Son of God

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.15 / 5

User rating: 4.15

Based on 236 votes and 63 reviews


  • User rating: 4.15 70.41%
  • User rating: 4.15 6.12%
  • User rating: 4.15 4.08%
  • User rating: 4.15 7.14%
  • User rating: 4.15 12.24%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 63

User review rating: 5 June 12, 2014

Very moving, emotional story and Diogo is the perfect Jesus, very loving and caring and he smiles a lot! Made me love Jesus.

User review rating: 3 June 11, 2014

Even tho I'm a Buddhist I still found this movie to be moving and unlike passion of the Christ this one tell more of the story and not just his death it tells about his life

User review rating: 2 June 11, 2014

Recites the bible stores completely lacking the spiritual importance or the emotional content. If you want to see a well made movie on the same subject matter, watch any of the following, Ben-Hur (1959), Quo Vadis (1951),Spartacus (1960),King of Kings (1961),The Greatest Story Ever Told (1965) or even The Ten Commandments (1956)

User review rating: 5 June 08, 2014

Amazing portrayal of Jesus. The actor acted and looked almost exactly how I remembered him back in the day. Oh wait... none of us have any idea if Jesus of Nazareth looked like a fair skinned Anglo-Saxon male model, or... more like Osama Bin Laden. Oh well. I'm sure the movie would have been just as widely accepted and acclaimed had the actor looked like Bruno Mars, or Sammy Davis Jr

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2014

This movie is fantastic. Don't listen to the haters and unbelievers, the story of Jesus is passionate and moving! Very well made.

User review rating: 1 June 04, 2014

Great work of fiction based on another work of fiction ! Thought he wasn't white, but then again the bible has been altered and edited so many times its hard to tell what happened back then.

User review rating: 1 May 04, 2014

I'll think about watching it for a few laughs, as long as its has a disclaimer at the start stating that it is a FICTIONAL STORY!

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2014

Yes, it is larger than life story; I have seen couple of movies about Jesus, I think this is one of the best, it gives you the right information in a bit more than 2 hours. Liked the cast, good acting. Diogo Morgado does a great job. A good family movie, specially soon it's Easter.

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2014

So touching and well filmed, a film that will be remembered for generations. And Diogo Morgado was simply masterful and so realistic.

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2014

Here is a thought how about telling the story of Jesus from the age of 13 to 29??? Oops silly me there is no info on those years hmmm wonder why?

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2014

One reviewer asked "who would give up his own son for the salvation of many". This reminded me of a short film I once saw and the core of the film was about exactly that: A man took his 5 yr old son to work with him at a bridge rail crossing. His son, while playing, fell underneath the mechanical rail shaft. The train was approaching. His Dad had to make a decision; save his son and let the train full of passengers plunge to a sure death, or save many people by crushing his own son. After watching this clip, the question “what decision would I make?” troubled me. Every decision we make in life has consequences. The only sure thing we have in this world is the Love of Our Lord and how

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2014

Great movie all around. The dialogue matched the biblical accounts of the gospels and the acting was really good as well. I highly recommend this movie to everyone.

User review rating: 1 March 28, 2014

Passion of the christ is better. Honestly, just read the book (the bible) instead. I get the concept of showing the teachings and what not, but once you have seen one "jesus" movie you have seen them all

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2014

A truly outstanding film, adhering very strictly in every detail to the Biblical account of the life, passion, resurrection, and ascension of Christ. Diago Morgado, who plays the role of Jesus, looks exactly as He is so often portrayed in art. That makes it all the more personal - and all the more difficult to hold back on the tears.

User review rating: 5 March 25, 2014

This was so similiar to the one that was filmed for tv...named The The Bible & with the same actor...even showed more of the scriptures & more from the Bible.

User review rating: 5 March 19, 2014

A wonderful movie. Have never cried out loud in a movie before but at one point I was caught off guard and couldn't stop myself. This movie gave the political context of Jesus' crucifixion, something a person wouldn't know from reading the Bible. 'Son of God' did justice to the temple elders and even Judas was shown somewhat sympathetically, as he suffers the ambivalence that a follower turned informant can experience.

User review rating: 5 March 17, 2014

and Pilate said they would forget him in a week!

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2014

I would give this 10 stars! It is not just about what Jesus did, but portrays exactly who he is, the Son of God. Our broken world needs this message of truth and hope. Thanks to Mark Burnett and Roma Downey for producing it.

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2014

This is the most awesome movie on the life of Christ. It is a must see. An accurate account of Jesus, the Son of God, Saviour of the world. An invitation to those who don't believe and an affirmation of faith for those who do. Hope it stay running at least until Easter.

