Secondhand Lions

Thank you for rating this movie!

Secondhand Lions Movie Poster

4.35 / 5

User rating: 4.35

Based on 2549 votes and 38 reviews


  • User rating: 4.35 81.57%
  • User rating: 4.35 2.28%
  • User rating: 4.35 0.83%
  • User rating: 4.35 0.43%
  • User rating: 4.35 14.89%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 38 of 38

User review rating: 5 September 17, 2010

This movie is INCREDIBLE!!!! It is a classic, way up there timeless as is The Princess Bride. I highly recommend this movie to EVERYONE! It touches on some very important life lessons!

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2008

I love this movie ,it had good acting.This movie is not a sleeper.

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2006

This movie was really great. It had the right combination of humor and drama. It also taught you that sometimes the most boring people can have the most interesting things to say. 4.5 stars.

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2005

My wife and I saw the movie on Encore and it was so good we rented it and we have to say that this is one of the best movies we have seen in years. It was very entertaining and kept our attention all the way through. Thank you Joe and Marie Duncan

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2005

The thought of a young boy given direction and stability by his eccentric uncles resonated with me--there is nothing biographical about this for me, having grown up in a two parent family. The fact that the uncles, superbly acted by Duvall and Caine were one of a kind--the strong character type that I believe Tim mentioned in his biog.--were appealing to me, a retired CPA a self-confessed iconoclast who hated the confines of his profession. I enjoyed the range of emotion of Corey. I watched the movie while working out in the basement, told my wife about it and we`ll rent the video. Flashback stories, such as Heart in Atlantis--again, only w

User review rating: 0 May 14, 2005

This movie was really good i watched it alot of times

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2005

I did not want it to stop. It was geat. It reminded me of my grandpa.

User review rating: 0 April 14, 2005

My family agrees this is one of the best movies of the last 10 years. It`s rare to find a truly engrossing movie that is fully family-friendly. Despite some difficult situations (and absolutely detestable characters) there`s not much doubt that the good guys will win.

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2004

One of the best movies I`ve seen. Very heart-warming & inspiring. The 3 main actors were excellent.

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2004

One of the best movies I`ve seen in a long time it left me with a smile.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2004

Movie reviews often use the term "The feel-good movie of the year" and I`ve never thought much about it, until Secondhand Lions. This was the only movie that I`ve ever watched and felt that the term applied. What a great movie! (and to think I only went to see it because I had a free movie pass for it!)

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2004

Very Well...,I love it...

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2004

The movie was beautifully done. The acting was excellent. It`s really nice to go to a movie these days and not having to see violence or discrimination every second. This movie was very relieving. If you walk in there and you`re angry, I can assure you that after the movie you will feel full of contentment. Once it comes out on DvD I am totally going to buy it.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2003

A great, feel good movie that I never wanted to end.

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2003

The most satisfying movie of the year. When it comes out on dvd I plan to buy it right away!

User review rating: 0 November 04, 2003

It is not often I see a movie that I am anxious to recommend to my friends. Secondhand Lions is one such movie. It was one of the best couple of hours I`ve enjoyed in a long time.

User review rating: 0 October 14, 2003

this is great, I love it

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2003

The movie had promise, but it wasn`t developed in a satisfying way. The story line lurched forward, looking for a premise. I didn`t identify with the characters - the uncles were too cartoonish and Walter was robotic. The lion part of the story was oddly thrown in. The final scene was improbable and unemotional. I am surprised by the glowing reports this movie was given. The best part was the credits at the end. If that aspect - a cartooninst influenced by his years with eccentric uncles - had been developed more fully, the move might have been interesting.

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2003

I loved this movie. It`s nice to leave the theatre feeling good about what you`ve just seen. It seems to me that many of the comments that I read are written by folks with some kind of ax to grind, and not at all about the movie. It was a funny, light hearted movie with a happy ending. I`d recommend it.

User review rating: 0 October 05, 2003

This wonderful wonderful movie showed real men and good and bad and anybody who did not like it is just plainly brainwashed from the feminization of America. Great acting of all three protagonists and marvelous story, this is what going to the movies is all about, we loved it!

User review rating: 0 September 30, 2003

I thought this movie was brilliant- not racist at all- just spoke the truth. My kids loved it and learned from it!

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2003

This is a marvelous movie - it`s almost as good as Seabiscuit!

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2003

I PROMISEW YOU ALL THESE BAD COMMENTS ABOUT THIS BEING A BAD MOVIE IS SO NOT TURE ME AND MY BEST FIREND MORGAN WENT TO GO SEE THSI MOVIE IT IS WAT SO EVER NO RACIST THIS MOVIE POINTS OUT NOTHING ABOUT RASICM PLEASE GO SEE THIS MOVIE IT IS GREAT ACTING AND ITS A GREAT MOVIE AND ILL BE SURE TO BUTY IT!

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2003

A good rental when it comes out. Not a blockbuster but a decent movie. The acting left a lot to be desired. Don`t know where all the racial controversy is coming from.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2003

This film is very racist. The film takes place in Texas and Robert Duvall and Haley Joel Osment made some very racist comments against the african-american race. The writers of this film should truly feel ashamed of themselves to write such an evil movie. Critics should b e punished for calling this a family movie I made my son and daughter leave the theater because I did not want them to hear the evil coming out of the actors`s mouthes. If you love your children and care about their innoscence then you will not let your child see this disturbing controversial film.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2003

This film is remarkable. It reminded me of why we go to the movies.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2003

Poor acting. Duvall was horrible...perhaps a nice muppet could have replaced him? I left thinking....there`s two hours of my life I`ll never get back again.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2003

DO not see, boycott this movie due to presence of Canadian hater and all round jerk Duvall.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2003

Wouldn`t go see a Duvall movie if he paid me himself. CANADIAN HATER! Join the boycott don`t see this movie.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2003

Excellent, excellent, excellent movie!!! I absolutly loved it - actually all 4 of us that went! What a heart warming and endearing story. We go to movies all the time and I`ve seen and walked out of many terrible movies. What a refreshing change. I highly recommend it and will definatley have it in my collection! This has got to get something in the academy awards because it sure deserves it.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2003

This movie reminds me of Spiderman. If you liked Spiderman, you`ll love this one!!

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2003

VERY POOR ACTING AND MICHEAL CAINE AND ROBERT DUVALL ARE VERY STUPID!

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2003

Good show- all about relationships and "reality"

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2003

SECOND HAND LIONS is one of the best movies I have seen all year! It was hilarious, yet truly touching.Its great for ALL ages! As soon as this movie ocmes out on video I`ll be the first to buy it!

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2003

This movie was such a good movie, i saw it today and my gosh u have tos ee it i reccomend this movie to anyone its a real tear jerker, i inist u have to see it

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2003

I absolutely loved it - can`t wait to buy it on DVD when it comes out, so I can watch it over and over.

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2003

ONE OF THE WORST MOVIES OF THE YEAR!

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2003

I saw this movie last night in its Vancouver Preimere. I think that it will be one of the best films of this year. The performances of all three main characters worked together very well and really drew you into the story. It made me laugh and Cry at the same times. The way that it dealt with abandonment, death and coming of age, made me remember myself at that age. A wonderful excuse for a family movie. I will see it again and again! Thank you for the wonderful escape this movie gave to me.

Change Location