Prisoners

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.97 / 5

User rating: 3.97

Based on 230 votes and 80 reviews


  • User rating: 3.97 41.82%
  • User rating: 3.97 26.36%
  • User rating: 3.97 23.64%
  • User rating: 3.97 3.64%
  • User rating: 3.97 4.55%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 80

User review rating: 3 November 24, 2013

While this movie was powerful, it was WAY WAY too LONG!! they could've cut 20mins out easy. The acting was fantastic, but near the middle I was saying to myself "ok, ok, c'mon let's get this going already"

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2013

I really enjoyed the movie. The characters played were believable. It made it seem like this could happen to anyone.

User review rating: 0 November 18, 2013

great movie with good actors.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2013

Hugh Jackson outdid himself this time. Since Real Steel was one of the best movies I've seen in a long time,(it had me in tears in a few scenes), but prisoners gives a real lifer look at the feelings a dad has for his child.

User review rating: 2 November 17, 2013

boring movie and more like a documentary

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Prisoners - 9.5/10 - Very powerful and emotional movie - One of Hugh Jackman's best performances to date (definitely Oscar worthy) - Prisoners running at 2 hours and 33 minutes is definitely worth every minute of your time and will have you on the edge of your seat the entire movie. One of the best movies of this year, Prisoners will stick will you for some time.

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2013

Highly charged thriller with a moral compass.Powerfully performed by dreamcast,with academy award potential for Hugh Jackman's portrait of a morally compromised character.

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2013

SUSPENSE! is the word to describe as best, the movie. From start to finish, you are wondering, doubting, etc. It is clues over clues and dead end over dead end that keeps you on edge through all the movie to the very last second of the movie. Jake Gyllenhaal is amazing in his character. The movie is emmotions all mixed up inside, compassion, pity and hate. Denis Villeneuve is proving himself to be one good aspiring director in american cinema.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2013

Another great movie from this year. This movie premiered at TIFF and was apparently one of the top films there this year. Great acting from the whole cast. Possibly the best performance of Jake Gyllenhaal's bright career. A captivating and terrifying story with lots of twists that is bound to have you on the edge of your seat.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2013

uno dei più bei film del 2013 e sicuramente un thriller come non lo si vedeva da anni. grandissime performances da parte di Gyllenhaal e Jackman senza dimenticare Paul Dano e l'intero cast. complimenti a Denis Villeneuve,regista tra i più interessanti degli ultimi tempi.

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2013

Good movie, lots of suspense but dragged on a bit too long

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2013

a thriller!

User review rating: 4 November 10, 2013

Great performances by Hugh Jackman and Paul Dano. Creepy and full of suspense.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2013

Very intense movie.Hugh Jackman at his best!!!

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2013

Très bon suspence, et assez impressionnant comme la vie nous fait agir sous la pression et la non acceptation... a voir et même a revoir

User review rating: 0 November 08, 2013

Great movie and great acting, hard to watch at times but does a great job setting up a situation that would challenge any parent to what lengths they would go to to find their child

User review rating: 4 November 07, 2013

pretty good

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2013

Greta movie about the lengths people take to protect their family

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2013

Yowzer! My kind of movie - loved it. You will be thinking about this movie long after you have left the theatre. Totally griping and well acted.

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2013

I really enjoyed this movie. The actors were very good, the story moved along so you didn't even realize you were there 2 hours plus. I would recommend it!

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2013

One of the best thriller movies in a long time

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2013

bon film

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2013

We really enjoyed this one. Saw it earlier in the fall of 2013, and enjoyed the strong cast. Keep an eye out during awards season for Jake G' and Hugh J'. Especially Hugh ... great role for him. Only minor gripe with the film from people is that it runs a bit long at approx' 2.5 hours. Otherwise ... thumbs up.

User review rating: 1 November 02, 2013

This movie was horrible!

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2013

Saw this just a week ago in Calgary...really good.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2013

This movie was amazing. It was suspenseful, always kept you guessing and was supported by a phenomenal cast. The twist and role reversal of characters was genius.

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2013

Great movie. But to be honest, I didn't like how the murderer revealed. I wanted fresh movie like a salad for instance, but the movie was very greasy and heavy, like a double-cheeseburger.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2013

Best Movie I've seen this year!!!!!

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2013

It was very dramatic and compelling. The movie truly shows what parents may go through when their child goes missing. It has so much emotions.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2013

So many good movies out there to see. This one included. It tests a loving parent on how far would one go for their children. It tests the theory of innocence before proven guilty. It tests our judicial system and how it works or doesn't work. Good acting by all. And a bit of spoiler alert - you want to believe Hugh was saved.

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2013

Great movie edge of your seat. Keeps you guessing till the end.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

Film does a great job dealing with the topic of morality and justice

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

Prisoners was a great thriller and very suspenseful, it kept you thinking and on the edge of your seat!!

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

Riveting. Kept us guessing the whole movie and we were not disappointed. Excellent acting and story line. :)

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

Those who have seen my video review of this movie, you already know how I feel about Prisoners. Well, for those of you who haven't, here's a written one. Prisoners, starring Hugh Jackman and Jake Gyllenhaal?, is one of the best movies of the year, and of the past decade. THE ACTING: The acting in this movie is terrific. Hugh Jackman gives the performance of a lifetime and is definitely Oscar worthy. Viola Davis and Terrance Howard also give excellent performances. The true standouts for me, were Paul Dano and Jake Gyllenhaal. Paul Dano gives one of the creepiest performances I've ever seen, and Jake Gyllenhaal gives an emotional element to the film that was much needed. 10/10 WRITING/S

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2013

I LOVED Prisonners. The movie is raw and emotionnal, and the acting is amazing.

User review rating: 4 October 30, 2013

Well done.

User review rating: 3 October 30, 2013

intense movie!!. Outstanding performances by Jackman, Jake and Paul Dano. Only complaint: about 30 mins too long. Otherwise, a very good movie.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

Very good film!

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Amazing movie. Thrilling from beginning to end. Had to predict our own ending but self explanatory. Worth seeing twice.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

An intense and dramatic film that will have you gasping many times over. The many twists keeps the plot fresh and Hugh Jackman delivers a career highlight performance.

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

Very good movie. Scary to think these things really happen.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

this move was great! when actors acting very detail.very impressive!story goes very good too.i wasn't feel wasting money at all.

User review rating: 3 October 29, 2013

This movie was good.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2013

It's rare for a movie that runs for over two hours to stay thrilling for its entirety. It's rarer still for a film to make you feel something for its characters -- especially when you aren't completely aware of if they're good or bad -- during such a sustained amount of tension. And it's almost unheard of for you to keep thinking about a film for hours or days after it ends. Such is the case with "Prisoners", a fantastic film and one of the year's best. The film begins innocently enough. One family, the Dovers, is going over to the Birch's house for Thanksgiving dinner. The two families are close, we find out, and this is how they choose to celebrate the holiday. Each family consists of a

User review rating: 4 October 29, 2013

This is a thriller that will have you rooting for the good and the bad at the same time. With an unexpected turn of events at the end, you wonder what's going to happen next.

User review rating: 3 October 28, 2013

creepy movie with execellent performances. Jackman and Paul Dano were great in this film.

User review rating: 2 October 18, 2013

Way to dark and it took to long to wrap up not my cup of tea

User review rating: 0 October 12, 2013

I second the too long comment. Too dark for me. But I stayed to the "end". Did they run out of money. Abrupt ending.

Change Location