Sherlock Holmes

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.10 / 5

User rating: 4.10

Based on 662 votes and 114 reviews


  • User rating: 4.10 61.83%
  • User rating: 4.10 12.93%
  • User rating: 4.10 9.15%
  • User rating: 4.10 5.36%
  • User rating: 4.10 10.73%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 114

User review rating: 5 August 25, 2015

I loved this movie!! Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law were awesome. A really cool movie, well done.

User review rating: 5 October 15, 2014

Amazing. Robert Downey Jr. is great. Very entertaining.

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2014

Great movie! Robet Downey Jr., Jude Law and Rachel McAdams play their roles beautifully! It's a must see.

User review rating: 3 November 09, 2010

I agree, I expected more of this. I think if it hadn't been labeled as a Sherlock Holmes story, I wouldn't of had a problem with the characters. Love the RD Jr/Jude Law combo! Hated Rachel McAdam's character.

User review rating: 1 June 08, 2010

Who is rating this movie 5 stars? This movie was exceptional in that i could NOT STAND it, and had to stop it mid way. I never do that, and i've watched some bad movies.

User review rating: 1 May 08, 2010

A despicable trashy modern take that sucked the soul out of the story in favour of over-produced PC banality and insulting, over-the-top improbabilities. Downey should learn to speak. Jeremy Brett, come back!

User review rating: 2 May 06, 2010

major disappointment. A stupid movie - I expected a lot more.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2010

If you like intelligence in a movie, you will like this one.

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2010

best movie ever

User review rating: 5 March 23, 2010

Loved it. Can't wait to buy the DVD so I can watch it over and over and over......

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2010

Very well done movie. It did not skip a beat.

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2010

I am happy to say that I was wrong. Robert Downey Junior was perfect for the role of Sherlock Holmes. He was very comical and interesting. I enjoyed every moment. Jude Law- though he too was not the Watson I had expected, had preformed spectacularly! Bravo!

User review rating: 2 March 18, 2010

a complete waste of time. Over-rated garbage. Jude Law was the only thing worth it.

User review rating: 2 March 17, 2010

If there is nothing else to see, then I guess you can waste a couple of hours, good acting but very bad story. RgF

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2010

An amazing performance by Robert Downey Jr, Jude Law, and Rachel McAdams. It combines mystery, with intellect, and passion. A definite mustsee!

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2010

good movie love it

User review rating: 4 February 25, 2010

Good - I was hoping for more - but in a way it was a nicely tied up package just like the stories.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2010

Brilliant!

User review rating: 2 February 14, 2010

Moved too slow for me.

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2010

Robert Downey Jr. takes the charecter of Sherlock Holmes to totally diffrent levels,Jude Law is superb as Watson although the plot is a bit slow

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2010

Loved Robert Downey in this. Kind of played himself.

User review rating: 4 February 07, 2010

An enjoyable movie to watch. Not quite Sherlock Holmes, but then I didn't expect it to be - since Hollywood never has done the Holmes stories right. More action than intellect, but lots of fun to watch. Watson was better than in the stories.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2010

I loved this movie! It was very witty and action packed. The dective work was also great. This is not your traditional Sherlock Holmes, but it is well worth the money. I can not wait to see it again. :)

User review rating: 1 February 03, 2010

I walked out after an hour of unbelievably boring scene after scene. It wasn't funny or captivating.. Don't even waste your money on the rental because you will truly be disappointed.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2010

I just could not believe how good this movie was...the visuals of Victorian England was worth the price of admission alone...great story...Guy Richie is back in the saddle!!!

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2010

Brawny and not too brainy. Pretentious and remarkably boring. Heavily americanized with more violence than Holmes could have dreamed of. Downey and Law were excellent as ever though; the only bright spot in this at times humourous attempt at movie producing.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2010

I've seen very few movies that top this one.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2010

Is surprisingly boring. I cant help but think Guy Ritchie only had the one film to make, as his films have become increasingly uninteresting. No 'bro-mance' brewing between our leads either, as Law's performance is uncharacteristically forgetable.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2010

Great movie. Plenty of surprises, twists, humour and some interesting use of slow motion. The camaraderie between Watson and Holmes is portrayed very well by the actors and the acting is very good.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

Robert Downy Junior and Jude Law were really amazing in this movie...It definitely caught my attention and kept it throughout the whole movie.

User review rating: 4 January 21, 2010

I have never read Sherlock Holmes or seen previous shows/movies so I didn't have any expectations. I enjoyed the movie. I love Robert Downey Jr. - he's such a good actor and yummy.

User review rating: 3 January 20, 2010

Caution. The movie was interesting enough, however, it is NOT Sherlock Holmes. Law's Watson was OK. However, Downey's Holmes is awful. He is not true to the novel character at all. He has no grace or wit, just muscles. Most of the movie is about him fighting physically and quite often he seems an imbecile. He is not quirky, he is just rude. Irene Adler IS NOT A SLUT! She is a clever woman ahead of her time, who really loved the prince in the novel. If you are a fan of the novel you will be disappointed by the misrepresentation. However, if you like an action flick, this movie is not bad.

User review rating: 1 January 20, 2010

I wasted two hours of my life that I will never get back watching this movie. It was by far the worst I have seen.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2010

I guess in the next film Holmes cuts his hair goes to the Americas and travels into the future to star in a Die Hard movie. I like Downey and Law but this isn't true to the characters.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2010

Definitely one of the best movies of 2009. Robert Downey Jr's(Golden Globe winning) performance was amazing. A nice finish to the year!

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2010

GREAT MOVIE!! The BEST movie ever!! IT'S A MUST TO SEE

User review rating: 4 January 18, 2010

Hugely entertaing. Well done Guy Richie and cast! signed...........GWH

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2010

Great movie! Great acting by Robert Downey Jr., Rachel McAdams, and Jude Law! :)

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2010

kicked ass. saw it twice.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2010

another good movie for the man from iron man

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2010

Amazing! Best movie I've seen since New Moon!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2010

this movie was so exciting and funny you never know whats coming around the corner!!

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2010

Good entertainment. Solid acting from Downing Jr. But falls short with a conceited plot that has holes all over the place.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2010

The hype for this movie was better than the actual movie. There was no continuity to the plot and it failed when they tried to tie everything together at the end. It was a mish mash of scenes put together with no flow.

User review rating: 2 January 15, 2010

A lot of hype about nothing - noisy, dark movie, too much violence, confusing. Robert Downey Jr. is the only saving grace.

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2010

How anyone can give this more than one star is beyond me. Boring, too many fight scenes, choppy, waster of time.

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2010

Don't waste your time. Boring beyond belief. Too many Loooooonnnnnng fight scenes, with Ritchie, once again, using the slow motion, rewind, replay that he has done in other movies like Snatch, Lock, Stock etc. Downey was okay, but, very convoluted & choppy. What a disappointment!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2010

so good

User review rating: 4 January 12, 2010

fast paced great action.I liked it,very entertaining.

User review rating: 4 January 12, 2010

Follows a typical Sherlock story line. Although the relationship and characterization of Watson and Holmes is quit different. I am a Jermey Brett fan. But I think if there is another homes movie I will accept the screen characters as they are. Worth the money.

Change Location