The Alamo

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Alamo Movie Poster

3.93 / 5

User rating: 3.93

Based on 10409 votes and 39 reviews


  • User rating: 3.93 68.61%
  • User rating: 3.93 2.41%
  • User rating: 3.93 5.04%
  • User rating: 3.93 1.70%
  • User rating: 3.93 22.24%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 39 of 39

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2009

I found it a fascinating movie which was, in my opinion, historically sound and showed a balanced view of both sides of the war. The photography was at times stunning, and the action scenes were exciting but not too graphic. Although a lifelong fan of his, this picture puts John Waynes version into the comic books. I am a life long film goer and thought this film was great. Peter Drew

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2008

The best version I've seen so far !

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2006

I thought it was very well done. Would love to see a directors cut.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2006

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I think the director did a great job in portraying the main character`s accurately. I loved Patrick Wilson being cast as William Travis. He was wonderful and stole the show from the other bigger stars!

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2006

As a native Texan who grew up "playing" the Alamo (as several of the actors confessed), I apprectiated the historical accuracy as well as the balanced perspective on all issues. The Screenwriter/ Director had a formidable task 1) in telling a remarkable story with four main characters under a strict studio time retraint (the movie couod have easily been 3-1/2 hours in length), and 2) educating the ignorant who thought the Alamo was a story of "America verse Mexico" (as some from Disney initially belived before the Director educated them on basic history). I`ve seen the movie at least five times and will see it again. Best telling of the heroi

User review rating: 0 December 14, 2005

As a historian I thought it was fairly accurate. There were somethings, obviously, that had to be guessed at, but overall, it was a decent movie about a group of men told to hold out as long as they could, knowing they were doomed...a tale of brotherhood, the kind most soldiers who have been in combat know about. As for the pro-american theme, the U.S. wasn`t involved. It was about a group of men fighting for Texas independence as a seprate Republic.

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2005

to much blood

User review rating: 0 July 01, 2005

I think the movie did a good job in telling the story of the human drama. I was glad that it at least touched on the slavery issue. Mexico had abolished slavery and the Texains wanted slaves to work the cotton fields. The true horror story is the way Texas treated the natives and the free blacks after winning independence from Mexico. The black men who had worked as free as the whites were returned to slavery and the natives (Tajos) were forced to leave Texas, even Juan Sequin could not tollerate the violence against himself and the natives. The movie was entertaining and like always depicted the Americans as heroes. We usually leave out

User review rating: 0 October 16, 2004

Though not entirely accurate, the historical account of the Alamo at least portrays the supreme sacrifice common Americans made so as to assure liberty in what eventually has become the most democratic, and prosperous nation on earth. Only with the patriotic determination and unrelenting fortitude so cleverly portrayed by those who so valiantly fought to secure freedom in Texas against overwhelming odds (as was true during the Revolution and at other times in our nation`s history) has the miraculous emergence of the United States on the world scene become possible. More historical productions such as this movie (in spite of many politically

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2004

why does US always win? why is it a good thing that the americans always kill everyone in the end? why do they continue to make american war movies, when they`re just all the same? you always know america`s going to win. I don`t remember hollywood making a film about Canada fighting a war...are we not as important as the US is? oh yea, i didn`t like this movie.

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2004

I laughed when I saw the Mexican`s in the background lined up at the catering truck.

User review rating: 0 June 23, 2004

I think this movie focuses on the lives of some glorified Americans who had nothing better to do than take over Mexican territory. It is the epitome of colonialism at work! Other than that, it was an okay movie!

User review rating: 0 May 27, 2004

The movie was just like the book no parts missing the Alamo is a movie i can see over and over agin

User review rating: 0 May 24, 2004

The movie is not very accurate on historical events. It is a pathetic movie which bases itself from a myth rather than reality.

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2004

One of the best in years and worth repeated viewing. Those who are not familiar with the scholarship on the story are advised that this is as close to the truth as cinema can come. If this film fails financially, it will prove that the movie going public prefers the sensational to `warts and all` portrayals of events and personalities that are not necessarily edifying.

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2004

I was inspired and moved from the begining until the very end of the movie. Gives you respect on what happened to those men who lost thier lives for the Alamo.

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2004

I thought it was very good for the accuracy was amazing for hollywood. The critics gave it a bad rating. ( but after passion of the christ I don`t give a care.)

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2004

Historical accuracy was far better than I have seen in such a movie in many years. The story could have been better told within the context of the times and especially the massacure of Fannin`s troops.

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2004

I was very impressed. Billy Bob Thorton did a nominating performance (i don`t normally care for his acting). I found the movie to be very intertaining and what a great way to learn some history.

User review rating: 0 April 21, 2004

The historical accuracy is nice but I saw little point in remaking the movie. Better to remake some bad movie

User review rating: 0 April 17, 2004

it was a great movie

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2004

i cannot believe i wasted so much time watching Mexican/texan histroy thats more boring than History 101

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2004

I agree that the historical accuracy is a bit off. The Mexican`s where whipped by Houston in 18 minutes because they where surprised attacked while having a siesta. I thought that it was an extremely inside line at the end when Billy Bob Thornton said "I have to warn you, I`m a screamer" while playing the doomed Davy Crocket. I think it was aimed exclusively at Angelina Jolie and was what she probably said to him before they had sex for the first time. Great movie!!!

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2004

I AM STILL WAITING FOR THIS TO ARRIVE IN THE U.K............BUT HAVE FOUND YOUR WEB PAGE INTERESTING ,IT GIVES ME AN IDEA OF WHAT FILMS TO EXPECT IN THE FUTURE. S. FARRER

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2004

As you sit and watch the movie you get a feeling of being with the men who made this mission famous. Most people just miss the point of the Alamo. It is not about Texan vs. Mexian nor is it about Texas independence, though that is a lead in. It is about duty, honor and fortitude. It is about common men during a time of great stress that come together in a place of no return. It is about the fear on the faces of the men who just days before were laughing over tall tales. It is about Crockett showing people he was not the man on the stage but just a common man as the rest of them. It was about courage under the most difficult times. But

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2004

Interesting but not as exciting as I had hoped, slow getting started. Still enjoyed it.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2004

smooth!

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2004

This movie is pretty good, but i think there should be sex involved

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2004

what kinda people would actually rank this movie as a five star?

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2004

this movie rocked

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

GREAT MOVIE ! if you have to see a movie this year go see this one !

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

Typical "American" crap! One sided. The victors always write the history, or twist it to their favour. Typically this comes out in theatres when Americans are trying to justify their war of aggression over the oil fields of Iraq! IT is always about them and their agenda! The US has always sought to invade and control, if not militarily, then culturally. Give me a break! "Southern Yankee (now there`s an oxymoron) go home!" BTW, on the way home, leave Iraq!

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

Crap. I hated it. No history at all, only the odd crappy fight scene. Lots of lounds bangs, but no substance at all.

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

The acting was PATHETIC!!!

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

Sooo bad that I left after the first ten minutes!!!

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

The most exciting movie of the year so far, with action, romance and comical times. This movie will make you laugh, cry and travel back to a time where the US was fighting Mexico for one large piece of land. Worth the money.

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

It was good yeah sure no dout , but it was like reriting history.

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2004

Excellent. Exciting retelling of the doomed stand in the little Texian mission.Billy Bob Thornton`s performance as the real-life David Crockett was the standout characterization of the entire film.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2004

A great war picture!

Change Location