Reign of Fire

Thank you for rating this movie!

Reign of Fire Movie Poster

3.48 / 5

User rating: 3.48

Based on 1437 votes and 35 reviews

  • User rating: 3.48 35.25%
  • User rating: 3.48 28.38%
  • User rating: 3.48 7.99%
  • User rating: 3.48 6.17%
  • User rating: 3.48 22.21%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 35 of 35

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2007

I rented a kinda scratchy copy of the movie and I analyzed why the movie bombed. It's not the cast who are to blame nor the director. It was the damn scriptwriter--well, some parts of the storyline--who should be blamed and hanged. Christian Bale's role as Quinn was finely played as the leader of a small community hiding away from the dragons. I am surprised at Matt's role as Van Zan because it's sooo unlike him. A little bit of depth of the character would have done justice to Van Zan's role. Gerard Butler's role as Quinn's brave bestfriend Creedy provided comic relief and light tone to this quite very bleak and depressing movie. Now, the main reason why this movie bombed is that THE

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2005

Don`t think much of either Chris Bale or Matt McConaghy. Loved GB`s Creedy, though. A very lovable character. Too bad he died the way he did. I do enjoy movies like this. Liked the dragons

User review rating: 0 March 24, 2005

Not bad Gerard Butler was very believable. The American`s coming to the rescue gets in my nerves a bit. The dragons were awesome though, especially when one of them embraced the building as it breathed out fire.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2002

The beginning was interesting, but afterwards everything just happened too quick and lost interest.... ok movie, should`ve beenworked n better

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2002

probably the most under-rated movie of the summer, one of the great park-your-brain-at-the-door and just have fun movies in a long time

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2002

a very cool movie

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2002

I enjoyed it even though most of it was shot in Ireland. I lived in England -- I don`t remember seeing any cliffs like those in Reign of Fire on any of my many trips to London.

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2002

where to start...not enough action for one thing;dragons wheren`t frightening enough;acting was alright for the financing;should their be a re-peat---NO(a good rental--thats it!!RENTAL)..CC

User review rating: 0 August 07, 2002

Dumb, boring and a little too cheesy!!

User review rating: 0 July 31, 2002

outrageuos stunts and death-defying romance emulated this masterpeice to superstardom with little turkey along the way for the poor

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2002

good movie , although its more of a rental then a larege screen experence. it could of used more dragon history and info on there function. but overall good. later!!.

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2002

From the very beginning, I was disapointed, when the boy first found the dragon. It was too much action, too soon. I tried to take it in and enjoy the movie, and I did manage to find some entertainment for the first hour or so. But sadly, from there, my interest went on a steady decline. It perked up again near the end, but then wavered and fell like a block of ice. Two and a half stars.

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2002

the dragons where amazing, but the movie was depressing

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2002

It was awsome dont listen to the other people

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2002

The Preview for Reign of Fire is a lot better than it actually is. But overall it is a Great Action Film. The End is Intense.

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2002

Over all, it`s an OK movie. It`s heavy and serious throughout. Some mystery, but nothing is really well milked. I went to this movie for the dragon graphics, but there were only a few scenes that gave me glimps of a dragon-- way below my expectation, quantity-wise(quality of the dragon animation is good). 3 stars

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2002

A good movie, but not great. As is often the case, Christian Bale was excellent. The story would have done much better had about an extra half-hour been injected to develop the history of the dragons.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2002

Oooh...Well, it could`ve been a lot worst, I`ll give `em that. The dragons looked great, so did Christian Bale. But, frankly, some of the story didn`t make much sense. How is it that there is only ONE MALE DRAGON in the entire world? Seems far-fetched, even for a dragon movie. This is one of those "Eh...not bad." kind of movies.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2002

The movie was HORRIBLE. They use the British accent(nothing personnal but it`s a bit different from the american one)so it`s a bit harder to follow the story(most of the time they talk fast). Ther isn`t enough fight and the way they get rid of the dragons (not a spoiller) is simply DUMB or to easy. In general I would greatly recommend you to save youre money for another movie.

User review rating: 0 July 19, 2002

three stars: One for Christian Bale and his hot bod; the second for Matthew`s hot bod; and the third for the special effects and sound.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2002

Not bad. The love story line is too short. The intelligence of the dragon is not frankly revealed to the audience. No scene of love such as kissing.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2002

Another movie with lots of potential to blow away the audience but it failed. The dragons were well modelled and animated but seen very little in this movie which disappointed me to no end. The story idea of the dragons creating the end of the dinosaurs leading into the ice age then going back into hibernation was great but not milked enough. Needed some better acting as well. Maybe a sequel can improve upon this films shortcomings because I still believe it has the potential to do great.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2002

The concept of the movie was simple - Dragons take over the world as top of the food chain. To that extent, the movie was simple: humans are struggling to survive against their newfound second place. It`s an interesting post-apocolyptic modern/fantasy clash, and if you like dragons or post apocolyptic films, it should be on your `list of things to see eventually`. Nothing really shone brightly in this movie except for the portrayal of the dragons and the battered and burnt world. All in all, a 3 star film that would make a nice Saturday night rental or a "Hey, I`ve seen everything else, let`s watch this one" movie.

User review rating: 0 July 17, 2002

Good movie.The story was fine.The sound and special effects was awesome!!!***(3 stars)...

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2002

The idea of the movie was creative. An unleashed evil takes over the world. The `food` of the dragons was a unique twist.. but I wonder. If the dragons had burned the earth to a cinder (or most of it) seems to me that the air would be awfully thin, if present. Other little inconsistencies were minor and when this is treated as an isolated instance (other places were left to grow as the dragons had foresight) then movie is enjoyable.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2002

Pretty good. The dragon graphics were done very well and not cheesy like "Dragonheart". They could have done more with the ending but the build up was very entertaining. I liked that it was different from many of the movies that are out right now and therefore less predictable.

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2002

fIf you like AD&D 2nd edition, see this, it`s like mercury and crazy dragons. Cool. EDK

User review rating: 0 July 16, 2002

Dragons were cool, but the story sucked KBS-JDK

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2002

Best movy evar! I like part was dragon die!

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2002


User review rating: 0 July 14, 2002

it`a an ok movie. The dragons are cool. I don`t like when Hollywood makes the challenges facing the heroes so huge and hopeless these days, like in this movie.

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2002

This movie`s special affects were great! Unfortunately, that`s all that was good about it! All of Mathew whatshisfaces` lines were grunts and cliches. Not very interesting at all. Very dissappointing.

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2002

this sucks!!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2002

Bling... Bling.... Absolute garbage. What a waste of time. The acting was terrible, and the storyline was ten times worse. There`s nothing that I can really say that is positive about this movie. Save yourself some time and money. That`s all.

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2002 was an amusing little fantasy pic. Interesting dragons, liked the images. Matthew M and Christian Bale were, well, less than interesting in lead roles, but thank goodness they injected some humour into this flick through Gerard Butler`s character `Creedy`. Even he found some of the situations hard to believe!!! He pretty much outshone the rest of the cast....and the plot for that matter.

Change Location