Philomena

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.69 / 5

User rating: 4.69

Based on 112 votes and 43 reviews


  • User rating: 4.69 75.93%
  • User rating: 4.69 20.37%
  • User rating: 4.69 1.85%
  • User rating: 4.69 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.69 1.85%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 43 of 43

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2014

Excellent movie with memorable performances.

User review rating: 5 September 12, 2014

Great movie!!

User review rating: 4 July 03, 2014

LOVED THIS MOVIE!!

User review rating: 4 June 10, 2014

excellent, inspiration film

User review rating: 4 May 28, 2014

inspirational film that will make you feel every emotion possible. Judi Dench is amazing and Steve Coogan is impressive.

User review rating: 4 May 21, 2014

excellent movie with exceptional performances.

User review rating: 4 May 01, 2014

remarkable movie about the human spirit

User review rating: 4 April 29, 2014

Excellent movie, really enjoyed it all the way through. Shows how the old nuns acted, which shocks me as a young catholic.

User review rating: 4 April 29, 2014

excellent movie - can't believe it is based on a tue story.

User review rating: 4 April 28, 2014

a fantastic and emotional movie. Dench and Coogan were great in delivering this true life tragedy to film.

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2014

One of the few movies now playing with a good story, great acting and non of that hi-fi, hi-tech stuff. I felt I got my moneys worth.

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2014

Best I've seen in a long while. Totally engrossing.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2014

Just excellent and definitely a British finesse from the cinematography to the finely crafted story and depth of the main character. You walk away with a deep message about the life-altering importance of forgiveness. Do go see it!

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2014

This was the best film I have seen in a long time. I was very touched by it.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2014

Best movie, best performance by Judy Dench. Movie has everything - illicit love, greed, religion, diabolical church doctrine, love, faith, fantastic success, highest acchievement in government, homosexual love, HIV/AIDS, death, and forgiveness. Got it all. And no effects, just good true story. Much better than fiction!

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2014

Loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2014

A must see movie. Judi and Steve complement each other. Money very well spent. Enjoy.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2014

Wonderful, emotional movie and great acting. Nice to see a good story - especially intriguing because it is based on a true story. Both leads play their roles well. Great movie for a nice evening out.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2014

My absolute favorite movie of all time! Judi Dench was just wonderful! Can't wait to actually own this movie. Could watch it over and over.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2014

Hard to believe such things happen in recent times like this. So very sad.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2014

A wonderful film!!!

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2014

One of the best you'll see this year! Excellent acting of a heartrending true story...loved it.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2014

The best movie I have seen this year. A must see if you like a real story.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2014

Wow !! a movie that will hang with you for a long time

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2014

A great movie. Judy Dench again is fantastic

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2014

I think this movie is great, made me cry a bit. It couldn't stop thinking about it the next day. Very real and unforgettable.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2014

The best movie I've seen all year. Superb acting by both actors - Judi Dench is awesome. The story is true - compelling, mixed with painful emotions and a little humor. Fantastic.

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2013

Judi Dench is superb in this touching story.

User review rating: 5 December 22, 2013

It is a movie that was beyond my expectations considering the artistry of both leading actors. The careful balance of pain and humor and the ordinary was brilliant. It is a classic.

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2013

Awesome, character driven movie. Well written and acted in a superb understated way by the two leads. Highly recommended bittersweet story! See it in the theater as an antidote to monster blockbusters. This is real movie making at its best.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2013

Judy Dench never ceased to amaze. A tragic yet heart-warming story. A wonderful film in every way

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2013

Outstanding performances by J Dench and S Coogan

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2013

very nice one! I had good time watching it, performance is great

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2013

An Oscar worthy performance by both leads - sad and happy moments for such a heart wrenching story. Enjoyed it immensely.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2013

Great movie, very nice performance

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2013

This movie was fabulous! The best Judi Dench performance since Mrs. Brown. Cannot wait to read the book and buy the bluray. Steve Coogan was fantastic too, and the writing top notch. Well done!

User review rating: 3 December 08, 2013

Nice performances...how can you go wrong with Judy Dench? The story portrayed the disgraceful behaviour of the church without being sanctimonious. I did find it a wee bit slow however.

User review rating: 0 December 07, 2013

What a story...and true. How perfectly the Catholic church was portrayed...breeding guilt, condemnation, while they are completely sanctimonious with not one measure or inkling of any wrong doing. Great cast; not over acted or soppy.

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2013

loved it immensely dame dench nailed the part

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2013

Judi Dench was spectacular in this movie. A story that makes you realize that there are always good reasons for wise life altering choices. Mindless sex will leave you without a mind or a conscience. Steve Coogan is outstanding

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2013

A very touching film! Another outstanding performance by Dame Judy Dench!

User review rating: 4 December 01, 2013

Very good movie. Held your interest throughout. Subtle humour incorporated into a serious topic.

User review rating: 4 November 26, 2013

I really enjoyed this movie. Judi Dench is outstanding in this one.

Change Location