showed. Preview had best parts.

User review rating: 2 November 02, 2010

Very slow! Promised more action with the trailer but did not produce.

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2010

I loved the movie!

User review rating: 1 October 31, 2010

I gave it one star because i am sure effort was put into making this very boring movie. It was so slow. It's time I won't get back and that makes me sad

User review rating: 1 October 29, 2010

Ilove george clooney,but this movie was slow,boring and predictable!

User review rating: 4 October 27, 2010

good movie george was terrific.I think it being understated has put most off however.

User review rating: 3 October 21, 2010

Not what we expected from a George Clooney film.

User review rating: 1 October 19, 2010

Such a slow and boring movie. The story just is not worth it

User review rating: 3 October 13, 2010

It was almost like a silent film!

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2010

Yep, pretty much anything George does is good!

User review rating: 3 October 13, 2010

Not bad but still love looking at George!

User review rating: 4 October 12, 2010

an excellent movie. Clooney was perfect. It was not the action film the trailer portrayed it to be but great none the less

User review rating: 1 October 12, 2010

long and drawn out, not worthy of a cloony...

Change Location