Shutter Island

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.82 / 5

User rating: 3.82

Based on 489 votes and 152 reviews

  • User rating: 3.82 53.62%
  • User rating: 3.82 12.77%
  • User rating: 3.82 10.21%
  • User rating: 3.82 8.51%
  • User rating: 3.82 14.89%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 152

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2010

I cab't rate the movie in all fairness as I turned it off half way through...enough said?

User review rating: 3 August 18, 2010

I really enjoyed this movie, despite not being as "scary" as advertised. Its beautifulyl shot and the acting is perfect. it gives off a creepy vibe that stays throughout the entire film. I found the ending predictable, but enjoyed it nonetheless.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2010

Such an awesome movie, great twist in the plot lots of action definately one of my favorites

User review rating: 2 July 17, 2010

The movie was a bit boring, it took too long to climax. I was left confused in the end, i still cant figure what was real from what wasnt. A complete waste of 2 hrs

User review rating: 5 July 04, 2010

totally caught me off guard recommended

User review rating: 4 July 01, 2010

Once again Leonardo DiCaprio does not disappoint. I was both intrigued and confused by this story. DiCaprio does a wonderful job really taking the viewer into this character. I emphathized with him when he lost his children to a wife that had gone mad. However, I felt annoyed with him when he kept trying to figure out why there was a conspiracy against him. DiCaprio did an amazing job acting out a mental illness that was caused by great sadness, sorrow and loss.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2010

excellent movie. Leonardo acted amazing as did everyone else. it clearly says thriller, so anyone who thought it was horror needs to be more careful. wasn't as scary as i thought it would be, but it was better this way. it wasn't predictable and whoever didn't get the ending needs to rethink the whole movie and you will get of the best of 2010 everything was explained, so probably people who don't get it also didn't pay close attention maybe oscar

User review rating: 3 June 19, 2010

Leo is great as always but i was dissapointed..not what i expected.

User review rating: 5 June 13, 2010

Amazing movie, unexpected turn

User review rating: 2 June 09, 2010

i found it boring by half way, and had a predictable ending. MEH Leo, MEH!!

User review rating: 3 June 09, 2010

I liked this movie - the style, the story, the mucis, all meshed together pretty well.

User review rating: 3 June 09, 2010

disappointing. another comment had it right - it was marketed as a horror movie, but it's not. the ending wasn't a big surprise, i kept waiting for the BIG SECRET that never comes.

User review rating: 1 May 30, 2010

sat through the movie, wondering. Why did I waste my time coming to see this.

User review rating: 3 May 17, 2010

pretty good thriller. A good ending and beginiing. The middle dragged a bit. Overall, pretty good movie.

User review rating: 0 April 20, 2010

Wonderful movie. It was predictable but still managed to be wholly enjoyable. The marketing on the movie was a bit asanine because it was portrayed as a horror movie. They should have presented it as the psychological thriller that it is. I think that dissapointed a lot of movie goers.

User review rating: 5 April 17, 2010

I loved it. The opening scenes had you feeling as though you were on the boat arriving at the island. The movie had twists and turns until the very last line of the movie. If you didn't like it, you likely didn't get it.

User review rating: 0 April 11, 2010

It was almost predictable, just by the dreams his character was having. Excellent plot and the remarks in the ending really makes you think.

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2010

Just saw Shutter Island I got to say it's the best movie of 2010

User review rating: 1 April 09, 2010

The storey line was great, but the performance of it all was awful. Poor acting except for a couple of the patients. The acting didn't hold you or make it believeable, except at the end with the twist. Had me thinking about it for a while, but was honestly ready to leave the movie after the first 20 mins of it.... Maybe worth seeing on video, but even then, you could probably find something better to do with your time...

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2010

Best movie in a long time. If you didn't like it... you didn't get it. As simple as that.

User review rating: 3 March 30, 2010

This movie was very good the acting by all was good. I loved Ben Kingsley and Leonardo Di Caprio. They were excellent. I've always been a fan of Max von Sydow and wanted to see more of him. The story takes a while to explain itself and when it finally does it wasn't disappointing but rather sad and emotionally gripping. A very worthy experience. MOVIE LOVER

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2010

Very Good indeed and well worth seeing Those that have the opinion of a predictive ending are screwed in the head Leonardo played the part to a T as all the actors

User review rating: 1 March 29, 2010

Do not even waste your time on this movie!!!!!!!

