Ray

Thank you for rating this movie!

Ray Movie Poster

3.76 / 5

User rating: 3.76

Based on 5377 votes and 86 reviews


  • User rating: 3.76 65.35%
  • User rating: 3.76 2.70%
  • User rating: 3.76 2.70%
  • User rating: 3.76 0.69%
  • User rating: 3.76 28.57%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 86

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2005

i liked they movie Ray but it was to old fashion for me.

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2005

I thought ray was off the chain

User review rating: 0 May 28, 2005

Foxx was unbelievable. He was so "dead-on" it was scary. My only complaint is that the movie spent way too much time on the drug addiction and rehab. With a music career of over 60 years, they should have had lots of other material. See the movie for Foxx`s acting.

User review rating: 0 May 03, 2005

I love "Ray"- this is one movie that did live up to the hype. I do take exception to one of the users who said this movie has nothing for anyone born after 1975. You are certainly entitled to your opinion, but I respectfully disagree! I was born in the mid-70s and found the movie a great testament to music, music history, social history, and the magic of a true genius. I think it may be difficult for some people to understand just what Ray Charles did contribute to our culture. I myself do not know the world without "Hit the Road, Jack," or "Georgia On My Mind," or "Unchain My Heart." Those of us born more recently tend to forget j

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2005

Phenomenal acting by the entire cast. Jamie Foxx proved that he is an awesome dramatic leading man.

User review rating: 0 May 02, 2005

very good

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2005

THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL, INSPIRING, TRUE STORY OF A WONDERFUL MAN WITH GREAT TALENT AND GREAT SADNESS. THIS IS AN IMPORTANT PIECE OF HISTORY NOT ONLY OF THE MAN BUT OF THE TIMES. IT HELPS US SEE WHERE WE WERE, WHERE WE ARE AND HOPEFULLY WHERE WE WILL MOVE UPWARD IN OUR UNDERSTANDING OF EACH OTHER IN FAR GREATER ASPECTS INCLUDING OUR SPIRITUAL SELVES. THANK YOU TO ALL WHO MADE THIS TOUCHING, STORY COME TO LIFE. ROSE

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2005

ray was ssooooooooo good!!!! even if you are not a fan of ray charles you will still enjoy this movie!!!!! i can tell why it was nominated for best picture award at the oscars!!!

User review rating: 0 March 15, 2005

This probably one of the best movies ever!

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2005

The movie was truly an inspiration. Jamie Foxx`s role in this movie is soul touching and unforgettable. When I watched the movie, I forgot that he was Jamie Foxx. This is the best movie since the Color Purple. God bless Ray Charles and his family and also congratulations to Jamie Foxx for doing such an amazing job with this film!

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2005

I THINK JAMIE FOXX PUT HIS ALL INTO "RAY". THE MOVIE WAS FANTABULOUS!!! ****** 6 STARS TO "JAMIE". HE TOTALLY DESERVES AN OSCAR WIN, OR TWO!!!!! EXCELLENT!!! EXCELLENT!!! ECELLENT!!!

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2005

Just so great. I am a fan of RAY CHARLES. MR FOX did a great job.I have watch the tape like 4times already. Iwill go to show and watch it.

User review rating: 0 February 24, 2005

I GIVE THIS MOVIE TWENTY STARS IF THIS MOVIE WASN`T OUTSTANDING IDON`T KNOW WHAT IS

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2005

Jamie Foxx was born to play this movie. If Foxx don`t win a Oscar, I will never whatch the Oscar`s ever again.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2005

Amazing movie, i just watched it tonight and it has to be the best movie i have seen in a long time. Jamie Foxx is an amazing actor and he was great in this role, i hope to see more of him soon cuz i think he is a great actor.

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2005

Outstanding. Amazing Reflection of Ray Charles`s life....Jamie Fox rules!

User review rating: 0 February 15, 2005

Excellent!

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2005

Im not a Ray Charles fan because I knew very little about him including his music. But the movie gave me a great insight of his life and I enjoyed it. Despite his flaws, which everybody has some in life no matter who you are. He proved to be an inspiration and a fighter no matter what kind of curve balls life and people throw you. Rest in peace Ray and God Bless.

