Petropolis: Aerial Perspectives on the Alberta Tar Sands

Thank you for rating this movie!

Petropolis: Aerial Perspectives on the Alberta Tar Sands Movie Poster

3.00 / 5

User rating: 3

Based on 53 votes and 12 reviews


  • User rating: 3 43.33%
  • User rating: 3 6.67%
  • User rating: 3 3.33%
  • User rating: 3 0.00%
  • User rating: 3 46.67%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 12 of 12

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2012

everybody's downstream

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2012

land, regardless of whether covered by forests, tundra or grasslands, is threatened by mining operations such as alberta’s vast open tar pit operations, or through incredible networks of “right of way” cuts for pipelines that extend in the hundreds of thousands of miles, all told, and across the continent in four directions and to three oceans—either through feeding the tar sand operations with fossil fuel energy or through feeding energy markets from tar sand operations after production. in the case of pipeline right of ways, they can blast directly through mountains or be buried in permafrost if needed, to get the energy to move.

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2012

what’s not to get: habitat destruction, acid rain, water pollution, unethical (i.e. first nations), cancer, deforestation, water depletion, deformed fish, oiled birds, emissions, air pollution, toxic waste, loss of migration corridors. and they’ve only just started.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2011

Please please do some reading on tar sands, and disregard all the one-star ratings on this movie. I can't believe some of the stuff I am reading from people who are obviously involved in the industry. The oil companies have incredible power, and it's no wonder they have made their way to try and discredit this documentary.

User review rating: 1 July 22, 2010

This film is in the genre of propaganda. Though visually stunning to watch, much of the film leaves out factual information. Many who watch this and do not know that factual information will be left thinking like some here do, that we are destroying the planet by the oil sands. Meanwhile, in reality, the oil sands are vast fields that if left to nature without ANY intervention by man, the oil would still continue to leach into the water ways. I view the activity at the oil sands projects a massive oil spill cleanup effort. It may suck for greenpeace propagandists, but what we do there now will be a whole lot better than simply leaving it.

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2010

No propaganda here, and minimal commentary. Just dramatic footage of the tarsands allowing the viewer to form their own opinion. A must see for Canadians.

User review rating: 1 April 04, 2010

A child-like attempt at a propaganda piece that even a complete idiot would question. The lies, half-truths and innuendo are so blatant that it clearly shows the producers are not after the truth and more than likely are just hoping to make a quick buck. Epic fail.

User review rating: 3 April 04, 2010

I've worked in these plants most of my life. Those plants generated work for million others including the environmentalists. Like was mentioned, the irony here is that even those enviromentalists use their products to heat their homes and fly their halicopter. The way I see it, having to work there is like a Lion having to kill the deer to feed it's children. Overall, I think those plants had done more good then harm. I also enjoyed watching this video, it's great to watch the mines and the plants from the top.

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2010

Beware reviews from Right Wing rape, pillage and deny reality at all cost devils of the earth. This documentary reveals what we on the ground can not ever see. So sad...

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2010

The propaganda? What propaganda? The film shows a giant filthy oil soaked field and the filthy methods needed to squeeze out dinosaur juice. There's no irony here. Giant corporations will delay, delay, delay every alternative fuel source until they can nickle and dime the earth's populace to the brink. Until then, enjoy the smog and keep your heads buried in the (tar) sand!

User review rating: 1 April 03, 2010

Garbage Propaganda!

User review rating: 1 April 02, 2010

Beware the propaganda. Revel in the irony. Approximately 115 liters of fuel per hour to fly that chopper. How many flying hours to shoot a documentary? How may production staff driving vehicles and equipment? On and on it goes. This is easy target fodder, a specialty of the left wing granola eating tree huggers trying to raise "awareness". You've been warned.

Change Location