Take Shelter

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.85 / 5

User rating: 3.85

Based on 80 votes and 26 reviews


  • User rating: 3.85 30.00%
  • User rating: 3.85 37.50%
  • User rating: 3.85 22.50%
  • User rating: 3.85 7.50%
  • User rating: 3.85 2.50%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 26 of 26

User review rating: 5 April 19, 2015

Amazing. So well done. It takes you to a place of paranoia in yourself that you might not know existed.

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2014

Great film - one you think about for hours after you finish watching it.

User review rating: 4 December 12, 2013

excellent film with awesome performances!!

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2013

One of the best films I ahve ever seen!!!

User review rating: 4 January 18, 2013

Brilliant movie!!

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2013

Very intense movie that I couldn't take my eyes off of. Shannon was fantastic!!

User review rating: 4 March 29, 2012

awesome movie!!!!...shannon gives a great performance about a man thinking he is going crazy, but maybe isn't. loved it.

User review rating: 4 March 28, 2012

loved it!!!! a creepy movie that freaked me out. couldn't stop thinking about it after it finished.

User review rating: 4 March 27, 2012

intense movie and highly entertaining. shannon gives a great performance.

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2012

well done!

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2012

One of the years best films. Not to be missed. This is the film M. Night Shamylan wishes he could make.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2012

A movie that makes you realize that you should always consider the reasons why people do what they do......there is always a reason for everything

User review rating: 3 January 05, 2012

A pretty good thriller

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2011

it was very moving...

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2011

Best movie I've seen this year. It will seem slow only if your attention span has been numbed by CGI-filled action movies like Transformers. For everyone else, the pace will be perfect. Michael Shannon is staggering.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2011

Intense and facinating!

User review rating: 4 November 14, 2011

great acting, deliberate pace. Patience is rewarded although the ending is polarizing

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2011

Amazing lead actor. The movie was slow but not boring. It was heartbreaking to watch his madness unfold.

User review rating: 3 November 11, 2011

no did not like

User review rating: 3 November 06, 2011

good acting

User review rating: 4 October 26, 2011

A movie worth watching!

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2011

Michael Shannon proves yet again that he is deserving of being called a great actor.

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2011

With Take Shelter, Michael Shannon has his most prominent showcase to date, reuniting with Jeff Nichols, the writer-director of his little-seen 2007 drama, Shotgun Stories. But Take Shelter is no typical leading-man bid; once again, Shannon has been called on to tap into the disturbing intensity that’s become his trademark. He may never play a romantic hero, but he’s clearly carved a niche that cuts deeper than ever with his latest role. Matching Shannon every step of the way is Jessica Chastain as Samantha. The suddenly ubiquitous young actress from The Tree of Life and The Help is luminous and poignant as a woman struggling to deal with her husband’s drastic mental decline while giving

User review rating: 3 October 22, 2011

GREAT ACTING--ESPECIALLY THE MAIN LEAD--A MOVIE THAT IS NOT FOR ALL TO SEE==AN ENDING ?????

User review rating: 3 October 21, 2011

I also expected great things from this film but was disappointed. The acting was great, especially by Michael Shannon, but the pace was quite slow. The film sets up a certain premise about the main character, which in itself was interesting, but the abrupt ending confuses things. It could have been much better if the issues of mental illness and a possible apocalypse weren't intertwined.

User review rating: 2 October 20, 2011

I read the great reviews and went in expecting something special. My mistake as this movie was so BORING and uneventful, I cannot believe the positive write ups it received in many publications. I wouldn't even recommend this as a rental, unless you need a good sleep. Oh dear!

Change Location