User review rating: 0 February 10, 2005

I think that Foxx did a wonderful job, I didn`t think it could have beed none better by anyone else.

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2005

Sharon Warren did a magnificient job. Please tell me if she is working on a new movie?

User review rating: 0 February 08, 2005

This was a fantastic movie.Jamie Foxx was terrific. The music and the other actors really brought it to life. I bought this movie the day it was released on dvd an have watched about 10 times already. Thank you for such a heartwarming performance.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2005

Absolutely Magnificient!!!!! Jamie Foxx blew me away...What a talent!!!

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2005

Actually, I thought this should have been a made-for-TV movie. Yes, Foxx is terrific, but he could have portrayed Stevie Wonder, James Brown, Little Richard, or Marvin Gaye and he would have been just as great. He is a gifted mimic, and he knows how to reign himself in. As for Oscar, I think that this is Leonardo DiCaprio`s year.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2005

Foxx is amazing...but the movie itself is average

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2005

Outstanding

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2005

Bravo. Excellent movie.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2005

it was cool

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2005

it was a great movie with an awesome moral!!

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2005

just saw ray last night. the best movie i have seen in a long time. jamie foxx is excellent and makes you believe he is ray. the ending was disappointing. flashbacks to his life as a child with his mother give you a great insight to his childhood. excellent movie that portrays mr charles warts and all. oscar for jamie foxx.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2005

A great performance by Jamie Foxx. You reaallly get a good appreciation of Ray Charles` life in front of and beyond the entertainment stage.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

A beautiful movie of a beautiful life..... Jamie Foxx is unbelievable as Ray. Deserves the Oscar, as it`s the best performance I`ve seen this year.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2004

There is only one word you can say about this movie, Breathless.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2004

This movie was so good. I know nothing of Ray Charles and his music and yet the story and real aspects of Ray`s life was amazingly portrayed. Jamie Foxx is absolutely fantastic as well as the supporting cast.

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2004

Amazing!!!

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2004

After seeing Ray you gain an amazing insight into the life of a truly wonderful entertainer,Ray Charles. Jamie Foxx is great as Ray,and will most likely be nominated for the academy award for best actor this year. Great film all around.

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2004

Don`t waste your time on this. Overly long, boring, simplistic bio pic. Wretchedly directed. Great acting from Jamie Foxx, Regina King & Kerry Washington can not save this bloated mess. Only catch this if you`re a devoted Ray Charles fan.

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2004

Excellent and heartbonding movie with Jamie Fox One big show in a warm heartfilled film That is called Ray Best movie with Jamie Fox Coming to a fire hearted film that well move your seat

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2004

GREAT MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!! JAMIE FOXX NEEDS A GRAMMY FOR THIS MOVIE....

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2004

excellent

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2004

Loved Jamie Foxx. A great performance

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2004

it was ok for a rainy day with nothing else to do. I would not recommend this movie to my worst enemy.

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2004

Unbelievable movie. Very realistic. Jamie Foxx was incredible.

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2004

Jamie Foxx was absolutely amazing. Though there are some story issues and some questionable dialogue in the film, the performances make the film well worth taking in. Go and see Ray.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2004

Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2004

I thought Ray was a good movie. Much like Ali, it gives you only a small look at the artist`s life. It was a little drawn out (very long) but otherwise it was a good movie.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2004

Excellent movie! Really makes u think but enjoyable as well. 2 hour movie and i didnt even get bored. I recommend this movie.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2004

I think Ray is the best dramatic film of not only the year, but in 20 years. Not since The Color Purple have I seen a movie this moving, introspective, and poignant. Gold stars to not only the star of the movie, Jamie Foxx, but to every actor and extra in this film. The performances in this film are untouchable and right on the money and as Ray would say "Hello!".

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2004

Good movie, bad ending

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2004

Excellent movie. Shows the `good, bad, and ugly` side of Ray Charles. Outstanding performance by Jamie Foxx.

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2004

an amazingly versatile and poignant performance by jamie foxx. Ray Charles must be smiling down and hugging himself in absolute, estatic approval.

Change Location