Sideways

Thank you for rating this movie!

Sideways Movie Poster

3.66 / 5

User rating: 3.66

Based on 1597 votes and 105 reviews


  • User rating: 3.66 49.84%
  • User rating: 3.66 16.27%
  • User rating: 3.66 7.27%
  • User rating: 3.66 3.60%
  • User rating: 3.66 23.02%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 105

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2006

This movie was great! The character interaction is true to life.

User review rating: 0 April 22, 2006

GREAT MOVIE....

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2006

It was a real life drama and I enjoyed the fact that the people had dysfunctions that we live with everyday.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2006

Incredibly funny movie! I had zero interest in this one but a friend rented it this past weekend and I loved it. Now I see why it was nominated for best picture. Great great movie. Watch the deleted scenes on the DVD, they`re priceless as well. Two thumbs way up!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2005

Subtle, for the most part, intelligent, insightful, witty screenplay and performances. Not for the "action/adventure, car chase and explosion every five minutes crowd." Finally, a movie for people who like to use their brains with their entertainment.

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2005

I loved this movie. I also read the book. I adore Miles and Jack characters both. It was so real. I have recommended it to all my friends. It is going to be one of my favorite movies ever.

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2005

I think you need a bit of intelligence to appreciate the subtelty of some of the humour, but the bit where the car missed the tree was fantastic. Definetely one of my favourite comedies and infinetely better than the high school rubbish.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2005

One of the most creative, funny and enjoyable movies in quite some time. The story, directing, acting, and scenery were superb - great flick.

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2005

A two hour tribute to drunk driving and friends who should strongly consider joining AA.

User review rating: 0 May 03, 2005

I can`t believe all the hype. I`ve never used the FF button on the DVD so much. Giamatti was AMAZING but the rest of the movie was slow and pointless, really. It shouldn`t have been credited as a comedy but it wouldn`t have been able to keep up to the rest of the heavy hitters in the drama category at the Oscars. Disappointing.

User review rating: 0 April 25, 2005

Left with a funny after taste...This movie is deplorable, aside from the artistic aspects of it. [The scenery, editing, Virgina Madsen and Paul Giamatti`s performances were exceptionally done...these are perhaps the only thing!] The story/plot is pure crass and unsettlingly. There is not much empathy for these manic-neurotic and self-absorbed(whinos)characters, the only exception is Maya, the hard-working, normal,yet slightly naive` waitress.

User review rating: 0 April 19, 2005

unbelievable! I can`t imagine any better movie than this. It is glib and stylish and sad and crazy with wonderful characters you love- or love to hate and I am glad I saw the movie!

User review rating: 0 April 16, 2005

An OK movie, but don`t understand people who say they thought this was funny. A lot of painful scenes that were hard for me to watch.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2005

Not for the morons who thoughr Clueless and American Pie were funny...a thought-provoking look at real people..both sad and funny at times..GREAT male leads...Harrison Ford and Tom Hanks should see this movie for acting lessons..

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2005

definitely not funny!!!

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2005

Probably not a movie for the under 25 crowd (although I am way under a still throughly enjoyed it). Quite a humourious movie and a good movie about life. Good movie, but I would give it 4/5 stars rather than 5/5 as I`ve seen many critics rate it.

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2005

I just saw it on the plane and having read many of the reviews here I think it`s very much a life stage movie. You need to be there already (40`s) or be seeming them looming large to appreciate the way the movie is made and the characters. I thought it was poignant, well crafted and brilliantly acted. It`s a deep movie which requires the viewer to think and reflect. Definately not for the spoon-feeder.

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2005

To all of the critics who complain that this movie is "go nowhere" or that the characters/settings are bancrupt, that`s the point. Sideways is a painful film - painfully well-acted, well-written and well-directed. The characters are amalgams of virtually everyone in their 40s. "Sideways" may not be pleasant, nor is it feel-good. But it`s real. And reality isn`t always pretty.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2005

Unnecessarily violent broken nose assault--supposed to be funny? Poignent? Representative of the state of "dating" in America today? If someone lies to you, hit `em? Jerry Springer probably loves this movie. And the four shabby living quarters visited--are they supposed to be typical of today`s "Middle Class"? A grubby, depressing look at contemporary America--very little love, civility, order and mutual respect demonstrated here... A fun movie, not.

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2005

I found it debasing to women in the extreme, and sharing the lives of these pathetic men was not what I consider entertainment. Shallow and sophmoric.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2005

It is one of those movies that you either like or dislike . . . and I loved it!

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2005

i saw this movie on a plane and i think it`s just about the worst movie i`ve ever seen... anyone under 20, do NOT see this movie!!!

User review rating: 0 March 19, 2005

Glad to see some feel good movies doing so well. Great story, well done and came away feeling good! Hollywood needs to do more of these films.

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2005

Real life - funny and sad

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2005

Sideways is intelligent, quirky, but best of all wickedly funny. I`m still laughing at the antics of the two dudes travels in the most beautiful wine valley. I`m buying the DVD when it comes out and watching it with a glass of wine.

