Southpaw

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.65 / 5

User rating: 3.65

Based on 78 votes and 32 reviews


  • User rating: 3.65 51.35%
  • User rating: 3.65 13.51%
  • User rating: 3.65 2.70%
  • User rating: 3.65 13.51%
  • User rating: 3.65 18.92%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 32 of 32

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2016

It's really sad that they keep making boxing movies. Pathetic idiots who have no other skills (in other words, an extremely low IQ) beat each other to a pulp while other people cheer. It's sick. If you think this is entertainment, please seek the help you need to make this world a better place, instead of glorifying violence.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2015

Really enjoyed it great acting awesome cast.

User review rating: 1 November 04, 2015

Brutal. Sorry I was forced to watch this. Bad on all levels.

User review rating: 3 October 28, 2015

I hope they paid Stallone a commission on this movie, this is just a remake of Rocky III.....changed some names, a couple of situations, but the plot is identical.....

User review rating: 5 August 29, 2015

I loved it! Wasn't sure I would like it because I am by no means a boxing fan, but it was very entertaining. Very emotional with great acting. It has good characters that you get attached to.

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2015

Lovely movie and good struggle story. Jake G always good acting and better in every movie. I am sure he will get an Oscar one day.

User review rating: 5 August 24, 2015

What a story! What great acting from every character! LOVED IT!

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2015

This movie is well worth your money&time....although predictable there is a couple of twists along the way that tries to not make it so.....as some have said bring some tissues with you....for the person that left after 20min....Wow you missed a good one.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2015

A Must see!

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2015

Such a good movie. I shed a few tears, and found myself cHeering Jakes character on. The acting was above and beyond. I give it 4 stars instead of 5, just because it was predictable, but still worth tHe money to go see it.

User review rating: 1 August 05, 2015

This movie was too depressing. I went to see it because of the great cast, but left the theater after 20 minutes. If you have a friend who's always annoyingly happy, take him to see this 'blockbuster' and see the smile disappear from his lips - guaranteed.

User review rating: 5 August 04, 2015

Amazing movie worth a watch any night of the week

User review rating: 5 August 02, 2015

Any one who compares this to any other fight movie didn't watch the movie. Any one who says 'no emotion', is simply wrong. Yes predictable because there is defeat and resurrection. But the characters grow, and the acting believable. This was a good one. Go see it.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2015

This movie was fantastic. Definitely Oscar-worthy performances. Southpaw tugs at many emotional strings throughout and that is hard to find in some movies today. Would highly recommend this movie. Really hope this gets some Oscar buzz.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2015

AMAZING!! My husband and I are big movie goers and we absolutely loved this film. Some people are being very critical about this movie but clearly don't understand what makes a well-rounded film. This is a must see if you love a great movie! Jake is a brilliant actor and deserves an Oscar!!! 5 stars all the way!

User review rating: 4 July 30, 2015

I really enjoyed this movie.....pretty heavy drama.....lots of blood and heart wrenching moments.

User review rating: 1 July 29, 2015

ROCKY with a blaring soundtrack but no heart.

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2015

I thought this movies was excellent. Somtimes hard to watch the fighing. Plesantly surprised

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2015

Forgot to give the movie a star rating in my review...loved it...definitely a 5 star!!!

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2015

Loved this movie! Jake Gyllenhaal is in great shape and his performance is oscar worthy! Oona Laurence, as his daughter is phenomenal, and also deserves a supporting actress nomination! The acting was so believable! Forest Whithaker and Rachel McAdams were also excellent! I was in tears twice in the movie and my friend cried all the way through! Although predictable, the story keeps you on the edge of your seat and cheering for the underdog! For a great night out at the movies, go see this one! Well worth seeing!

User review rating: 1 July 28, 2015

Awful. It seemed like a rip off of the movie The Champ, starring Jon Voight and Ricky Schroder, both of whom were amazing in that movie. Jake and the girl who played his daughter were lacking something. It just seemed liked a movie for people who like watching men hit each other to the point where they're disfigured. I don't even want to give this one star.

User review rating: 2 July 28, 2015

They say he went through a lot of physical preparation for this movie. I don't think it did him any good - I thought he was so puny that I wondered why they chose HIM for a role like that. Very untypical physique for a boxer. Over-all, it wasn't a bad movie but I wouldn't give it five stars by any means. It lacked emotion big time. I did NOT give this movie FOUR STARS!!!! First i forgot to click on a star and it self rated at 4 stars. Went back to try to edit it to TWO stars and both comments are posted. Anyway......2 stars, no more for this movie.

User review rating: 2 July 28, 2015

They say he went through a lot of physical preparation for this movie. I don't think it did him any good - I thought he was so puny that I wondered why they chose HIM for a role like that. Very untypical physique for a boxer. Over-all, it wasn't a bad movie but I wouldn't give it five stars by any means. It lacked emotion big time.

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2015

great flick

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2015

Oscar- worthy performance by the main character!! Very watchable, very well put together! Story well told...and the little girl was quite believable! Excellent entertainment value!

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2015

Amazing movie!!! What a story!

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2015

Sure, some of the story was predictable, but the performances were astonishing. Jake and Forrest have amazing chemistry. Really enjoyed watching the story play out because of that.

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2015

Unbelievable acting, script is predictable, combination of both rates it above average. Great excitement, great cinematography, loved it.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2015

Unwatchable with a relentless, droning soundtrack that will drive you completely insane.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2015

Loved it! So intense, emotional and exciting. Jake Gyllenhaall has to win the Oscar for this performance!! The story-line may not be the most original, but it is a ride that will have you on the edge of your seat from start to finish! AMAZING!!

User review rating: 2 July 15, 2015

I was hoping to see Apollo Creed's kid in this one.

User review rating: 1 July 15, 2015

Cheap ripoff of The Champ without the emotion. I never cared what happened to any of these characters.

Change Location