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2014

To the guy who complained that they should make a movie about Jesus' teachings, you obviously didn't watch this movie. The crucifixion is only a small part of this, it's mostly about the good he did and the followers he amassed. Watch the movie, it's really good and if you didn't love Jesus before, it will make you love him because it shows how truly good and wonderful he is.

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2014

Great movie with substance! We need more movies like this that inspire goodness and love of God and others.

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2014

The life of Christ has touched lives everywhere, influenced culture positively, improved human sensibility and given the world hope and love. His life is an example of simplicity, authenticity and unconditional love. Loved the movie.

User review rating: 3 March 12, 2014

Love the movie, but come on guys. Let's try something different for a change. Why don't you try and make a movie about his teachings and not always about what happened to him. We get that! Show how he was able to love during those times and what his teachings have brought about the change in this world. Just a thought.

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2014

Beautiful movie. Exceptionally well done and the casting for Jesus was perfect!

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2014

Best Movie Love it

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2014

loved the movie very powerful and moving depiction of the life of Jesus - the actor Diogo was so real he gave a perfect image of what Jesus was

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2014

Well potrayed, good acting, right to the point, close enough to the bible a must see this lent season

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2014

Finally a movie to make people realize what God has made for us, sending his beloved son. Who on earth would sacrifice their own son for the sake of whole humanity? God himself has power to give us faith and yes probably through a movie to make us realize we have a debt towards him. All he ask is to serve him and love all the people even our enemies!

User review rating: 2 March 09, 2014

Yet another Jesus movie to rally the sheep.

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2014

Excellent portrayal of the life of Jesus while on earth in His humanity, which gave us the opportunity for salvation.

User review rating: 4 March 08, 2014

Good movie that was reverent to Scriptures. It had good acting and good cinematography. I think it serves to clarify the story of Jesus Christ and His purpose-- He sacrified His life because of His tremendous love for us and to wash away our sins.

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2014

Stand in the presence of Holy God! This movie can be a vehicle for that, if you shed your hang-ups... BLESSED to KNOW the Resurrected CHRIST personally!

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2014

Amazing : )Absolutely loved it. Perfect for Easter, and a great movie to restore faith and comfort in one's life. You don't even have to be Christian, because at the very least it's a beautiful story to experience.

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2014

it was boring and had the bare minimum bible references.

User review rating: 2 March 07, 2014

It was basically the literal Bible story of Jesus. Seen better.

User review rating: 2 March 06, 2014

Decent film regardless of your faith, but really nothing special. Reviews seem to be very biased for the most part.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2014

Uplifting, worth while watching

User review rating: 3 March 05, 2014

It was good. Great message

User review rating: 4 March 04, 2014

It was good. Funny how the most negative reviews are from people who have obviously not seen the movie and just want to rant to support their anti Christian views. Gimme a break.

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2014

Very moving, well written, and very emotional movie. A must see for sure.

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2014

A wonderful movie, it gives you a lot to think about your life.

User review rating: 4 March 04, 2014

Emotionally and well performed. Very inspirational.

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2014

Wow it's a cool movie! This film's production is absolutely Wonderful in all aspects. Mark Burnett's genius gifts us the visual story! It impressed us beyond expectations! Unrelated to Mark, author Lee Strobel's book/documentary "The case for Christ" systematically simplifies the factual details of Jesus's existence and claim to being the Christ. Son of God's writing and cinematography beautifully portrays history's greatest Man. Son of God is a must see!

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2014

Incredibly interesting! I have to admit that the story makes sense to me now because prior to me watching this movie, I wasn't aware of the political tensions of that era. The genuine beauty of this film's depiction is awesome. The cinematography is first class. It's well worth seeing history on the big screen!

User review rating: 4 March 03, 2014

I’ve gone to see the movie “THE SON OF MAN” SON OF MAN is a story familiar to all Christians... at least, it should be. Knowing how it ends bares no difference in the sense that this movie does not fail to move you to understand the depth of GOD'S LOVE for me and for you. Bring a lot of tissues with you. The photography is amazing. Though the movie was filmed in Turkey, it moved me further to realize that I've walked the grounds of most of the key places the movie represents. The stormy scene of Jesus walking on water on the Sea of Galilee, reminded me of the time I was on a boat on the calm and sunny Sea of Galilee, when suddenly…and I mean suddenly…a strong wind began to blow so strong

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2014

Diogo just shines as Jesus. He exudes kindness. Absolutely loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2014

excellent movie, well done

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2014

The best, always loved the holy stories.

User review rating: 4 March 02, 2014

You don't need to be a Christian, Catholic when the message is abundantly chear... more epics as this movie returning to big screen would make movies more fun again, i.e Ben Hur, Ten Commandments and now NOAH... guess some directors have figured it out. Good to see quality fresh actors with sensible dialogue than others who continue to blow body parts all over the screen.

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2014

Excellent movie and extremely well produced!

Change Location