User review rating: 1 March 29, 2010

I actually tried to get a refund.

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2010

Superb plot, with many twists and jogs. DiCaprio continues to be an outstanding character actor. If you missed the last line of the movie or didnt get it,then have another look. The whole story is summed up at that point, fittingly so. A message for the sane!

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2010

gorgeous,a must see movie,I have to say anyone who don't like the movie because they don't understand it

User review rating: 5 March 26, 2010

WOW!!!!! GREAT MOVIE!!!!!! I loved it!! It's not a horror.. It twists with your mind.. EXCELLENT twist!!

User review rating: 4 March 22, 2010

Well acted movie with good story line. Plot gives the viewer lots to think about, even after the ending.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2010


User review rating: 5 March 21, 2010

4 all who said this movie was the cuss was this movie freaking predictable!? AMAZING MOVIE, A MUST SEE FILM

User review rating: 1 March 21, 2010

Horrible movie

User review rating: 2 March 20, 2010

The concept was cool, but the way that the movie was portrayed was not well-established and done poorly. The ending was not original, but intense, it could have been exhibited in a creative and probably a manipulative way... I expected much more from this movie, but was disappointed in the end.

User review rating: 5 March 18, 2010

Very well done. I was honestly not excited to go to this movie, but it was very good.

User review rating: 1 March 17, 2010

I hate it when I get lured into watching a movie because I like the actor, and then it truly sucks!

User review rating: 2 March 15, 2010

I read the book before seeing the movie..not a good idea as it gives away the ending. It stuck with the book & I could quote the actors lines. Not interesting.

User review rating: 1 March 14, 2010

wow the trailer is very misleading, this movie is not even rental material. Save your money and don't waist your time....

User review rating: 2 March 14, 2010

slept during the movie,,,ending was stupid,,,but the twist however, was shocking. other than that,,,shit movie.

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2010

i love leanardo decaprio!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2010

5 stars. this movie was awesome. Not at all like the previews portray; was definately a movie that you thought about for a long time.

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2010

Kick @$$ movie... Everything about it makes me want to see it again.

User review rating: 1 March 08, 2010

The sound track was horrible, it was way too loud. There was no scare or thrill. The begining was soo cheesy, and the action did not start until alot later in the movie. If i had rented this movie and watched it at home i would probably have fell asleep through it, thats how long it took to get good. However, I like the ending, but they could have made it alot more thrilling.! =)

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2010

This was a really good film. Leo DeCaprio was surprisingly good - definitely an under-rated actor. Totally worth going to see!! Not a horror movie like it seemed, but suspenseful and cleverly done.

User review rating: 3 March 07, 2010

I liked this film. while it was a bit too long, and somewhat predictable, I thought the acting, and sotry was good to keep you interested. I hate to admit it, but Di Caprio has become one of our finerst actors. THe movie has some twists and turns, and you'll bee thinking about long after the closing credits, which is a compliment to any film. Not as scary as the ads seem to suggest, but thrilling nonetheless. G.

User review rating: 4 March 07, 2010

I really liked this movie. It was interesting, innovative and surprising. If you enjoy psychological thrillers then I think you will like this movie. It portrays a very interesting look into the minds and points of view of people with mental illness, and a very insightful and creative idea about their concept of reality. Although Leonardo Dicaprio is not a master of accents (also demonstrated by some of his other movies) I thought his acting was very good and he did well in his part. Great movie and defiantly worth seeing. 4.5 out of five stars for me.

User review rating: 5 March 07, 2010

Excellent. Go see this movie!

User review rating: 5 March 06, 2010

Very good movie, it was thrilling, and shocking, very well made. lots of suspense and it keeps you on the edge of your seat! very twisted also, loved it!

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2010

It really should have been shown back in Oct 2nd 2009 to catch the Oscar event, cuz the movie definitely deserves a nomination!

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2010

excelent excelent film. everything about it was well done: acting, score, script, suspense, and impending sense of doom and mounting confusion. recomended to anyone who wants to see a solidly good film and story, which are hard to come by nowadays. :)

User review rating: 3 March 04, 2010

A real mind thinker... Although some scenes were dragged out, and there was a lot of confusing dream sequences/flashback...Overall, it was good 3 stars

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2010

it was an awesome movie.

Change Location