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2005

One of the best in the recent times... has achieved the balance of depth, comic frivolousness, impeccable characterization of the seduction of SoCal... This one is a keeper...

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2005

This is one of the most painful movies I have ever had to watch. It was so bad I actually left the theatre. You would do yourself a favor if you just went to a wine store and purchased a bottle of wine instead of buying a ticket to this movie. If this movie was a wine I would say it was definitely dry and not worth drinking, with a hint of nothingness.

User review rating: 0 March 06, 2005

"Sideways" can be best described as a tale of our times and of our generation, that is the `baby boomers`. We, who aspired greatly, expecting more and getting less, or so we believe, is a story that is expertly and lovingly told. All of our characters are flawed, human and redeemable, and have difficulty facing their lives head on, so they compromise and side step the obvious problems. This is done in the story a variety of ways, the most obvious is the central theme being oneology, or `wine tasting`. All of the characters being `wine snobs`, they have a convenient way to face their problems by getting drunk, without being obvious

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2005

"Sideways" can be best described as a tale of our times and of our generation, that is the `baby boomers`. We, who aspired greatly, expecting more and getting less, or so we believe, is a story that is expertly and lovingly told. All of our characters are flawed, human and redeemable, and have difficulty facing their lives head on, so they compromise and side step the obvious problems. This is done in the story a variety of ways, the most obvious is the central theme being oneology, or `wine tasting`. By all of the characters being `wine snobs`, they have a convenient way to

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2005

Right on target.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2005

This film offers a very pessimistic and negative view of life.

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2005

it was ok...had its moments...definetly a good story to tell...but it was slow...and it kinda had the same tone throughout the whole movie, no ups or downs, just steady (which might be good, but i dont like that)...it was a good movie though

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2005

LOVED IT, LOVE IT and STILL LOVING IT. MY BEAU AND I TALK ABOUT IT ALL THE TIME, WE EVEN MAKE FUN REFERENCES ie "NO GOING TO THE DARK SIDE". EXCELENT MOVIE. WILL BE ONE OF THE FIRST FEW TO BUY DVD>

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2005

Even with my senior discount the movie was a waste of time and money. It was more about "whine" than WINE. And where was the significance of his stealing money from his mother. ???? Biggest "go nowhere" movie I have ever seen. If this movie wins I will never go to the show again. LOL

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

THIS MOVIE WAS GARBAGE!! SAVE YOUR MONEY PLEASE AND DONT GO TO WATCH THIS SORRY EXCUSE OF A MOVIE! I WOULD RATHER WATCH THE WEATHER NETWORK FOR 24 HOURS THAN THIS MOVIE!

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

It was great fun. Never a dull moment. Maggie

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

I think it was good. What blew my mind is how the characters homes were like everyones. It went very deep in emotions of the characters. I thought is was very funny. It seemed like everyone was happy and got what they wanted even if they didnt deserve it

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2005

Deserving of an Oscar nod!!!

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2005

This movie was terrible - if I had been at home, I would have turned it off 30 minutes in....no point, plot and ridiculously slow paced.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2005

What a disaster! I suppose if you are a depressed person you can relate, but why would a depressed person want to see a movie about depresssion? Would you go on a wine tasting tour for 7 days? Now imagine watching 1 !!!

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2005

the pacing, acting, subject matter, and themes will turn off anyone who finds movies like "national treasure" or "i,robot" interesting. a wonderfully written script and execution.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2005

Enjoyed this movie very much. The main character`s struggle with depression was believable and well acted. Wide range of emotions portrayed. Comedic episodes are great and help to lighten the plot. Keeps you thinking about the characters long after watching the movie.

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2005

Refreshing! Hilarious! Standing ovation is what this film produced. I have never been to a movie that illicited such a reaction especially since I live in such an uptight community. Bravo!

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2005

A great road movie that renders the complexity of each persona, with touching or ugly sides both present in each one. As is well shown, the fabulous countryside of the wine country as well as the kitch motels and restaurants, both part of the real picture of America. I wish we could follow Miles and Jack on another wine tour, say, in Europe? Thank the authors!

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2005

Excellent film. True to life, genuine, hysterically funny - brilliantly written and acted. Surprised that the lead actor did not get an oscar nod - Best film I`ve seen in a couple of years.

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

Fabulous movie- the characters are so real, you can`t help but empathize with them. I was so sucked in by this film that I could almost feel the mist off the Pacific and taste the pinot on my lips. I loved it!

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

This is a slow paced film, but who made the rule that only fast paced films can be good. I really enjoyed this film because I could relate to some of the emotions coming out of it. Some films are for fun and a mini two hour vacation. Other films reflect the realities of life. This is one of them, and it did that exceptionally well.

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

Awful. Not worth the paper the tickets were printed on!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2005

Great movie. Like good wine; to be slowly savored as it grows on you. It is at times openly funny, but mostly it is filled with moments of quiet, sophisticated humor and an underlying current of subtle sadness. I loved it! Oscar quality.

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2005

stinks

Change Location